We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“favorite rest camp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“favorite rest camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

ive been a couple times its the best camp for game veiwing saw all the big five cant wait to go back. also inexpensive to eat shop etc becauce of exchange rates

Room Tip: get a bungalo with own kitchen and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1025mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    292
    165
    53
    21
See reviews for
158
327
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The best camp to exlore the kruger and have big 5 experience.
The camp is like allt he other: state owned, so rooms are very basic. Restaurant is extremely poor.
However you are there for the safari experience, not for luxury !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was a lovely camp. It was our first trip to Kruger and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. My husband and I traveled with another couple, and we each had a one bedroom hut. The location was fantastic for exploring Kruger, and the wildlife was amazing. We self catered and the store had meat and vegetables to throw on the Braai each night. We were there when the lions killed a buffalo near the perimeter fence and it was an incredible experience to be privileged enough to watch the lions and hyenas on the kill. We were all very impressed with the National Park System and the accommodations. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMCNJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our family of 10 (our children and grandchildren, all of us from Australia) stayed at Stanley Guest House, a grand family home with 3 large bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (with bath and shower , 2 with hand held shower, 1 with shower recess), a huge lounge and dining area, a large verandah overlooking a waterhole and a well equipped kitchen. The doors to the rooms were beautifully carved and loving care had gone into everything in the house and we felt very lucky to be able to stay here. The area was privately fenced so that the children could play quite safely. We had a wonderful helper, Betty, who looked after us very well.
From the verandah we watched herds of zebra, wildebeeste and buffalo come to drink, had a honeybadger in the garden and were woken by a beautiful flock of guinea fowl, which roosted in the nearby trees. A buffalo was killed by lions just outside the fence near the restaurant while we were there and we then saw the hyenas move in. I enjoyed trying the paps, sheba and wors, which was new to me, being Australian but we catered for ourselves the rest of the time during our 4 day stay there. The swimming pool area was very pleasant and the children enjoyed a swim although the water was cold in May. The linen was of good quality and towels were changed daily and everything was extremely clean and well kept. In other years, my husband and I have stayed in a perimeter rondavel with an outside kitchen and have really enjoyed that too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Satara has always been one of our favourite camps, but on our last trip in April we were sooo disappointed. The service was appalling to say the least. What really changed our minds was the fact that on the first night I had to get out of bed because I suddenly started to itch and could not stop scratching it was so bad. I spent the night in my camping chair with my fleece blanket. The next morning it looked as if I had measles. On second thought I realised that the only clean linen one ever see being changed in Kruger, are sheets and towels, but I have never seen them change the mattress coves. Another camp in Kruger that will never see me again and good sightings are all over Kruger - lots of cats around Lower Sabie and Skukuza, both with great accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krugerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Visiting the Kruger is an institution that all South Africans should indulge in - its a haven of tranquility and unspoiled nature. I do fear however that standards are dropping fast. As fast as they are dropping, the prices have risen exponentially - this park was always so reasonable to visit. Not anymore!
The family's 2 night stay at this camp was pleasant - we booked air conditioned bungalows and as always, it was neat, clean and basic accom as we have come to know over the decades.

My big gripe was the restaurant area. We visited the restaurant twice and on both occasions the wait between ordering and getting our meals was 45 minutes on day 1 and over an hour on day 2. the staff flitter around like tsetse flies and seemed to have no idea - I suspect

Room Tip: Ask for the air conditioned units with a fridge - section E of the camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

One of my favourite camps. Great game viewing area and ideally suited in Park. Bungalows well equipped and clean. Slightly overlooked but still fine for a night

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
43.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
67.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#124 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#50 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing