We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jock Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$882
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$691
$670
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$2,120
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$1,887
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
545
52
10
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
52
10
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedplunge pooloutdoor showerour honeymoongame drivesthe riverdry river bedevening drivewild dogshis knowledgewake up callamazing experienceprivate concessionspot animalshigh teablack rhinowonderful memories
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 613 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic 3 day experience. Saw the big 5 and a cheetah as an added bonus. The lodge is very comfortable and welcoming, the service is great. The 5am wake up calls are worth it. Had a close encounter with a lion while out on a guided walk which was truly scary but exilerating. Apparently a very unusual experience but in retrospect an unforgetable one. I cant recommend Jock's highly enough. Jan our guide was informative and a great companion during our 3 days. We hadn't been to Kruger before but hard to see how this could be improved on.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank topdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

came back last week from a 5 day safari at the jock lodge.The staff were 5 star and the food was the 5 star the safari was great saw the big 5 in the first day our ranger jacob was 5 star he new so much wish i was still there not back in scotland in the rain hoe to you all very soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited Jock Safari Lodge 12 months ago as part of a tour of South Africa, those 6 days were so amazing we decided to revisit 12 months later to do just that small BUT exceptional portion of our 2012 holiday again. What we write here goes for both visits: stunning location, superb on-site service, lovely people, exceptional spa treatments, amazing food, 2 game drives a day plus walking safari on request = safari heaven. M&J

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MW_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at a separate and more secluded section known as Little Jock or Fitzpatrick in less than 5min drive away. This was our first experience in Kruger and Little Jock turned out wonderfully.

We had two of the three units in Little Jocks. They were spacious and one was bigger which suited families very well. Both units had large bathrooms and a pavilion overlooking a river (was told that it would only running during the rainy seasons in Oct/Nov). All three units share a small pool and the living (with a TV) and dining area in the main compound where we would eat or just chill out. The wines available were all quite good. Mobile phones reception was quite poor so we went to the main camp for that and for the internet.

The only little problem we had were bugs always trying to get into the units especially during nighttime so insects repellant would be very handy. I suppose that's also part of the experience of living in the wild.

We had a very experienced Ranger, Patrick, who did the Game drives and he managed to cover the Big 5 for us by our second day. He also made special effort to spot and found a chameleon for the children. During our time of visit, the morning and evening drives got quite windy and cold so extra clothing are advisable. Very nice snacks and all you can drink provided on the game drive. The rest of the staff at the camp including the three managers we met, Lilian, Molin and Naomi were all very good.

The Lodge is about 30mins drive from the Malelane gate which is another 1hr drive from Nelspruit Airport.

We spent 4 nights there and it was certainly very memorable. Different food were served every day including some specialties like the ostrich's carpaccio and the Boma (outdoor cooking). Apart from the two game drives a day and different animals activities all the time, chilling out at the lodge and watching groups of animals occasionally passing the river were quite spectacular too.

Highly recommend the Little Jock especially for families!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed last October. The setting is superb with views across a river area. The accommodation is very good indeed. Private cottage type rooms with plenty of space , own decking and plunge pools with views. The food was plentiful and very tasty.
The safari drives are nothing short of magical. Each vehicle is adapted to suit and will only seat a max of 6 so no daft over crowding. With guides like Meeka we had an amazing time. The staff are so into what they do its brilliant. The lodge is geared up for luxury with fantastic safari. Your guide will show and tell you about all kinds of animals. We viewed the big 5 many times over plus much much more. I would go back tomorrow.
Simply superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbylad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews