We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveler rating
266
595
350
61
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
595
350
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riverpost officeoutlook safarislower sabiegas stationself cateringmain restaurantgreat restgame drivesguest houseoutdoor kitchenpaul kruger gateself drivesouthern part
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We had a two bedroom lodge. It was larger than the 2 seperate rooms we had at Olifants camp. The rooms were large, air conditioned bedrooms each with shower and bath. Furnishings and decor, simple and 1970's style - but exactly what you want in the African bush. The lack of TV just helps you feel away from it all.

You can have a braai (BBQ) in your own little area, using firewood. Otherwise, simple kitchen, fully equipped with all utensils.

The dinner in the large restaurant was simple enough food, but fine. No awards for gastronomy, but again, just what you need when on safari.

Location is an easy 15 minutes away from the Paul Kruger gate entrance to the park.
Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank expectantcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at Skukuza Restcamp and had an amazing 7 night stay. The staff were fantastic, the safaries were very good, especially the night safari, and we got to ee the big five! The price charged for our stay was ridicuously inexpensive for the experience. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GetAroundGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights (about $120.00 US /night) in a deluxe thatched rondel with our porch facing the river-side perimeter of the camp. We reserved these accomodations a full eleven months prior to arriving at Kruger Park. We flew into Johannesburg, rented a car, spent a night in Pretoria and another at Pilgrim's Rest in the Kleine Drakensberg Mountains prior to arriving here. This is the biggest (and possibly best) public safari camp in the park with several large swimming pools, two restaurants (one was under renovation), a small medical clinic, car wash, gas station, the park headquarters, a bank, several large camp grounds, etc. Located adjacent to the Sabie River, closest camp to the main park entrance, we saw numerous hippo, crocs, giraffe, baboons, monkeys, and many birds from the restaurant patio. This is a long-time established camp with mature trees and watered lawns which make for a very pleasant environment. The large gift shop is the best in the park and a visit is recommended. These eight nights we spent at Kruger was the main reason we came to South Africa on a three-week vacation. We easily saw the 'Big Five' plus many, many other famous African 'zoo' animals. We took the night game drive for about $12.00 US per person and saw as a highlight of the drive a pride of six lions saunter past our parked safari truck. You will like it here..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Would recommend we stayed at three seperate locations and this area was fantastic for seeing Lions, would recommend the night drive. Comfortable and affordable will go again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiescotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Unexpectedly upmarket experience in this monster rest camp. Rooms are very pleasant with some nice modern touches like the window blinds and cushions on the bed. Our room did not overlook the river but was only a minute's walk away. Ate one night in the buffet restaurant which felt a bit too brightly lit and a bit devoid of atmosphere - probably because there were so few guests! Food is not stunning - apart from the soup. However, as veggies, we were able to eat more than our fill albeit on the side dishes that were meant to go with the meat. Second night ate in the a la carte restaurant which is in the restored station and is extremely atmospheric. Veggie mains included a very good thai curry, a bit of a weird fried food concoction (veggie delight apparently) and a stir fry. Still very casual but recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews