We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Sabie disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Was very much looking forward to staying at Lower Sabie but left a little disappointed. We enjoyed some amazing game sightings in the area during our four days there but the camp was not for us.
The restaurant has apparently improved and the one meal we had there was quite okay but the service was ordinary and the floor was so filthy my shoes stuck to it every time I walked across it. The general tidiness and cleanliness of the area wasn't great. Do not time your stay to be there at a weekend the place is overrun and noisy and chaotic. Horrible.
The rubbish that blows from the restaurant deck out into the river bank needs cleaning regularly it is an eyesore.
The grocery selection at the shop is terrible. Better selection at many of the much smaller camps. The service is VERY slow and inefficient.

We stayed in a luxury safari tent and the stovetop did not work for the four days we were there. The first night we called reception and they were very efficient at sending maintenance to fix it. The man got the stove working by fiddling around with wires under the stove top and telling us that water from the cleaners each day gets into the wiring ?? This process had to be repeated every night we were there. How about actually FIXING the cause of the problem!!! It was very frustrating! There are signs warning to lock your edibles in the caged cupboard only the locks have been broken on the doors for what looks like some time!

We did one night drive from the camp and the guide was pleasant and knowledgeable.

We wouldn't choose to stay at Lower Sabie again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tryhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 617 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Reservations were scarce for the night we chose to stay here, and we had to settle for a hut with communal kitchen and bathrooms. As the camp looked like it was not nearly full when we arrived, we inquired about an upgrade, to an ensuite accommodation, but were told none were available (we doubted this based on visual view and a huge duststorm which may have deterred visitors). Room was tired and worn, well away from the perimeter or any attractive views. It had tattered bedspreads, neither dishware nor cleaning supplies. Communal bathroom and showers, a short walk away, was old with peeling paint and old fixtures. It looked like if the camp was full, which it definitely was not, there would be a wait to use showers and sinks, and w.c.'s. To boot, the huge duststorm we had arrived in, also smelled of fire (later found that most farmers burn their fields, so fire smell was not unusual), and the whole atmosphere was unsettling. The storm had resulted in a layer of red dust on everything, including in the rooms, as A/C units had been turned off and windows opened to the flying dust. Table and chairs outside were on hardpacked earth, no landscaping or vegetation, now also layered with red dust, and we had to drag them inside due to the weather. Restaurant had a limited menu, with some things not offered after lunchtime. Walking paths were not well lit at night. Service was poor, information was limited. This camp was supposedly very popular, but it was in the poorest condition of the 5 or 6 camps that we either stayed in or stopped for lunch in during our week in the park. The hefty room fees and conservation fees, and general disposition of the staff made this a camp to leave quickly the next morning. Needs a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated or remodeled room, and on the viewing perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gust02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Basic huts but they are in the process of rebuilding and the new stuff looked good. Restaurant with meat fest type food but amazing views of river. In our first evening we saw leopard and white rhino from the deck and the next morning saw a mother leopard and cubs near the camp. Best place we stayed (out of three) in Kruger. Tip: good wildlife on the road from here to Skukusa.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished unit. Book early for best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The safari tents were incredible, many being situated right on the perimeter with views of hippos and other animals. We managed to get one at the last minute, and we're so happy we did! Our tent had a great front deck, grill/bbq, and ensuite bathroom.

We also rented a bungalow. It was air-conditioned and comfy, but nothing special.

The restaurant isn't bad, and we saw animals right off the deck.

Just get a tent. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We made a last-minute booking for the Lower Sabie Tented camps. It was absolutely wonderful! We had a tent overlooking the river and when we got there, got treated to the sight of a herd of elephants eating and drinking not 5 meters away! Just for the view alone we thought it was worth it! The tent itself is clean and well equipped, there are lamps on the inside and the kitchen on the porch work well. The shower had a good pressure and hot water, so that was quite the treat! The kitchens did come with cutlery, pots, plates, etc., so you don't have to worry if you forget your own. Dish-soap is not included though! We saw no insects nor rats/droppings so that was quite nice, but we had a few bats scuttle and hide in the tent flaps outside, so that was quite interesting to see! In the morning there was excellent birding (my guess is that they are used to people feeding them so they hop around waiting for food) so have your camera ready for gorgeous shots! MY TIPS: The area gets quite dark at night, so if you have small children, make sure they don't run off! Also, definitely bring your own food to this rest camp, as well as the whole park. The restaurants in the park leave much to be desired and for the money you spend there, you might as well go to PnP and buy your own steaks to grill and salad to make!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rented on of the perimeter hut in this camp. The fence is right on the river so it's mostly hippos and crocs about. I wish that more trimming was done around the fence for a better river view. The hut was of a good size with a large outdoor verandah equipped with cooking facilities.
The camp had nice amenities. Our morning walk with the rangers was outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Lower sabie restcamp is one of the best camps in Kruger. Very relaxing atmosphere and on the river with great views! One must book well in advance because the camp is always fully booked! The restaurant has the best view but the overall experience must get a facelift please, not very clean and customer service needs attention. Hope there is health inspectors to keep the standard up! Please also give attention to dripping taps. The baobab tree in the camp was a big surprise!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Trixi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
441 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#64 of 178 in Kruger National Park
136 reviews
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#36 of 178 in Kruger National Park
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 mi away
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
Tented Adventures Pretoriuskop
#57 of 178 in Kruger National Park
81 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 178 in Kruger National Park
73 reviews
90.6 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#73 of 178 in Kruger National Park
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $148 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing