We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a kruger park resort however”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We found the park itself not so interesting, and less taken care off then the other parks. It looked more like a wilderness then anything else. also the rooms/lodges were of a lesser quality. There is need for management to take a close look and follow up on this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 736 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is unfortunate that I feel the need to give Satara a poor rating, since this restcamp is actually ideally situated for game-viewing. On the evening of our arrival, during a sunset game-drive (with ranger) we came across a lion devouring a recently killed buffalo - right on the roadside - whilst another exhausted male recovered nearby. The following morning, during our sunrise drive, we saw several hyena at the kill-site, another lion pride at a different site also close to the road, followed by yet another lion further off in the distance - all on the loop drive around Satara Camp.

First stayed at Satara with my wife in November 2002 and we found the location to be good but the camp infrastructure a bit dated. Clearly there has been no renovation during the intervening nine years. Our unit was pretty dilapidated, the mosquito window-screens were rusted and did not open or close properly. The airconditioner was old and very noisy and was barely able to combat the high ambient temperatures. The smell of the bed-linen gave us to suspect that the sheets had not been changed since the previous occupant had checked out. Either that, or the pillows etc were in urgent need of laundering. Not sure that they clean the units properly or regularly - an unpleasant odour and small droppings in the bathroom suggested that a family of rodents had taken up residence - although we never saw any of the little critters. Satara is in a great location and has a lot of potential, but is in urgent need of a make-over. Should note that we expressed our dissatisfaction when they emailed us a customer's satisfaction survey, but we never received a reply....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a rest camp in middle of the jungle and a govt run property- for the price charged (compared to the private game-parks) we were more than satisfied with the experience. We stayed in the Guest cottage. Cottage had split AC in both bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, separate dining area. The cottage however has fairly average looking exteriors and parking is messy. Also some of the kitchen equipment need a overhaul (hob and chimney need a comprehensive cleaning). There is a small supermarket in the camp that has adequate stock of fresh vegetables, meat and packaged food. The restaurant however is average with highly limited option for vegetarians. At the petrol, pump air compressor was not working, with nothing around for 50 kms, we were surprised that the same was not repaired during our entire stay period.

That said Game near the camp is excellent, we saw a herd of Elephants and a lion cross the road next to the camp. Plenty of herbivores - Zebras, Giraffe, Impala and Kudu's. Morning safari is good with knowledgeable guides, however night drive is not worth the effort or price.

We also stayed at Berg-en Dal and this rest camp was far superior in terms of game sighting and facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank himniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Satara restcamp is very well situated for watching animals, we left early and 1 km out of the gate we had close encouter with 10 lions! Half an our later we've seen 10 different species! The cabin is very basic, kitchenette seperated from the bedroom and very small shower (didn't use it...) Every window is musquito proof. Because of strike there was a limited offer on food, no comments here.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin in D section. Location on the fence of the restcamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a big camp, but it feels very remote and doesn't have the tourist atmosphere of the other main camps. There's a lot of game in this area! We went on a sunset game drive and saw the big 5 in just 2 hours.

The room is very clean and comfortable, and the camp is the most relaxing of the bigger rest camps. The staff are lovely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the pretty much the same, so anywhere is good. It's nice to be close to the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the chalets/huts. The camp is sufficiently large that you may need a map.

This is a large state-sector rest camp which offers fairly simple accommodation, although clean and functional. There was a room safe but in such a dark corner of the cupboard and without instructions that I succeeded in locking it permanently – fortunately on a ‘trial run’ and not with our possessions inside.

The restaurant has a limited menu (and same menu at the take away), not much above a fast food establishment. Evening meals were not great and didn’t always deliver what the menu suggested. However, the ‘health breakfast’ was very nice: a large bowl of fruit, muesli and yogurt being the basis, but it comes 'assembled' whereas a buffet where you can choose your favoured options is preferable.

There is a reasonable large camp shop selling books, clothing, souvenirs etc.

The large swimming pool looked nice but our itinerary did not include time for a dip!

As the gates close from 6pm to 6am, you have to take a camp night drive to get a chance of the nocturnal animals. It was not very expensive, but also quite poor compared to night drives we have taken at various private establishments in Africa. The driver said he could only promise “grass and trees” and I think he meant it. Spot lights were given to two passengers on either side and the driver drove a route very quickly, only stopping if one of the passengers shouted ‘stop’. Most night drives have a dedicated spotter/tracker watching for animals. We did see leopard and genet, as well as a white-faced owl which we spotted. Of course, some of the common diurnal antelopes etc were present as well but you are asked not to shine spotlights on them, as it affects their eyesight.

Our hut was near the perimeter fence and there was a bench to sit on facing the fence. I sat there quite late at night for the atmosphere and was just checking something on my phone when a noise at the fence made me look up. A spotted hyena was brushing the fence no more that 2m away. The hyenas patrol the fence because they are (wrongly) fed by some of the campers. They can often be seen at the waterhole at night as well.

Giving an overall grade to somewhere like this is hard. It offers acceptable accommodation in a great area for game and bird viewing. But you won’t love it for itself. Compared to other accommodations, I rate it as ‘average’.

Room Tip: Perimeter fence may be a good option - we were in circle A and liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There is no doubt that Satara is in a great game viewing area of Kruger National Park.
This is why the camp is so popular but Satara looks a bit loved to death. Although a slow refurbishment of bungalows is taking place the general look of the camp is a bit shabby. There is a disused large building in the centre with the back surrounding area full of junk and rubbish on view to guests. Although ground staff were evident the gardens need more TLC.
The restaurant needs a complete shake up. Why one cannot be served at one's table like all other KNP restaurants I've been to I do not know? Just to get ice with my drink was a mission!
The toilets at the restaurant are always messy and not clean enough.
Whilst the staff at reception are efficient I wouldn't call their service friendly or welcoming.
As for shop staff - I regularly counted about ten or more staff of whom about 2 were actually doing any meaningful work. One staff member pushed in front of guests lined up at the counter to complete his own transaction! As their card facility regularly seems to be down they put a sign up to enlighten customers, except that when the card facility IS working they never take the sign down and when I enquired of the manager who happened to be behind the counter if the card system was working I was met with a look of pure disdain....

Generally disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
401 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 175 in Kruger National Park
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#52 of 175 in Kruger National Park
313 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#32 of 175 in Kruger National Park
335 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#46 of 175 in Kruger National Park
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $83 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing