We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, poor room.”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is in the best location inside Kruger National Park. Since it's right in the middle of the park, furhter from the fences, there are many animals to be seen and, if you want to observe the Big Five, go no further. On the other hand, our room was very poor. Safe didn't work, sheets were stinking, everything needs an update. Moreover, food is horrible everywhere in the Camp, either in the restaurant or in the deli. Of course I know it's a camp and, if I wanted luxury, I should have booked a Logde. But a rustic simple place is way differente than a dirty one. In the and, this the price to pay for staying in the best spot for the Game Drives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 735 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've read the reviews of this Rest Camp and can tell you that I found the camp to be run down, the fencing in poor condition, the food not good at all, the huts bare minimum, etc. We arrived for a two night stay in September, on our way from Jock Safari Lodge to Mala Mala Game Preserve.

A reviewer who stated that the rest camp isn't what western travelers would expect was understating, but that statement is also misleading. During our travels in Kruger, we stopped at Skukuza also and found the huts to be newer, better maintained, and the food much better. It seems to me that Kruger needs to put some money into Satara to upgrade the facilities.

Monkeys run freely through the camp and after returning to the hut from eating breakfast at the camp's restaurant, we found all of our outdoor kitchen covered in monkey urine. I'm not impressed and found that to be unhealthy and unsanitary. My traveling companion insisted that he wanted to stay here, since he'd never been this far north in the park. I feel his judgment was in error and remember our stay there as something I wanted to have end very soon.

In their defense, their location for game spotting is wonderful and our day-drive from Satara further north was a wonderful one. Two nearly-newborn lions in a bush with Mom sleeping underneath in the shade was priceless. We found the employees in the morning to be friendly, but we also saw employee-theft in the gift shop. They would ring up all but one item, total it, collect the money, then say, oh we forgot this item, its $XXX. That money never ended up in the register, and it happened to both of us on two different occasions.

Overall, I would stay at Skukuza or a camp farther north the nest time I visit, which will be in May of 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer huts, which appear to be more in the center of the camp. If you wish to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoverOfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Well organised, clean, friednly staff, ok restaurant with modest buffet but with fantastic view (we saw lions walking by outside the fence when having diner). We took the Night Game Drive with very good guide/driver and saw a.o. lions resting after their hunt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the game viewing was amazing with the big 5 seen in one game drive, we have seen the big 5 before but never in one drive. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units and whilst dated it was clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and very good aircon. Whilst the view from the veranda was not fantastic we found it to be quiet and the night sounds of Africa the same. Our rangers on the drives were very good with the exception of one who really wasn't interested in anything other than finding lion (which he didn:t!). The others however were really good and a credit to SAN parks.

We had a buffet meal at the restaurant and it was really rather good. People need to remember this is a restcamp and as such is maintained at an affordable level giving people the opportunity to experience Kruger without the price tag.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger unit if you can afford to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Satara after a disappointing stay at poorly maintained Letaba rest camp. So, Satara came off looking good by comparison. It was cleaner, and much better maintained. This was clear at a glance when we got to our hut/chalet. Satara lacks the glorious siting of some of the other restcamps (ie. is not alongside a river, or on top of a hill), but it is in the middle of some of the the best game viewing in the KNP, and it is a big camp, offering the opportunity to walk around and visit various parts of the camp on foot to look out of the perimeter fence. The ranger who took us on a morning and a night drive was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and good at finding animals. Satara's main deficiency is a very grim reception and dining block that, with its red tiled roof, is incongruous with the thatched buildings of the rest of the camp. This part of the camp is in dire need of a total re-do. The restaurant here, as with all the restcamps in the KNP, is a tragic abomination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Satara was less frustrating than Lower Sabie (see separate review).
The maintenance issue here is as visible. You don’t want to touch and open the windows in the shower, because they may fall apart for rust. Flip-flops for your shower may make you feel more comfortable.
The bathroom/toilet area is VERY small, the basin is in the room, the bungalows are VERY basic with just one bedside table, the aircon extremely noisy that you find yourself switching it on and off during the night. You have to either live with the noise or stay awake because it was very hot (January).
The cleaning also here left lots to be desired. Nevertheless, it was the better camp in comparison to Lower Sabie. Friendly staff, well stocked shop and the overall appearance seems more “looked after” than Lower Sabie. The fridge had been defrosted recently and did cool quite well, the stove with 2 hotplates was working well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abangane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went for breakfast at The Tree restaurant at Satara camp. Waited 15 minutes to be acknowledged and only then when we called loud enough. The "supervisor" took our order we waited again and eventually had to go into the drinks area ourselves and get our drinks and then waited again for our breakfast which did not materialize, we then noticed a large group that arrived after us, getting their food before us. when we inquired as to why , we discovered that our order had not been placed. When raised with the manager he gave us weak excuses and tried to brush us off instead of doing something about it, his "wife" or the manageress just stood there as people complained all around us. and we eventually ate an hour and a half later. and to top it ff they tried charging us for food we did not have. if this is an example of South Africa's top tourist site, then it fails miserably.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank ShaneJButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
402 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 175 in Kruger National Park
57 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#45 of 175 in Kruger National Park
172 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#39 of 175 in Kruger National Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $83 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing