We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good facilities”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. While we unpacked the car the baboons watched us almost as if deciding what they would like for supper. The fridge is set behind a locked metal cage, which is certainly needed. Our bungalow was one with a view and I would highly recommend this, number 164.

We braaied our own food and then went to the restaurant for an evening drink which was cooling. Take a torch as it can get dark between the huts and the main areas. There is a well stocked shop with both souvenirs and groceries. The swimming pool area looks really good. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Perimeter view bungalow 164.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    315
    182
    56
    21
See reviews for
171
359
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in Satara Restcamp for one night October 2013. The camp has a great location for game viewing, especially if you want to see big cats like lions, leopards & cheetahs. The camp has a nice feeling and the standard of the rondavels are okay, nothing fancy to expect though. The rondavel was functional with one big room, three beds and a bathroom. A little bit dated and in need for some paint and new curtains. There is a fridge at the patio with a table and chairs. You also have a “brai” - barbecue just outside the door.

The restaurant at the camp is quite alright, the open outside part had a nice feeling and good service. The food was okay, but nothing special. Do not forget to bring a torch, because it is really dark when you walk back to the rondavel in the evening. The reception staff when checking in/out was not so interested or helpful. There is a shop opposite the reception, with souvenirs and food. However the selection of groceries etc was limited and they seemed to have run out of supplies.

It is a camp with a good location, and we could easily have stayed a couple more of nights to explore the surroundings. Compared to Skukuza, where we also stayed, we preferred Satara due to the feeling of the camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaGuLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

As is often the case in Africa, the layout and vibe of the camp is great, but no-one at SANPARKS seems to give a hoot about maintaining standards. Chalets have the basic requirements, but everything is tired, worn out and the doors and walls were downright filthy! Curtains were dusty, faded and falling down. Beds and pillows clean and comfy though. And the birdlife at this camp is awesome!
I don't want to spend time in fancy, overpriced, artificial, luxury lodges, but SANPARKS restcamps generally are overpriced for the poor standard of cleanliness and service provided. The only reason they're still used at all is because of their spectacular and wonderful position in one of the most spectacular places on earth. I just wish someone would take control and bring everything up to basic but modern (European?) standards.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M-L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Satara Rest Camp is a basic camp, with poor service and low quality food. So I have to agree with other contributors (especially bbbrutus). However, you should try to minimize your time in the camp and maximize time to be in the park. The wildlife is great and the Game Drives here are as good as others in the Kruger Park. The guides are qualified and can tell you a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Unfriendly staff who don't really care if you are there. Restaurant food was poor quality; staff tried to be helpful but misunderstood our orders each meal. Location is good and bungalow was appropriately quaint. If the staff were more friendly and helpful this place would have far better reviews, kindness and appreciation for customers go a long way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraP_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Accommodation - Staff are poorly organised and on "African time", give yourself time to check in. We had to go check ourselves if the bungalow has been cleaned and then report back to reception to get our keys. The windows didn't close properly and could allow someone to get into the room if they wanted.
Restaurant - Staff could barely speak English, got orders wrong, charged for wrong orders. It took them 20 minutes to serve yogurt and muesli.
Game Drive - The guide was knowledgeable however there were no big cats or any animals besides antelope on the 3 hour ride.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Must agree with the previous reviewers. Camp is a bit run down. Shop is good. Still very popular and a great vibe. Lions roaring nearby. Great location to see Cats. Also, Buffalo, Zebra, Waterbuck, Elephant. Enter at Orpen, base in Satara and head North to Letaba, East to Nwanedsi, South to Skukuza. A wide variety of routes in a game rich environment. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 174 in Kruger National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 174 in Kruger National Park
440 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 174 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
147 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
295 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#48 of 174 in Kruger National Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing