We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bush experience”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real bush experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As a family we stayed at this lodge and were treated like royalty. The lodge itself is situated on the banks of two rivers and as we visited during the dry season ( winter) both were without water which made game viewing more spectacular and the animals easier to view. We stayed in two rooms as children cannot be accommodated in their parent's room. The rooms are beautiful, each with their own plunge pools, napping/viewing decks suspended over the river and mosquito-netted beds. The staff are very attentive and we were even taken on a hike to spot a pride of lions that were tracked to a river bank. The game viewing in the area is excellent and we managed to see the Big 5 during our two day stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladdict0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    45
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
137
323
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is very hard to put into words the amazing experience that is Jock Safari. We were there for three nights. We went on six game drives, We saw all of the big five and some pretty rare creatures. A honey badger and black rhino to name a couple. Our driver guide was the most lovely man and very knowledgable. A felt very safe even though I had an eyeball to eyeball experience with a large male lion at very close quarters. I could spend the next week telling the whole tale as so much happened in such a short time. Up at 4 am for the first game drive of the day. Plenty of time to lounge about on your own personal sala with its plunge pool, outside shower, massive fouton looking out to the bush. Food - amazing just too much to choose from. As much wine etc as you like.Lovely afternoon tea before going off on the evening game drive. Allowed to leave the open vehicle in selected spots (coffee and cake in the morning, sundowners in the bush at night.) A chance to go on a foot safari - a different experience again. This lodge is very rustic and blends in with the bush. I loved it, loved it, loved it. We are definitely putting this on a must do it again list. This is a very safe lodge. Some are more in amonst it and you have to be escorted by a gun toting ranger. This was more relaxing than that as the lodge is surrounded by an electrified fence to keep the animals in the bush and not in with the tourists.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. No need to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Jock is a beautifull place inside the Kruger 30 km from Malelane. The chalets are nicely set by the river among the trees, eahc of them with privacy, outdoor showers to enjoy the stars, comfy napping areas... Food is good, staff super friendly. The best though is the drives that will take you morning and afternoon out in the concession or in the main area of the Park. Our guide was excellent with a real passion for the bush to transmit. I've been to the parks for more than 15 years now and Jock was one of my best experience. Go there and enjoy

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ghislain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect. The Lodge was amazing, it has a great location overlooking two rivers. We saw all 5 of the big 5 and so much more within our first 24 hours.
Our guide, Lyle, was great. He was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. All of the staff at the Lodge were first class and couldn't do enough for us, including organising a surprise for my wife and I when we got back from an evening drive.
We stayed in some great places during our honeymoon but Jock was by far the best experience of all. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Jock Safari Lodge lived up to its reputation. The whole staff were falling over themselves to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Patrick our ranger, a local guy who comes from a village about 80km away, was our personal minder and drove the two of us around in the four wheel drive whenever we wanted. We hired a car in Pretoria and drove to Jocks. It was about a 5 hour drive, the last 45 minutes through the Kruger Park. It was sealed road until 3km before Jocks – the last side road to the lodge was a gravel road.

On arrival at the lodge we were introduced to Patrick and shown to our “hut” complete with its own plunge pool, day bed on a private deck looking out to the wilderness, outdoor shower (and indoor of course) and all other mod cons. We dropped our bags then headed over to the restaurant area which is set overlooking a panoramic deck with view to the adjacent river bed and bush, and built up against a 400 year old jackelberry tree, with a huge canopy providing shade while also serving as the support for the staircase to the upper level bar.
After a rushed “high tea” and a quick introduction to “Archie” the head chef (who took our order for dinner) it was straight off on a 2 hour trip around the park, starting with a leopard sighting just outside the lodge boundary. The leopard was draped over a limb about 4 metres up in the air on the other side of the river bed. We followed a couple of other Landcruisers out there to get a better view, passing a couple of grazing elephants on the way. After about 20 minutes the leopard obliged our curiosity by sitting up, and then climbing down from the tree and walking down to the dry river bed. A lazy stroll along the river bed was then followed by a close encounter as the leopard walked between the Landcruisers and disappeared into the long grass.

Patrick then drove us off on our own where we passed a couple of rhinos and then out of the river bed and into the bush. What followed was a series of animal spotting - elephants, zebras, wildebeests, impala and more as the day drew to a close and we stopped for the obligatory “sundowner” at the front of the truck as the elephants grazed nearby and the light faded. Once the light had gone the temperature dropped quickly so we donned our woollen hats, scarves, coasts and gloves and wrapped up in the blankets that were stored ready in the truck. Then it was off for some spotlighting along the local roads picking up on the eyes glinting back at us out of the bush. It was amazing how Patrick picked up the animals in the dark. He even found a chameleon that was perched in a bush next to the road. How he spotted it we’ll never know. We returned to the lodge for a quick clean up in our “hut.

We had a late dinner cooked by head chef Archie and his team. A great meal by candlelight with some great wine, which we unfortunately, but wisely, left unfinished as we had to rise at 6 the next morning for the next drive.
The phone rang at 6 and Patrick cheerfully advised us it was time to head to the restaurant for coffee and muffins. The sun rose as we headed off, wrapped up in our winter woollies again to ward off the morning chill. The animals were out and about again – zebras, buffaloes, wildebeests, hyenas, impalas – going about their business. Patrick found the chameleon for the night before and we marvelled at his camouflage colouring that matched the bush perfectly.

The rangers are all connected by CB radio to each other and tell each other of sightings. One of them told us he’d found a lion just next to the road so we headed over there. Sure enough the lion was about 5 metres from the road in some long grass. He lay there for a while and then moved slightly and gazed at us before reclining again. Patrick told us that they sleep 18-20 hours per day so it’s pretty rare to see them walking around.

We returned at about 10am for brunch which was spread out on the deck overlooking the pool and the bush. Once again Archie and his team had done a great job.
Patrick asked us whether we would like to go for a “long drive” and take a packed lunch with us instead of having lunch at the lodge. This would allow us to get close to the Mozambique border and see the herds of hippos on the river there. Given that we were willing to forgo lunch altogether this was clearly a good idea. By 12:30 we were on the road again heading out into the bush. The lion was still there as we passed, with only one paw sticking up above the top of the grass for us to see. A few other vehicles had gathered to see him but he didn’t stand up again while we were there.
We headed off again and passed herds of elephants, some giraffes, zebras, kudus, monkeys and finally reached the river where the hippos were wallowing in the waters and lazing on the muddy banks. About 20 hippos were at one spot we stopped at. About 40 elephants were grazing nearby. This is animal spotting on a grand scale!. We drove on to a lagoon where crocodiles lay on the bank while monkey played in the trees above. Spotting a cluster of cars further up the road we headed up there to be told that a leopard had just attacked a wildebeest in the middle of the road just 5 minutes before and dragged it off towards the river. The show was over but those who’d seen it were clearly still stunned by the natural spectacle.

After a quick sandwich we headed back up the road towards the lodge and as the sun went down passed more elephants, rhinos, giraffes, kudus and impalas. We saw a couple of baby hyenas on the road ahead and when we stopped saw that they were with their mother, who lay just outside the culvert pipe they were using for shelter. We watched as the babies drank from their mother, who was clearly exhausted from having the three of them to look after.
We headed back to the lodge, but were brought to a standstill by a herd of rhinos who had gathered on a ford, blocking the only way back. One other truck was already there and the two rangers exchange ideas on what to do. They agreed that we’d just have to wait until the rhinos departed. We couldn’t force them out of the way. That would be dangerous for us and would stress them, causing them potential injury. As we watched, and the light faded, two male rhinos tackled each other and Patrick explained some of the finer points of rhino etiquette. Finally they headed to one side and we could drive past, keeping a wary eye on the two males as we passed. With the light all gone by this stage it was out with teh spotlight again and Patrick was busy pointing our various animals along the side of the road. As we were approaching the lodge he noticed something slinking across the track ahead. It looked to me like another hyena but Patrick was clearly excited. Sure enough as we got closer he illuminated another leopard. He quickly radioed the other ranger who was following us so that he could join us. Leopard sightings are fairly rare, so they try to let everyone know when one is about. And this one was also only a few hundred metres from the lodge. Not without reason did they warn us to stay inside the electrified fence when we weren’t with our ranger! We followed the leopard as he headed towards the lodge, his tail twitching as he went. Finally he disappeared into the bush and it was back to the lodge for a hot shower and get ready for our dinner.

The next morning we were up at 6 again and did without the muffins so that we could head straight out for our early morning wildlife spotting. As a result, we were the first ones out and were glad we were as after passing a few elephants we spotted a couple of lion cubs on the road ahead. They’d been warming themselves on the tarmac but when we approached they scampered into the bush and when we stopped to look where they’d gone we saw them plus a third cub, with their mother, only about 5 metres from the road.

Patrick radioed the other rangers and a couple more vehicles joined us. Unfortunately so did a couple in a private car with a sun roof. The driver stood up with his upper body sticking out of the sun roof. This is very dangerous and therefore forbidden by park rules and Patrick asked him to get back in his car but he ignored him. The lioness was clearly surprised by this creature protruding from the car and started to growl. Patrick said that as long as people stay within their cars the animals consider them to be not viable game. However if part of a person protrudes they are fair game and can be attacked. If she wanted she could have been on him in a second – two strides – and he’d be lion’s breakfast. Luckily for him she can’t have been hungry - she headed off the other way with the cubs in tow and disappeared into the bush, much to the consternation of the rangers and the rest of us. The guilty party got back into his seat, smiling widely and drove away. The rangers took down his license plate and reported him to the park officials.

We headed down to the river bed and drove along there for an hour or so spotting the occasional zebra and kudu and then headed back to the lodge for brunch. Patrick joined us for brunch has he had most other meals and told us a bit more about the park and his 12 years at the lodge. He has a small boy and lives about 80km away. The lodge has a 30 days on / 10 days off roster, when he can go home to his village. He’s saving up for a car so that he can get there more often and more easily.

After brunch we packed up and got ready to leave. It had been a busy couple of nights and we were looking forward to a rest at a more conventional hotel in Joburg. Louis the lodge manager checked to see that everything had been all right. We were asked to fill in a questionnaire about our stay. When we thought about what they could do to make it a better experience we were stuck. The accommodation was second to none without being over the top, the food was imaginative and varied, the wines were great, the animal spotting was much better than we’d ever imagined, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the lodge was extremely well kept, and there seemed to be a great feeling of camaraderie amongst all the staff. In the end we noted “the most important thing is that you don’t change a thing”. We want it to be the same next time we come.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Firstfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 4 nights.

This is the most friendly, and customer orientated place I have ever stayed. The staff including the rangers were absolutely superb, with first class customer service.
The lodges were first class. Extremely luxurious with everything you need. The food and drink was delicious. My Wife had a spa treatment and said it was excellent value for money.

We were very lucky to see lots of wildlife, but I think even if we hadn't seen any game, then we would still have siad it was the best place we have ever stayed.

I would recommend this lodge to everyone. Louis Strauss and his team with noteable staff such as mumsie and Dumi make it a first class experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTBvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I visited Jock for 3 nights as a treat to ourselves and what a treat it was! Awesome hospitality and great value for money. Jock is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
194.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#37 of 171 in Kruger National Park
243 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#12 of 171 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing