We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
315
659
387
74
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
315
659
387
74
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cattle baron riverside bungalow rest camp the river lower sabie take away great rest gas station self catering game viewing guest house outdoor kitchen self drive paul kruger gate vervet monkeys sunset drive wild dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kruger is the best game reserve in the world. The game viewing is fantastic. What has become disgusting though is the level of incompetence among their local staff and the lack of service provision that these imbaciles are offering. Bookings are misplaced and misaligned. Staff at skukuza reception was particularly sticking out with their incompetence glaringly being exhibited. Make sure that the booking you are making is confirmed and the location explained otherwise you could get a surprise when you get to the camp imbaciles. Skukuza has so much going for it but nothing is explained or advertised as far as occurrences or happenings are concerned. Nb overseas visitors. The camp imbaciles still do not understand the magnitude of overseas tourist importance to Kruger and SA. No two prong electrical plugs...
Come on let's get going into the twenty first century..... And Kruger staff... You are lucky there is job reservation otherwise most of you guys will be out... Tourist going to Kruger exercise your rights and fight this public scourge of incompetence. You don't have t accept it

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank ulrich s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We liked this rest camp the most, because of the Cattle Baron (restaurant) witch was the best restaurant of South Africa, in our opinion. The bird hide close to this rest camp is a recommendation worth as well. Our place at Skukuza restcamp was pretty big. Everything was clean. We did a night drive at Skukuza and we saw elephants, a rhino, two times hyenas and a bush baby. Not bad, in two hours.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BjornvanOsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We stayed at Skukuza for 2 nights - we booked the Wild Fig Guest House as it was the only available property when we booked to fit 4 of us. It is huge and quite run down. We had not realised that the kitchen/lounge area was in a totally separate building to the 2 bedrooms blocks - we stayed in one 3 bedroom block with 2 bathrooms and didn't use the rest.
On our last night, there was a lot of noise which sounded like a party in the staff quarters until well after midnight.
The restaurant is good and the shop well stocked. Central location for start/end of holiday.
We did a night drive on our second night which was ok but not as good as our sunset drive at Satara.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynseydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

We stayed with a big family group and booked a house and two bungalows as soon as the dates were available. Only one bungalow was not close to the house, even though we had been told otherwise. The keys to the rooms of the house were missing for the whole stay with reception saying other guests had them. This meant that the rooms were left unlocked for the whole stay. Also, one the bungalows had no water pressure (just a trickle), so guests had to shower elsewhere, told reception and nothing was rectified.

The restaurant was great and the staff there were friendly and helpful

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We stopped here for coffee at the Cattle Barons Restaurant after an early morning game drive. The coffee was super-hot and great tasting, and we enjoyed thawing out at a sunny table. Beware the baboons, though.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ursosarctos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews