We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit equally as good as the 1st”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2nd visit equally as good as the 1st”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited Jock Safari Lodge 12 months ago as part of a tour of South Africa, those 6 days were so amazing we decided to revisit 12 months later to do just that small BUT exceptional portion of our 2012 holiday again. What we write here goes for both visits: stunning location, superb on-site service, lovely people, exceptional spa treatments, amazing food, 2 game drives a day plus walking safari on request = safari heaven. M&J

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    45
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
137
323
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at a separate and more secluded section known as Little Jock or Fitzpatrick in less than 5min drive away. This was our first experience in Kruger and Little Jock turned out wonderfully.

We had two of the three units in Little Jocks. They were spacious and one was bigger which suited families very well. Both units had large bathrooms and a pavilion overlooking a river (was told that it would only running during the rainy seasons in Oct/Nov). All three units share a small pool and the living (with a TV) and dining area in the main compound where we would eat or just chill out. The wines available were all quite good. Mobile phones reception was quite poor so we went to the main camp for that and for the internet.

The only little problem we had were bugs always trying to get into the units especially during nighttime so insects repellant would be very handy. I suppose that's also part of the experience of living in the wild.

We had a very experienced Ranger, Patrick, who did the Game drives and he managed to cover the Big 5 for us by our second day. He also made special effort to spot and found a chameleon for the children. During our time of visit, the morning and evening drives got quite windy and cold so extra clothing are advisable. Very nice snacks and all you can drink provided on the game drive. The rest of the staff at the camp including the three managers we met, Lilian, Molin and Naomi were all very good.

The Lodge is about 30mins drive from the Malelane gate which is another 1hr drive from Nelspruit Airport.

We spent 4 nights there and it was certainly very memorable. Different food were served every day including some specialties like the ostrich's carpaccio and the Boma (outdoor cooking). Apart from the two game drives a day and different animals activities all the time, chilling out at the lodge and watching groups of animals occasionally passing the river were quite spectacular too.

Highly recommend the Little Jock especially for families!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed last October. The setting is superb with views across a river area. The accommodation is very good indeed. Private cottage type rooms with plenty of space , own decking and plunge pools with views. The food was plentiful and very tasty.
The safari drives are nothing short of magical. Each vehicle is adapted to suit and will only seat a max of 6 so no daft over crowding. With guides like Meeka we had an amazing time. The staff are so into what they do its brilliant. The lodge is geared up for luxury with fantastic safari. Your guide will show and tell you about all kinds of animals. We viewed the big 5 many times over plus much much more. I would go back tomorrow.
Simply superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbylad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I (2 children - 20, 14 years) last week stayed for 3 nights at Jocks. It was our first visit to South Africa. We could not have been more delighted. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our guide, Patrick, and the staff. Be ready to eat delicious food, be amazed by the wild animals and take in the beauty of Kruger. Also be prepared to be quite weary! The early morning wake up call at 5am is all part of the experience. Thank-you so much to everyone for making such a memorable experience for all of us. We would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: All rooms look out to the river bed. For families, we had an interconnecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Jocks Safari Lodge as part of our Silver Wedding Anniversary on 18th and 19th September.It has left us with memories never to be forgotten from the friendliness of the staff and superb accommodation to the fantastic meals and superb game drives.It is difficult in a forum such as this to thank everyone but a special gratitude must be given to Rudi our Ranger who over 3 game drives found the big 5.The highlight was on our final game drive when we found a male leopard lazing in a tree with its paws and tail dangling over the branch.We would certainly recommend this lodge for anyone wishing for a tremendous safari experience in Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over for one night and felt like royalty . The lodge has a great setting super cool rooms with splash pool,great view and everything you need to make for a great visit to the bush.
The food is excellent and there is no way you can say no to the great meals and extra 2 kg to be found here!
The guides are great and all the staff make you feel so special
Thanks Jocks

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from our 3 night stay(we only booked 2, but decided for a 3rd because everything was so amazing up to that point). Everything you read from everyone else here is spot on so just to recap:

5 star lodge
5 star people
5 star management
5 star service
5 star food
5 star experience
5 star safaris
5 star rangers

The rooms are fantastic, the deck's overlooking the Byamiti bring an almost constant flow of various game throughout the day and the staff will ensure you want for nothing. The game drives are fantastic and the rangers are extremely knowledgable and do an excellent job educating you on the animals and the area. This is the only place I feel I have ever left and didn't have a single suggestion on what could be better. It's a place that quickly feels like home and will certainly leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmsmith1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
373 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 173 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 173 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
194.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#36 of 173 in Kruger National Park
243 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#13 of 173 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing