We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed one night and it was very adequate. Facilities need upgrading and the rooms a good clean and best recommendation I can give is that it was well located to travel through Kruger. We had no expectations so were not disappointed but one would not want to holiday there for long.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 735 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Overall experience was good, we had two bungalows and one had bats which kept on passing their droplets onto the bed as well as grass from roof it was bungalow 155, I caught a bad case of sinusitis because of that, its in the jungle after all! The rest of our stay was great, our late night drive was amazing. We are going back in December, to a guest house. I love Kruger national park!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khanyisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had one night at Satara..... Rondavel basic, but had all we needed.....

One of the highlights of our entire South Africa trip was the sunset game drive..... Knowledgeable and expert guide...... Once it got dark, we were lucky enough to encounter on/ close to the road a wide variety of game.... Elephant, rhino, hyena, porcupine, wild cat, lion, owls etc... Not something we will forget...... Definitely something to strongly recommend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 717RobertT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Badly in need of a renovation and some strong management. We had the pleasure of a rat in our sitting room and rat droppings all over the bed linen. By the time this was discovered all the staff had disappeared for the night so there was little we could do other than to sleep in the car for the night. (For the first time in 43 years!)
The following morning the duty manager did not seem too bothered and assumed it was either a dassie or a squirrel, which it wasn't!
Its a pity since the camp is well located and could be a real earner for the Kruger National Park.

Room Tip: Have a good look around for wild life in the rooms BEFORE you have your evening brai and beers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fogartyBourneEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good base for safari and observing animals. Everything I found appropriate place. Nothing extra impressed, but not offend. Overall satisfaction. The willingness of the reception could be better, but eventually managed to arrange everything. On the one two nights that great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My trip was self drive through Kruger National Park.
This was a simple clean basic accommodation. This is not a resort or a private game park lodge.

They do have a couple of stores and a cafe. Open air cinema. You do need to make sure you are there by gate closing time as with any of the camps in Kurger.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Satara camp is and old camp and fairly run down and would need some renovation very soon. Its major asset is its location in the best game viewing part of the Kruger (lion country).
The rondavels (round huts) situated on the perimeter do have a nice view and yes, you really can see animals like hyienas and antilopes go by just on the other side of the fence, only meters away. The major problem with these rondavels especially for foreigners is that they are tiny: just walking space around the bed and nowhere to put your suitcases. There are other room types but not on the perimeter.
We did not try the restaurant, but they have a well stocked supermarket where you can find everything you need to have a BBQ or braii as they say in Africa.
You have an outside kitchen on your balcony. You really need to lock the metal door which protects the fridge otherwise monkeys will come and steal everything and leave you a big mess.
There is no wifi even at the reception.
Satara also has a gas station and you really need to top up here.

Room Tip: Perimeter rooms (BD2V) have a view of the bush and animals if you are lucky. They have a private out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chouboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
400 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#130 of 175 in Kruger National Park
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
333 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#48 of 175 in Kruger National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $83 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing