We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satara Rest Camp - Kruger”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
cape town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satara Rest Camp - Kruger”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the nicest camps that I visited in Kruger NP. I really enjoyed the fact that you can camp right next to the rest camp fence - effectively allowing you to spot animals when you least expect it!
It has a good restaurant with friendly staff...an expensive shop where you can buy your basic foodstuffs and a few other items.
Reception seemed a bit disorganized when more than 2 or 3 people come into the office at once...but this is Africa after all. Otherwise they were all friendly and helpful. In fact, when I found out that the power plug in our campsite wasn't working they managed to get someone there to fix it before dark.
Campsites were quite nice...not much shade, so if you are camping, might want to take soem form of gazebo or something. Swimming pool is handy when summer comes and heat rises above 30 degrees C.
Game viewing was really great here...big herds of elephants and good chances of seeing big cats.
All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Satara. Only thing I would change is if I had more money I would have enjoyed staying in one of the chalets.
:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape2Addo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    312
    178
    56
    21
See reviews for
167
357
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent three nights here and were pleasantly surprised with the chalets. They weren't luxurious but had a nice atmosphere inside and were quite comfortable. We were with friends whose parents live in South Africa and the parents came with their camp trailer and camped. That area looked quite nice. They even had a community area where one could take dishes and wash them in a sink. We saw plenty of wild animals driving on mostly dirt roads surrounding this camp. When we left Kruger we drove down by Skukuza and didn't see any game. We also drove one day up to Oliphant and that looked very nice. One night a herd of elephants came by the fence and drank at the tank. Another night a herd of cape buffalo came by also. The restaruant was average. I took the early morning hike which was okay but don't know if I would recommend it. It was $40 and even though we saw some hippos, zebra and cape buffalo, they were far off. Saw much more in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location of Satara Rest Camp was ideal for game viewing. Since there aren't really many other lodging options in this part of Kruger National Park, I do recommend staying here. We had a perimeter rondavel, which is probably one of the best rooms you can get at Satara, too. We also went on an enjoyable, and inexpensive, sunset game drive at the rest camp. So, overall, our experience was good. The only drawback was that the room was well worn and needed some deep cleaning and minor maintenance. I imagine most of the rest camp facilities in Kruger are similarly maintained since they are gov't-owned facilities. So, unless you're willing to pay much, much more for a private game lodge, Satara is probably about as good as it gets in Kruger for a game-viewing vacation. (The game viewing truly is spectacular around Satara.) Just be prepared for very basic, well-worn accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is a good rest camp in kruger NP. There is evidently plenty of big game in the area and the game drives and walks are well worth doing. Tevin, who took us on a sunset drive was superb and great fun - we spotted plenty of animals including lions, leopards, cheetah and hyaena! The swimming pool was nice, although underused. As with all the rest camps the price is very reasonable and the food was average (though inexpensive). Self catering facilities available but you need pretty much all your own stuff. Well stocked and decently priced shop. Just a bit less of a natural feel than some other rest camps - maybe due to the size?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is an awesome camp, in a good wildlife sightings viewpoint.
All the accommodation in the park is average, but you are in the middle of the bush, and luxury is not the main goal. The chalets are comfortable and exactly what you need once there.
The great bush atmosphere in the evenings make up for the luxury shortages.
There is abundant wildlife in the area, and if you are looking for the big 5, you should come here.
Your chances of spotting them here is better.
The service is a bit slow though, and never expect anything to happen quickly.
There is a nice swimming pool which is a lifesaver in the summer.
I would recommend to rather braai at your chalet, under the stars, than eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous camp, been coming here for 50 years, camp staff semi efficient, efficient only when pushed. Hordes of plains game abound- water buck, impala, wildebeest, giraffe, warthog, steenbok, black back jackal, hyena + lion
Get unit G167 (for two) which is 3m from perimeter fence

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilianlfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
312 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been coming to Satara Rest Camp since the 1960s. It was always my favorite camp. I'm not sure why.... perhaps all the wildlife in the area, it's central location, the sounds at night, the huts in circles --- whatever!
It has been 26 years, though, since I've been in South Africa, and I had heard all kinds of "horror stories" about all the negative changes at this camp in Kruger. For one thing, I had heard that all the aloes and gardens were gone and that nothing is being kept up. Still, I wanted to see it again, even just for the game drives during the day. I had also heard that the restaurants no longer actually serve anything worth eating. A recent post even called the rooms "rubbish", and not cleaned to decent standards.
WRONG!! WRONG!! Who is starting all these rumors, and why?! The place looks EXACTLY like I remember it! Beautiful gardens! People tending them. People watering them. Beautiful aloes everywhere. AND, our rooms were perfectly clean and tidy! What do you expect? This is not the Ritz!
The restaurants were indeed somewhat different. It used to be that they served the standard, 6-course, British colonial menus. OK, so that's gone, but now they've replaced it with menu choices. And the food at dinner was terrific! So was breakfast! A recent post complained that the restaurant is not worth eating at. Really? Look at my picture of breakfast! And it only cost about 7.50 USD. Are you kidding?
The huts are unchanged, except that instead of a simple concrete floor, there is now tile on the floors. Otherwise, they're the same. We always stayed in the self-contained units.
Everyone we met on staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us cordially. It was a real treat to go back down memory lane and see that some things DON'T change, and in this case, it's a very good thing. No, the huts are not Hampton Inns. They never were. This is simple, clean, comfortable national park accomodation where you open the windows at night to hear the hyenas, the side-striped jackals, Scopp's and Pearl owls, etc.
Well done, Satara!! Thanks for all the memories!

By the way, when we first arrived at the Orpen Gate, we were told that it takes about an hour to get to Satara (which I knew), and we only had about an hour before the gate at the camp closed. So we couldn't really stop for anything and had to keep going. So, naturally, what do we run into? A pack of wild dogs - all to ourselves! 7 of them, right on the road! A half hour later, we came across a leopard!! Needless to say, we DID stop......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
35.2 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
287 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing