We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for game viewing, though didn't have the wilderness feel of other rest camps”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is a good rest camp in kruger NP. There is evidently plenty of big game in the area and the game drives and walks are well worth doing. Tevin, who took us on a sunset drive was superb and great fun - we spotted plenty of animals including lions, leopards, cheetah and hyaena! The swimming pool was nice, although underused. As with all the rest camps the price is very reasonable and the food was average (though inexpensive). Self catering facilities available but you need pretty much all your own stuff. Well stocked and decently priced shop. Just a bit less of a natural feel than some other rest camps - maybe due to the size?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 768 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Satara is an awesome camp, in a good wildlife sightings viewpoint.
All the accommodation in the park is average, but you are in the middle of the bush, and luxury is not the main goal. The chalets are comfortable and exactly what you need once there.
The great bush atmosphere in the evenings make up for the luxury shortages.
There is abundant wildlife in the area, and if you are looking for the big 5, you should come here.
Your chances of spotting them here is better.
The service is a bit slow though, and never expect anything to happen quickly.
There is a nice swimming pool which is a lifesaver in the summer.
I would recommend to rather braai at your chalet, under the stars, than eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Fabulous camp, been coming here for 50 years, camp staff semi efficient, efficient only when pushed. Hordes of plains game abound- water buck, impala, wildebeest, giraffe, warthog, steenbok, black back jackal, hyena + lion
Get unit G167 (for two) which is 3m from perimeter fence

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lilianlfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been coming to Satara Rest Camp since the 1960s. It was always my favorite camp. I'm not sure why.... perhaps all the wildlife in the area, it's central location, the sounds at night, the huts in circles --- whatever!
It has been 26 years, though, since I've been in South Africa, and I had heard all kinds of "horror stories" about all the negative changes at this camp in Kruger. For one thing, I had heard that all the aloes and gardens were gone and that nothing is being kept up. Still, I wanted to see it again, even just for the game drives during the day. I had also heard that the restaurants no longer actually serve anything worth eating. A recent post even called the rooms "rubbish", and not cleaned to decent standards.
WRONG!! WRONG!! Who is starting all these rumors, and why?! The place looks EXACTLY like I remember it! Beautiful gardens! People tending them. People watering them. Beautiful aloes everywhere. AND, our rooms were perfectly clean and tidy! What do you expect? This is not the Ritz!
The restaurants were indeed somewhat different. It used to be that they served the standard, 6-course, British colonial menus. OK, so that's gone, but now they've replaced it with menu choices. And the food at dinner was terrific! So was breakfast! A recent post complained that the restaurant is not worth eating at. Really? Look at my picture of breakfast! And it only cost about 7.50 USD. Are you kidding?
The huts are unchanged, except that instead of a simple concrete floor, there is now tile on the floors. Otherwise, they're the same. We always stayed in the self-contained units.
Everyone we met on staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted us cordially. It was a real treat to go back down memory lane and see that some things DON'T change, and in this case, it's a very good thing. No, the huts are not Hampton Inns. They never were. This is simple, clean, comfortable national park accomodation where you open the windows at night to hear the hyenas, the side-striped jackals, Scopp's and Pearl owls, etc.
Well done, Satara!! Thanks for all the memories!

By the way, when we first arrived at the Orpen Gate, we were told that it takes about an hour to get to Satara (which I knew), and we only had about an hour before the gate at the camp closed. So we couldn't really stop for anything and had to keep going. So, naturally, what do we run into? A pack of wild dogs - all to ourselves! 7 of them, right on the road! A half hour later, we came across a leopard!! Needless to say, we DID stop......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I use satara at least once a year for the last 10 years. The quality has steadily declined. Rooms and kitchen are seldom cleaned to decent standards, rooms are absolute rubbish, and it has become severely over-priced. Staff assistance is non-existent. They do have good facilities (shop,pool, petrol station, game-drive vehicles, restaurant)- the restaurant is not really worth eating at though. The only real reason to stay at satara is the quality of the wildlife in the surrounding areas. Very few areas in the park offer the same quality for game viewing- particularly for big cats and hyena. The traffic at sightings in the surrounding areas though can often ruin the occasion. Some major improvements are needed in order for this camp to be considered satisfiable. Don't let the "you are in the bush" be an excuse for a lack of basic quality and services!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Satara with a friend as part of a Photographic Safari. We had 4 nights at Satara, which had some good facilities - small shop that had food, beverages, souvenirs, a restaurant / pub (I think - didnt use it), petrol station, pool etc.

There are camp grounds there which you could use a tent or camp trailers or bungalows.

We had a bungalow that i shared with my friend. The rooms are basic and as other reviewers have said 'could do with a revamp' but it was clean, tidy, good facilities and it had the best animal sightings. We traveled one day up to Olifants which didnt seem to have nearly the amount of animal sightings as we had almost out the front gate of Satara.

The camp gates closed at 5:30pm sharp which is dusk anyway. I noticed a number of tourist who abused this and came in shortly after, you may get a fine if you do come in late.

So if you go to Kruger I would suggest you ask yourself "are you going for luxury or going to see the most amazing animals in their habitat?"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Satara rest camp is very large, with circles (A-D) of rooms facing the middle. Each room has single bed, a bathroom and an outdoor kitchen. The amenities are basic, but very neat and clean. The restaurant is quite large and has a variety of dishes, which are quite pricey but also basic. Don't expect any gourmet meals here. It has got a very pleasant view and is quite pretty. The shop is very large, and you will find whatever you need there, although the prices are also quite steep. I would suggest taking your own food and preparing it at your room rather. I must commend the game ranger who took us on a game drive, however. Yolanda was very knowledgeable about the game, and gave us insight into the whys and hows. She even spotted a leopard who was trying to catch a few winks. I highly recommend the morning game drive!

Room Tip: We stayed in circle C, which is close enough to the shop and pool to walk, but far away enough from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
416 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 176 in Kruger National Park
120 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 176 in Kruger National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#55 of 176 in Kruger National Park
323 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#51 of 176 in Kruger National Park
188 reviews
60.3 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#78 of 176 in Kruger National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $99 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing