We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic restcamp, perfect location in Kruger”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Satara restcamp. The bungalow (2 pers.) was basic and needed a update. There were no utensils (there is a fridge), but the bed and shower were comfortable. Don't try the restaurant, the staff is friendly but the food is quite bad. Bring your own and use the bbq (communal kitchens have only two electric cooking plates, boiled water and no utensils). The shop has a lot of souvenirs but not so much food (so buy your food before entering Kruger).
The good news about Satara is that the surroundings are great! We saw a lot of animals by daylight (and not so much cars) and really enjoyed the sunset drive and night drive (big 5 in an hour and the guides were very friendly, funny and told a lot about the wildlife)! We did see lions, hyena's and a leopard close to the camp.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoy-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 768 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the first of two camps we visited at Kruger NP. Satara was better than Pretoriuskop. The overall atmosphere was better. Rondavel was fairly clean but it needs an update (as does Pretoriuskop). Satara has a nicer pool. The restaurant isn't much, so it's probably better to take your own supplies from outside the park. We also saw way more animals around Satara.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the 2 bed bungalows facing the perimeter.

Satara is one of those places that grow on you. There is an abundance of wildlife to be found in the vicinity and especially predators. We saw lions on 5 occasions while staying here.

The accommodation is very comfortable and i love the atmosphere in this camp.

There is no better place in the world as the huge veranda in front of the restaurant to sit and enjoy the view and the vibe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindafrompotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is tough to rate because the location can’t be beat. Within minutes of doing our first morning self-drive, we encountered cheetahs and leopards. It really seems to be the prime spot for seeing big cats (as well as many other animals). Unfortunately, the chalets are rather mediocre and are definitely showing their age –we were in a BG3 unit with 3 beds and outdoor kitchen. Most of the chalets are set-up in large circular compounds looking into round, grassy, common areas. It’s not terribly scenic or private (however, noise was never a problem). The perimeter cottages certainly look to be more private, but the scenery is nothing spectacular (save your money and efforts for scoring a perimeter cottage at Olifants). If you are self catering, please be aware that beyond basic cooking vessels, dishes and utensils, nothing is supplied - no little packets of coffee, tea, or sugar, nothing in the salt and pepper shakers. You really do need to bring or buy absolutely everything. We never tried the restaurant but it usually looked quite empty. If you want affordable accomodations, and come with the expectation that this is simply a place to hang your hat at night while enjoying some stupendous game viewing, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binderdundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Booked 2 chalets for myself and 3 sons. Had a great time, watched the rugby world cup under 20 and the spirit very festive. Stunning Scops owl in parking area, units clean and functional. Congratulations to the management and staff. Fantastic sightings including lion, leopard, wild dog, hyena, plus rets of big 5 and much more. Staff at garage especially Esau very helpful with my flat tire, All round an excellent experience,

Room Tip: Note that some units do not have cutlery or washing up facilities of you wish to braai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've been coming to this camp since I was a child, and it didn't disappoint. It still looks the same, feels the same. Admittedly I didn't eat in the restaurant while those in our party who did were left feeling disgruntled by the experience.

Accommodation is basic but the rondavels are clean and it's a delight to open the curtains in the morning and be greeted by a thorn tree full of glossy starlings right outside the window. It's very easy to self cater (we had braais for dinner, fruit and yogurt for breakfast) and so avoid the dangers of the restaurant. Game viewing in the area is stunning, see my photo of elephants viewed from the fence of the camp!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was our second stay at Satara and is one of our favourite camps. On both stays we booked a Perimeter bungalow with kitchen facilities (BD2V). The bungalow was No.G164

The bungalow overlooked the camp perimeter with great views of passing wild life. On one occasion whilst having breakfast, we watched Eles, Giraffe, Zebra, Impala and Wildebeeste all taking their turn for a drink at the nearby water hole.

The bungalows are basic and we think of them as a little quaint. The rooms have an outside kitchen with table and chairs, pots & pans, crockery and utensils, comfortable beds, air-conditioning, separate shower and toilet with rooms cleaned on a daily basis including fresh towels.

The camp has a restaurant and cafeteria which we ate at on several occasions and offers a variety of good food at reasonable prices.

The shop is well stocked with food and beverages, hardware, clothes, books and giftware.

We made use of the car wash facility located adjacent to the petrol station. About 60 rand for a thorough clean inside and out.

The only negative was the camp washing machines were out of order.

The camp staff were all courteous, friendly and helpful.

SanParks should be commended for the well organised and running of their camps.

The wildlife in this region of Kruger is also prolific which makes this camp a must stay. We could probably say we spotted most of the big 5 every day, if you are into that. Other wildlife spotted included ground hornbills on the S100, hyena with cubs along the H6, 4 lionesses with 4 cubs at the Nsemani Dam, a family of 4 owls in a tree along the S41 and countless herds of eles, Giraffe and Zebra.

Our special sighting was on the S41 early one morning with a lioness lying on the road. After a closer look, there were 2 magnificent male lions at the roadside next to her. After a while all 3 moved and walked down the road for several kilometres, where we just followed them for about 30 minutes before other cars appeared….an outstanding sighting that we will never forget.

This review wouldn’t be complete without a comment on the perimeter waterhole adjacent to the restaurant which attracted the wonderful wildlife to it. The waterhole has its own webcam and can be viewed via the SanParks web site. A special mention is the resident African Scops Owl which can be found in a tree within the reception car park.

For the price and purpose of stay, our personal rating of the overall experience of this camp is a 5 out 5 and a must stay when we return again.

Regards,
Vicki & Rob.

Room Tip: On both stays we booked a Perimeter bungalow with kitchen facilities (BD2V). The bungalow was No.G16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#66 of 176 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 176 in Kruger National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#56 of 176 in Kruger National Park
324 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#43 of 176 in Kruger National Park
192 reviews
60.3 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#82 of 176 in Kruger National Park
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $99 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing