We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the smaller, 3 unit lodge, with Ranger Pete, wife in charge Naomi, and wonderful staff. The experience could not have been better. The room was spacious, with a private deck overlooking the river where all sorts of wildlife came and went. There is a small shared pool and deck area, but we were too busy to use them. Ranger Pete was incredibly interesting, knowledgeable and so interested in showing us everything! The food was fabulous, and the experience beyond belief!

Room Tip: The smaller lodge where we stayed (3 units only) was super. The large lodge had a pool, spa and stor...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Jock Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 572 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful place and went on 6 game drives, our ranger Lazarius was brilliant, always had a big smile on his face, he is full of knowledge and he made our first African Safari a very memorable experience. Can only praise all members of staff for their attentiveness, a special mention to Atti the chef he was first class, the food was exceptional. It was a true rustic experience, as in the "usat4" review it wouldn't work if it was all "shiny and plastic" Would have no hesitation in recommending Jocks Safari Lodge :-)

Aileen & Steve - Dundee Scotland

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we stayed there 2 nights and went for 4 games drives. Our ranger Lazarius was just incredible, could tell there was a camaleon 20 meters away, as we were driving by night, or could tell we would see lions or a leopard and we did... We saw the Big Five within 24 hours, and so many other animals ... The logde is very pleasant, calm, wild and comfortable. The staff is always full of attention and makes everything to make you feel good. According to what our friends say (and they are used to safaris), it's one of the best place they've ever been, especially for the amount of animals you see. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manulib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just arrived we were received by the chef that prepared an amazing Ylat dish. He was very attentive and tried to gives an great gastronomic experience. The staff was great and very friendly. Room was fantastic, wonderfull view to the river and the bush. From our bed we saw impalas, baboons and we learned that the previous guest saw one lion from there. Our ranger Dave K was very nice. Due to the rain we cound not go off the tar road, but even though hewas able to show lions, rhinos, elephants, girafes, zebras, buffalos and much more. Good thing about being inside Kruger is the very good access and the night drives. Lowlight is the offroad limitation.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank EdueAna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've just read carls achs, Peter_Eliane and Dave_in_Oakville's review. We stayed in Main Jock for 3 nights (which meant 6 Drives, make sure you time your flights to get the first evening and last morning one) - I agree with the first 2 but as we were not in little Jock I cannot perfectly compare. Our room (Crocodile River) and Deck area and plunge pool (chilly!) were immaculate, towels kept vanishing and being replaced, we had robes and all the usual frills (they even replaced the tealights I had lit in the bath one day!) and the "Jock" story sheet on the turn down each night was a lovely touch. Food was absolutely excellent, well discussed with our Chef Atti and the wine list was good. Staff (especially Apollo) had great memories for what we liked! Little touches like juice (morning) or sherry (evening) as you got out of the cruiser were lovely! Could I also commend the lovely lady in the Shop ? I wanted a small notebook and she did not have one - next day she produced one from the Storeroom which had been damaged but was exactly what I needed, no charge. That is service! However the reason you go to Jock is for the bugs, beasts and birds. Dave comes into his own here - a fount of knowledge and wierd and even bizarre facts (and he is a Botanist too!) and I echo the Dung Beetle and Spider gems! Jock is a very special place and I would hate for it to be all shiny and plasticy - it is rustic, rural and real, we will go back (and maybe get our Cheetah not just tracks!) Please go it is very special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at Little Jock for 3 nights with my family (incl 4 kids). The accommodation is excellent, game rangers are very knowledgable, accommodating, genuine blokes and generally good attentive service. I've also stayed at top shelf resorts like Mala Mala, and this iis far better value for money.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived on 18 January for a 3 night stay.
This is an excellent safari lodge with a traditional African feel, and as there are only 12 suites you feel as it you are a guest at a private house party.

The staff are wonderful and make you feel at home. Foods is first class.

Highly recommended and we hope to return.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Peter_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 175 in Kruger National Park
421 reviews
64.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#66 of 175 in Kruger National Park
353 reviews
194.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#28 of 175 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $1,012 - $1,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing