We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best safari experience!”
Review of Camp Shawu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Shawu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is absolutely AMAZING!!! We were there for three days and had the best safari experience (and we had been to Kruger many times before)!The hotel is inside of the park and everything about it is great! Great room with a balcony overlooking the water where you can see animals passing by while resting - a little noisy at night because of the proximity of the hippos (don't let it turn you off, just bring an ear plug - the experience is great!), great food and great safaris! It was the first time we actually felt likt the guides were trying really hard to find the animals. So, all you do is eat the amazing food they serve, sleep in the amazing room and go on great safaris. Couldn't get better than this. It's not cheap, but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This was easily our favourite place we stayed in on a trip through Mozambique, South Africa, Botswana and Zambia. The location is marvellous and accommodation is lovely. The whole side of the room opens up onto the lake where we saw at least 14 different animals, not counting birds. Lovely decoration, thoughtfully arranged, including a lovely bath which you can sit in while watching the wildlife just a few metres away.

Probably the best part was the food. A great selection and probably the best steak I've ever tasted, followed by the nicest lamb chops I've ever eaten the following evening. The amount of food on offer was quite remarkable too... must have gained a couple of kilos in just a few days.

The game drives are brilliant fun and we saw some amazing sites, including three separate groups of lions, the big 5 and loads more... highlight was seeing two lions mating, we stopped about 6 feet away and they didn't even notice us! The guides were very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It's such an advantage being on a private concession as you have the sites to yourself. There were never more than 2-3 trucks around at any point, compared to 30 or more cars you would get stopping at anything of interest in the rest of the park. Sweet seclusion!

We also stayed as the sister camp Shonga for two nights which was equally welcoming and lovely, though Shawu just tipped it by being by the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went during the World Cup 2010...and my friends and I are still talking about this. The trip was breathtaking! The food was delicious! The staff was very welcoming, accomodating, and nice! My room was beautiful...and although I was a bit scared at first, I felt safe with the electronic fence to keep the animals away! One thing I hated was that we had to enter Kruger Park and then had to make it there on our own...not sure how but we found the lodge around sunset...which is scary, because they close the park in the night and you're basically in the wild. It would be great if they picked you up at the Park's entrance gate. Also one of my friend's didn't have a hot water in his room, which sucked because it was winter...but other than that this was a memorable experience! Brendan was a great guide...we did not see Lions...but we saw everything else...we heard the lions at night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynBabe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a tremendous experience at Camp Shawu. We arrived right before dark and were able to see the watering hole the tents were on. It was a beautiful setting but not the most impressive watering hole. We had some nice snacks and walked over the bridge to check out our accommodations. WOW. The tent was beautiful. It felt like our honeymoon! Who knew a safari and "camping" could be so fun and so romantic. My favorite part of the room was the outdoor shower. You are right on the water line in the shower (total privacy of course). I saw and giraffe and a lion while I was in the shower! Definitely one of my more memorable showers.

After dinner it started to rain and so we headed back to our tent and went to bed. It was quite the rainstorm. When we woke up the watering hole had turned into a lake! Now it was impressive! There were so many animals. It was an incredible thing to wake up to.

The staff was very accommodating, the food was great, and the setting was incredible. On our safari that day we were able to see a cheetah after a fresh kill. Unbelievable.

We may have just had amazing timing but this was one of the best places I've ever stayed.

http://www.onourbeatenpath.com/

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavKidsWilTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We would come there again. Perfect lodge. Only 10 persons are in the lodge. We had luck to see the big 5 on one day.
Very friendly staff and the meals are more than delicious.
the hippo lake infront of the open shower ist just perfect as the unique space.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We loved our trip to Camp Shawu! It is remote and there are only 5 rooms- we received excellent service and loved the people we were there with. The food was wonderful- they ask what you like when you arrive and then prepared two choices of entrees each night. The location is excellent- watering hole was filled with hippos and many other wild animals came for a drink- we saw giraffe, zebra, rhino, eagles, crocs, impala and warthogs from the deck of our room! The rooms were neat- walled on 3 sides and tented on the other. The outdoor shower was great- no problems with hot water as another reviewer mentioned. If you are bathroom shy, there could be a problem as there are not real walls. The deck was relaxing and excellent for picture-taking. Our ranger was great- we saw a lot of game on each game drive and even had a picnic lunch out one day. It was everything and more that we would expect on a safari!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kfbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Camp Shawu is a very small (5 bungalows) lodge in the south of Kruger park. It is a perfect spot close to a small lake, which ensures you can watch a variety of wildlife. Elefants, rhinos, buffalos and many other animals, including lions, come very close to the bungalows. The lake is home of more than 20 hippos, which are quite noisy at night, and some crocodiles. Very nice staff serves you, the spacious bungalows are really African style.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spacerabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
5.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#89 of 175 in Kruger National Park
273 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 175 in Kruger National Park
110 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mjejane River Lodge
Mjejane River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hectorspruit
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
331 reviews
53.4 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#56 of 175 in Kruger National Park
412 reviews
26.3 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#32 of 175 in Kruger National Park
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Shawu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Shawu

Address: Mpanamana Concession, Crocodile Bridge | c/o Shishangeni Lodge, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $90 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Shawu 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camp Shawu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Shawu Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing