We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Jocks Safari Lodge as part of our Silver Wedding Anniversary on 18th and 19th September.It has left us with memories never to be forgotten from the friendliness of the staff and superb accommodation to the fantastic meals and superb game drives.It is difficult in a forum such as this to thank everyone but a special gratitude must be given to Rudi our Ranger who over 3 game drives found the big 5.The highlight was on our final game drive when we found a male leopard lazing in a tree with its paws and tail dangling over the branch.We would certainly recommend this lodge for anyone wishing for a tremendous safari experience in Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 583 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed over for one night and felt like royalty . The lodge has a great setting super cool rooms with splash pool,great view and everything you need to make for a great visit to the bush.
The food is excellent and there is no way you can say no to the great meals and extra 2 kg to be found here!
The guides are great and all the staff make you feel so special
Thanks Jocks

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from our 3 night stay(we only booked 2, but decided for a 3rd because everything was so amazing up to that point). Everything you read from everyone else here is spot on so just to recap:

5 star lodge
5 star people
5 star management
5 star service
5 star food
5 star experience
5 star safaris
5 star rangers

The rooms are fantastic, the deck's overlooking the Byamiti bring an almost constant flow of various game throughout the day and the staff will ensure you want for nothing. The game drives are fantastic and the rangers are extremely knowledgable and do an excellent job educating you on the animals and the area. This is the only place I feel I have ever left and didn't have a single suggestion on what could be better. It's a place that quickly feels like home and will certainly leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmsmith1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our 3rd visit to Southern Africa, 2nd to Kruger, and 1st to Jock Safari Lodge was our best Southern Africa experience yet. Best not because the animal sightings were fantastic (which they were), but because of the people, facilities, and food. The lodge is about 12 years old now, and the age shows a bit in places, but this is more than made up for by the incredibly friendly staff, customer service, and excellent food. Louis Strauss, the General Manager, has done an outstanding job. Our guide was the best we have had on over 15 safaris in Southern Africa, and the animal sightings were unparalleled. This was the first time we had seen the Big 5 all within one day's time frame! Incredible. We spent only 2 nights, which was not nearly enough, as we were not able to fully take advantage of what the lodge has to offer. We will definitely be back. Though Jock is expensive, you can still spend more money in Kruger, but, honestly, I don't know how the experience could be any better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Jock Lodge main camp for five nights in August, our first experience of a safari and the title says it all. From the outset the staff were very welcoming and friendly and as the game drives were just leaving as we arrived, we were given the option of going straight out with them or being able to unpack and settle into our room. We decided on the latter and high tea was delivered to our lodge within 15 minutes. At dinner we were introduced to our Ranger for the duration of our stay, Jacob. We were later to discover that Jacob had bionic eyesight and could see the slightest animal, even if it was on the horizon and in the dark and had all the knowledge and facts about all the animals and birds we were fortunate enough to see. We saw the big 5 on our very first game drive and loads more besides. Jacob made our game drives fun and informative and he is a true ambassador not only for Jock Lodge, but also for Kruger National Park. We also went on three walking safaris with Rangers Jacob, Tom Cruise lookalike Yan and on one occasion Pete. On each occasion they were really informative and very professional and kept us all safe when we almost bumped into five Rhinos. The other member of staff who really stood out was Attie, the chef. We can honestly say that the food was amongst the best we've ever eaten and was consistently excellent. The lodges were lovely and the outside showers were great, even at 5.00 am in the dark! We were very sad to leave and can't recommend Jock Lodge more highly. An amazing trip and one to repeat as soon as possible.
Hints and tips - take some warm clothing as early morning game drives can be chilly. Take a good camera and plenty of memory cards, we took 2000 photographs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. The staff, Mumsie in reception in particular made my son of 11 years feel like a complete VIP. the loving touch of a Safari Pack gift on his bed was much appreciated. Accommodation is outstanding, so private and awesomely relaxing with your own private day bed overlooking the river bed, where a number of animals came wandering through. The food was excellent, best oxtail I have had in ages. Spoilt for choice. Game viewing superb, Jacob took excellent care of us and tried his best to ensure we saw as much as possible. Can highly recommend this lodge to Families, Couples, Groups. Ideal honeymoon destination due to the privacy of the suites and special little touches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in January '13 and could not wait to return in July! Located on a concession inside Kruger National Park. Wonderful staff, always friendly and professional. The Head Chef, Artie, took time to accommodate my special dietary needs and I ate the best meals ever! Louie, the Manager takes a hands on approach and runs a high class operation.
And then there are the safaris led by Guides who have an unbelievable ability to spot animals as small as chameleons at night. Saw the Big Five and then some! I couldn't recommend more!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Txngrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
401 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#46 of 175 in Kruger National Park
172 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 175 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
42.7 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#52 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
16.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $978 - $1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing