We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation but staff??”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good accomodation but staff??”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a family unit for 5 adults so size was excellent. Well maintained but not properly cleaned. As usual, forget about the restaurant - you need to braai. This is Kruger.
Night drive staff were a disgrace. First night truck did not start and no backup. Could have happened 20 km into the park - radio did not work. Second afternoon the guide knew next to nothing, and her assistant, Moira, was a complete waste of space. Some basic historical and environmental training would have helped. Even a guide book would be better! As usual, foreign tourists also get ripped off by the levy equivalent to the accomodation fees

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    312
    178
    56
    21
See reviews for
167
357
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Fresh ingredienrs for a juicy chicken burger. Very quick and friendly service which is great seeing that we have to exit the park at kruger gate before closing time. Would have been great if they had fans at the restaurant. It is very hot and humid in summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were 1 night in Satara Rest Camp and 2 nights in Lower Sabie Rest Camp. Same price per night, but what a difference in their amenities. In Satara, the bungalow was not clean, with significant amount of spider webs, mosquito nets in very poor condition around windows, air conditioning out of use… We didn’t feel any welcome; we felt as if we were a number amongst other customers. A contrario, in Lower Sabie Rest Camp, we had a welcome and service, all was clean and equipment were functional. Even service and quality of food at their restaurant, which offers the same menu, were different. It was average in Satara and good in Lower Sabie. Amazing, they both are based on the same concept, are using a very similar architecture and are managed by Kruger National Park. Where is the error?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. While we unpacked the car the baboons watched us almost as if deciding what they would like for supper. The fridge is set behind a locked metal cage, which is certainly needed. Our bungalow was one with a view and I would highly recommend this, number 164.

We braaied our own food and then went to the restaurant for an evening drink which was cooling. Take a torch as it can get dark between the huts and the main areas. There is a well stocked shop with both souvenirs and groceries. The swimming pool area looks really good. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Perimeter view bungalow 164.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in Satara Restcamp for one night October 2013. The camp has a great location for game viewing, especially if you want to see big cats like lions, leopards & cheetahs. The camp has a nice feeling and the standard of the rondavels are okay, nothing fancy to expect though. The rondavel was functional with one big room, three beds and a bathroom. A little bit dated and in need for some paint and new curtains. There is a fridge at the patio with a table and chairs. You also have a “brai” - barbecue just outside the door.

The restaurant at the camp is quite alright, the open outside part had a nice feeling and good service. The food was okay, but nothing special. Do not forget to bring a torch, because it is really dark when you walk back to the rondavel in the evening. The reception staff when checking in/out was not so interested or helpful. There is a shop opposite the reception, with souvenirs and food. However the selection of groceries etc was limited and they seemed to have run out of supplies.

It is a camp with a good location, and we could easily have stayed a couple more of nights to explore the surroundings. Compared to Skukuza, where we also stayed, we preferred Satara due to the feeling of the camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaGuLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

As is often the case in Africa, the layout and vibe of the camp is great, but no-one at SANPARKS seems to give a hoot about maintaining standards. Chalets have the basic requirements, but everything is tired, worn out and the doors and walls were downright filthy! Curtains were dusty, faded and falling down. Beds and pillows clean and comfy though. And the birdlife at this camp is awesome!
I don't want to spend time in fancy, overpriced, artificial, luxury lodges, but SANPARKS restcamps generally are overpriced for the poor standard of cleanliness and service provided. The only reason they're still used at all is because of their spectacular and wonderful position in one of the most spectacular places on earth. I just wish someone would take control and bring everything up to basic but modern (European?) standards.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M-L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Satara Rest Camp is a basic camp, with poor service and low quality food. So I have to agree with other contributors (especially bbbrutus). However, you should try to minimize your time in the camp and maximize time to be in the park. The wildlife is great and the Game Drives here are as good as others in the Kruger Park. The guides are qualified and can tell you a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
35.2 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#104 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#57 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#42 of 171 in Kruger National Park
286 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#119 of 171 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing