We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one definitely depends on where you stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This one definitely depends on where you stay!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Lower Sabie a couple of years ago with my mom in one of the tents overlooking the river. Phenomenal experience. Beautiful, quiet, a touch of luxury but still in the bush.

Imagine my disappointment when on my return we could only find a booking in one of the old rondawels in the old part of the camp. the room smelt terribly of smoke, the beds reminded my of my (not very nice) boarding school, and the overall experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

A herd of Rhinos helped improve the experience, but I'd be careful which accommodation you book in this camp.

Room Tip: Go for the newer part of the camp that has been upgraded, and opt for a perimeter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    244
    107
    42
    17
See reviews for
121
307
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stay here often.The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help us.
The night drives are great from here and most of the guides enjoy their work,there are one or two that are not so great.
The accommodation is clean and caters for all budgets including camping .
The units on the river front are new and perfect for a couple of nights.
The only negative thing about Kruger is the restaurants .They are day light robbery and the carpets food in the world,eg 60 rand for a cold pie and chips!,!
Management at the restaurant do not care about you or the food!
Stay away!
Do your own catering and you will enjoy this great place!

Room Tip: Tents are a great experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is probably THE busiest of the Kruger owned and operated concessions as it is the easiest to reach from the southern entrances. The day I was there, it was crowded and noisy, which didn't lend itself to seeing game. Spent part of the evening there, as well as a night. Bungalow was nice, clean, and comfortable. Book in advance or reserve as early as possible.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time, ask for river side bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoverOfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lower Sabie is amongst the most popular rest camps ....and for good reason. The wildlife in the area is very very good whether on a tar or sand road. In fact it it is so popular you need to book accommodation up to a year in advance ....by the time I booked ONLY nine months in advance all the Bungalows were gone and we had to do with a hut ....basically a clean room with three beds ...but no toilet.shower....which were communal ... ..a three minute walk away. All very clean and looked after ....but a walk away. So book earlier. The camp itself is really a base to sleep before the venture out. Note the restaurant, as in most Kruger rest camps is basic and very expensive the same applies to the shop. Next time we will really go prepared to self cater.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took a river front bungalow. The location was lovely - tranquil, good view of the river and animals, fairly private. Although not new or fancy, the accommodation was affordable, clean and neat. I was very disappointed with the shop - the food was very poor quality, with a limited selection, and very expensive. The restaurant is in the most beautiful location with the most stunning view, but the service was very bad, and the food can only be described as junk food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we recently visited the Kruger Park and stayed at Lower Sabie rest camp, in one of the bungalows on the river. The unit was well maintained and clean, beds comfortable, the shower was a decent size.
best part was being on the river with lovely views.
unfortunately could only get one night there.
found the staff to be friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped by at the rest camp for lunch during our drive and went away wishing I'd been staying there.
The restaurant is located just by the Sabie river and I saw buffaloes, elephants, crocodiles and lots of birds by just sitting there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
379 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#106 of 174 in Kruger National Park
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
146 reviews
23.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#30 of 174 in Kruger National Park
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Property: Lower Sabie Restcamp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing