We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here three nights and it was really fantastic. You are staying in Kruger itself.
We had a rondavel, it was clean and looks very good. You had everything you wanted.
The staff was friendly. We are coming back again.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

One of the best camps for game viewing, and yet still a pleasure to 'return home' for the night.
We stayed in a wonderful 3 bed rondawel - the perimeter ones were taken, but ours was lovely. Perfectly clean, peaceful, well kitted out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the nicest camps that I visited in Kruger NP. I really enjoyed the fact that you can camp right next to the rest camp fence - effectively allowing you to spot animals when you least expect it!
It has a good restaurant with friendly staff...an expensive shop where you can buy your basic foodstuffs and a few other items.
Reception seemed a bit disorganized when more than 2 or 3 people come into the office at once...but this is Africa after all. Otherwise they were all friendly and helpful. In fact, when I found out that the power plug in our campsite wasn't working they managed to get someone there to fix it before dark.
Campsites were quite nice...not much shade, so if you are camping, might want to take soem form of gazebo or something. Swimming pool is handy when summer comes and heat rises above 30 degrees C.
Game viewing was really great here...big herds of elephants and good chances of seeing big cats.
All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Satara. Only thing I would change is if I had more money I would have enjoyed staying in one of the chalets.
:)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cape2Addo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent three nights here and were pleasantly surprised with the chalets. They weren't luxurious but had a nice atmosphere inside and were quite comfortable. We were with friends whose parents live in South Africa and the parents came with their camp trailer and camped. That area looked quite nice. They even had a community area where one could take dishes and wash them in a sink. We saw plenty of wild animals driving on mostly dirt roads surrounding this camp. When we left Kruger we drove down by Skukuza and didn't see any game. We also drove one day up to Oliphant and that looked very nice. One night a herd of elephants came by the fence and drank at the tank. Another night a herd of cape buffalo came by also. The restaruant was average. I took the early morning hike which was okay but don't know if I would recommend it. It was $40 and even though we saw some hippos, zebra and cape buffalo, they were far off. Saw much more in the car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location of Satara Rest Camp was ideal for game viewing. Since there aren't really many other lodging options in this part of Kruger National Park, I do recommend staying here. We had a perimeter rondavel, which is probably one of the best rooms you can get at Satara, too. We also went on an enjoyable, and inexpensive, sunset game drive at the rest camp. So, overall, our experience was good. The only drawback was that the room was well worn and needed some deep cleaning and minor maintenance. I imagine most of the rest camp facilities in Kruger are similarly maintained since they are gov't-owned facilities. So, unless you're willing to pay much, much more for a private game lodge, Satara is probably about as good as it gets in Kruger for a game-viewing vacation. (The game viewing truly is spectacular around Satara.) Just be prepared for very basic, well-worn accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is a good rest camp in kruger NP. There is evidently plenty of big game in the area and the game drives and walks are well worth doing. Tevin, who took us on a sunset drive was superb and great fun - we spotted plenty of animals including lions, leopards, cheetah and hyaena! The swimming pool was nice, although underused. As with all the rest camps the price is very reasonable and the food was average (though inexpensive). Self catering facilities available but you need pretty much all your own stuff. Well stocked and decently priced shop. Just a bit less of a natural feel than some other rest camps - maybe due to the size?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is an awesome camp, in a good wildlife sightings viewpoint.
All the accommodation in the park is average, but you are in the middle of the bush, and luxury is not the main goal. The chalets are comfortable and exactly what you need once there.
The great bush atmosphere in the evenings make up for the luxury shortages.
There is abundant wildlife in the area, and if you are looking for the big 5, you should come here.
Your chances of spotting them here is better.
The service is a bit slow though, and never expect anything to happen quickly.
There is a nice swimming pool which is a lifesaver in the summer.
I would recommend to rather braai at your chalet, under the stars, than eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
416 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 176 in Kruger National Park
120 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 176 in Kruger National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#55 of 176 in Kruger National Park
323 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#33 of 176 in Kruger National Park
348 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#51 of 176 in Kruger National Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $79 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing