We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSA guesthouse. Second stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“ABSA guesthouse. Second stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

So we returned to the ABSA guesthouse in Skukuza. This grand old lady can sleep 12 people, has 4 bathrooms and a central lounge and sitting area with multiple braai locations. We have stayed here before and at some ZAR 3000 per night for the four of us it is not a bad deal in this magnificent wild park.

The facilities were clean, cleaner than before, although the entire site is very tired. It needs a thorough make over which I am sure will not happen in the next couple of years. People will come and visit and stay in Kruger just for its size, and diversity. We had quite a bit of rain and the water streamed through the thatched roof into the kitchen on two evenings. Our bed rooms were perfectly dry and in order, but this is not really something that you should experience.

We love Kruger, and saw the big five (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant, and rhino) as well as cheetah, hyena, hippo, and much more. The birding was again just wonderful with a couple of "lifers", although we did not manage to see the Madagascar Cuckoo that had been a round a couple of days before.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ABSA guesthouse , as Waterkant 1 and 2 had been booked. Would recommend to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    439
    280
    53
    25
See reviews for
242
432
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been to Skukuza a number of times since 1966. Last time was in 1991. To my delight, the camp is in an excellent state of repair. Hut was clean and safe. Curioshop very good with a variety of products and good clothing on sale. Supermarket section had a great selection of food, wine and biltong! Stevenson Hamilton Museum sadly under renovation so we could not see the Wolhuter lionskin. Restaurants are average at best. Selati is unique for being on a former railway platform and one can have a drink in an old rail carriage. Food was good. The walk along the river and view from the camp to a variety of wildlife is a special as ever. Overall, the KNP experience is unforgettable, especially with a 9 year old in tow - excitement at every turn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed in #317 tent on Nov 16th night. It's a very basic tent. it has two single beds, BBQ set outside. Towels are clean, only soap no shampoo. Sheets are not so clean. There is some strange stuff on the ceiling which looked like bug eggs. But it didn't bother much because they are still. The tents have windows, simply stick to the tent, make sure you are comfortable sleeping with your head next to the windows that someone can open. Very safe place so probably no problem. The tents are signed as "Tents", so don't look for your numbers. This took me a while to find my unit. Shower is amazing. It's clean, warm, and even had a bath tub, useful if you have a baby to clean.
The shop open 7am - 7pm. game drive in morning was at 4:30am ish, a little too early for me.
You NEED good Lens, some animals are in distance. Without a good device, you will miss the chance.
Internet was out the day I stayed there. There is no international power converter in this camp either.
Sunset game drive was awesome. We saw so much animals.
Rumor says elephant in this park will chase cars. If you drive yourself, be sure to read somethings on this topic. There are full of elephants from this camp to lower sable along the river, I was concerned but they didn't run after me.
At any time, you are NOT allowed to get out of your car.

Room Tip: good camera for taking shots from distance, check south africa's power outlet, it's a unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemoncc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The rondel I stayed in could fit three, had good facilities, was very clean, well fitted kitchenette and all round comfortable little place to stay. We had breakfast in the restaurant but cooked bbq on the cookers provided and it was excellent. You can get everything you need at the camp shop and it was much more fun than the restaurant. Had great couple of nights on the way through Kruger. There was a lot of wildlife around the place too - saw great birds, elephants went by across the river, crocs, heard the hyenas at night and little bush babies running around the trees as we cooked.

Room Tip: I think it really is a case of you get what you pay for. And book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The skukusa park is very nice and the people are very friendly. I was suprised to see that the shops had so mutch to offer in terms of food and gifts.

No words to discribe the restaurants. The nicest people and wounderful food. Simply lovely.

The park and the bungalows... Please take a light because if you stay on the street of bungalow 141 there is not a single light, not even a presence light. The bungalow 141 is very old. The wardrobe was made out of compressed wood painted. The fridge in the room takes out a lot of space (is this the only bungalow with the figde on the room?). The carpet is old and has stains. The cealing is full of spider webs. The bathroom needs renovation.

Not a keeper. Bungalow 141 seems to be the worst (very crappy).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cristinaperestrelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

To visit Kruger is always a great experience and we enjoyed our stay. I came with an business partner for three nights to Skukuza, the other camps were sold out. It was clean and quite and we saw a lot of game.
The Resturant is in a terrible stage. The food terrible, the steaks are tough, not nicely presented.
Staff tries hard, but shame. We had the chicken, that was eatable.
The best is you bring your own stuff and prepare!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

When booking our accommodation for Kruger I quickly found out that a lot of the camps that I opted for were already sold out so that we had to stay at Skukuza for our first night. Since the camp had the reputation for being noisy, overcrowded and without any safari feeling, I was not too enthusiastic, but we were pleasantly surprised by the camp!

First: Check in/out was fast and efficient. I am impressed by the high professionalism as all overnight guests are put into a system when entering the park, so that when you check in at any rest camp they immediately know where you are coming from, where your next night will be spent, if you already paid the conservation fee, if you need an exit permit and so on. Great service!

Second: The atmosphere was a lot more “safari” than we thought. We had a great semi luxury bungalow right at the river front; this gave the impression of being on your own in the bush, no other bungalows in sight when sitting on the veranda. The bungalow was reasonably clean and nicely equipped (huge bed, glasses, bathroom amenities, TV).

Third: We had the best dinner in Skukuza while in Kruger, definitely try the Selati Grill!

If we go back to Kruger for another safari, I would always choose Skukuza again for at least one night (just to have the Amarula Crème Brulee again!).

Room Tip: Choose a Semi Luxury Bungalow. Being first row to the river seems to make all the difference in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
31.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
179.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
13.6 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Property: Skukuza Rest Camp
Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing