We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything is relative...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything is relative...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Satara after a disappointing stay at poorly maintained Letaba rest camp. So, Satara came off looking good by comparison. It was cleaner, and much better maintained. This was clear at a glance when we got to our hut/chalet. Satara lacks the glorious siting of some of the other restcamps (ie. is not alongside a river, or on top of a hill), but it is in the middle of some of the the best game viewing in the KNP, and it is a big camp, offering the opportunity to walk around and visit various parts of the camp on foot to look out of the perimeter fence. The ranger who took us on a morning and a night drive was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and good at finding animals. Satara's main deficiency is a very grim reception and dining block that, with its red tiled roof, is incongruous with the thatched buildings of the rest of the camp. This part of the camp is in dire need of a total re-do. The restaurant here, as with all the restcamps in the KNP, is a tragic abomination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    272
    148
    47
    18
See reviews for
147
300
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Satara was less frustrating than Lower Sabie (see separate review).
The maintenance issue here is as visible. You don’t want to touch and open the windows in the shower, because they may fall apart for rust. Flip-flops for your shower may make you feel more comfortable.
The bathroom/toilet area is VERY small, the basin is in the room, the bungalows are VERY basic with just one bedside table, the aircon extremely noisy that you find yourself switching it on and off during the night. You have to either live with the noise or stay awake because it was very hot (January).
The cleaning also here left lots to be desired. Nevertheless, it was the better camp in comparison to Lower Sabie. Friendly staff, well stocked shop and the overall appearance seems more “looked after” than Lower Sabie. The fridge had been defrosted recently and did cool quite well, the stove with 2 hotplates was working well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abangane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went for breakfast at The Tree restaurant at Satara camp. Waited 15 minutes to be acknowledged and only then when we called loud enough. The "supervisor" took our order we waited again and eventually had to go into the drinks area ourselves and get our drinks and then waited again for our breakfast which did not materialize, we then noticed a large group that arrived after us, getting their food before us. when we inquired as to why , we discovered that our order had not been placed. When raised with the manager he gave us weak excuses and tried to brush us off instead of doing something about it, his "wife" or the manageress just stood there as people complained all around us. and we eventually ate an hour and a half later. and to top it ff they tried charging us for food we did not have. if this is an example of South Africa's top tourist site, then it fails miserably.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaneJButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
239 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

As others have said Satara is getting very dilapidated but it is the best camp for game viewing by far. As long as your expectations are not high and you know what the accommodations are like you will be fine. The units are older and in need of updating. We found the service and the cleanliness to be fair, and we were really only in the bungalows to eat and sleep. The majority of the time should be spent searching for animals.... after all you are in a game reserve.

The family cottages are spacious and are a good way to go if you have a group. It works out to be a bit cheaper than getting separate bungalows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We found the park itself not so interesting, and less taken care off then the other parks. It looked more like a wilderness then anything else. also the rooms/lodges were of a lesser quality. There is need for management to take a close look and follow up on this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is unfortunate that I feel the need to give Satara a poor rating, since this restcamp is actually ideally situated for game-viewing. On the evening of our arrival, during a sunset game-drive (with ranger) we came across a lion devouring a recently killed buffalo - right on the roadside - whilst another exhausted male recovered nearby. The following morning, during our sunrise drive, we saw several hyena at the kill-site, another lion pride at a different site also close to the road, followed by yet another lion further off in the distance - all on the loop drive around Satara Camp.

First stayed at Satara with my wife in November 2002 and we found the location to be good but the camp infrastructure a bit dated. Clearly there has been no renovation during the intervening nine years. Our unit was pretty dilapidated, the mosquito window-screens were rusted and did not open or close properly. The airconditioner was old and very noisy and was barely able to combat the high ambient temperatures. The smell of the bed-linen gave us to suspect that the sheets had not been changed since the previous occupant had checked out. Either that, or the pillows etc were in urgent need of laundering. Not sure that they clean the units properly or regularly - an unpleasant odour and small droppings in the bathroom suggested that a family of rodents had taken up residence - although we never saw any of the little critters. Satara is in a great location and has a lot of potential, but is in urgent need of a make-over. Should note that we expressed our dissatisfaction when they emailed us a customer's satisfaction survey, but we never received a reply....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a rest camp in middle of the jungle and a govt run property- for the price charged (compared to the private game-parks) we were more than satisfied with the experience. We stayed in the Guest cottage. Cottage had split AC in both bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, separate dining area. The cottage however has fairly average looking exteriors and parking is messy. Also some of the kitchen equipment need a overhaul (hob and chimney need a comprehensive cleaning). There is a small supermarket in the camp that has adequate stock of fresh vegetables, meat and packaged food. The restaurant however is average with highly limited option for vegetarians. At the petrol, pump air compressor was not working, with nothing around for 50 kms, we were surprised that the same was not repaired during our entire stay period.

That said Game near the camp is excellent, we saw a herd of Elephants and a lion cross the road next to the camp. Plenty of herbivores - Zebras, Giraffe, Impala and Kudu's. Morning safari is good with knowledgeable guides, however night drive is not worth the effort or price.

We also stayed at Berg-en Dal and this rest camp was far superior in terms of game sighting and facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
67.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 166 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#118 of 166 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 166 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
17.1 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#52 of 166 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#61 of 166 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing