We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely place, the sounds of the wild to go to bed to is just awesome
views stunning across the river, sounds of hippos at night, deer eat out your hand of you sit still enough, may see elephants the other side of the river and if next to what looks like an old rainway bridge you can see the monkeys run across. If fridge outside make sure you put something against it as the monkeys can open it and steal your food but thats half the fun of it all.

Room Tip: was room only but the poikji pot or cauldren are wonderful fun to use.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Skukuza Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Writing purely from a perspective of rating the camp facilities only (the Kruger bush everywhere is a great!), I strongly urge you all to consider your stay at Skukuza. The camp is big and overcrowded. This results in staff treating you...like overcrowded. Upon arrival they really do not go the extra mile to even smile. The bungalow facilities (for supposedly one of the "most popular camps") are really crappy. In a 3-bed unit you have ONE electrical socket which is occupied by the air conditioner....so you can choose to either charge your camera battery (and die of heat exhaustion) or have a comfy environment. The staff takes FOREVER to clean your room, so coming back from a game drive, hold thumbs that your bed is made. Kitchenette not equipped with a secure fridge door (to keep monkeys out) nor does it have a microwave or toaster (like other camps). They do have luxury suits available at a high price, which I would rather recommend....Skukuza is bad value for money and they need to up their costomer service!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank FrancoisedP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the largest camp of the Kruger National Park and located fairly close to the Paul Kruger entrance. The registration process was efficient, the assistant a bit of impatient, quite mechanical and did permit too many questions. We were assigned a standard bungalow which was just OK and a bit of an improvement compared to the same type of bungalow assigned at the Satara Camp.
The furnishing was made up of 2 small single beds with barely adequate linen, pillows and towels. A few other pieces of furniture completed the spartan surroundings. The bathroom was very basic, but we really did not expect much more. A small refrigerator, hot plate and basic kitchen utensils were provided in an outside small porch which counted with a small table and 2 chairs.
The A/C was very noisy and we had to shut it off even though it was uncomfortably warm.
The camp is crowded, huge, has a fairly reasonable restaurant with a good view and very good service; also a well supplied store with all the tourist trappings, food, refreshments and just about everything that you might need for a short or long stay. There are also a couple of fast food snack bars and a brai restaurant. All kinds of services are provided, including guided game tours which have to be booked ahead of time.
We came to see animals and to do so, you have to wake up early to find out that everybody, of course, does the same thing and typically find yourself behind a fairly long line of vehicles which stop to observe whatever animals are sighted. We saw a rhino, elephants, buffaloes, hippos, giraffes, zebras and many impalas. We did not see any lions, cheetah or leopards.
In summary, a huge crowed camp with all the services required but which lacks the appeal and graciousness it had many years ago. When we asked for a bit of guidance, we were told to purchase the guide books at the store. The camp is now simply too commercial and unfortunately has seen better days.

Room Tip: Try to go during off seasons; maybe it will be less crowded.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kh445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Same kind of bungalows as Satara, but cramped in and without open spaces. Staff went through the motions but without soul (of customer service). As with the other reviewer, the staff did not warn about the baboons. They did get into our fridge and stole sliced bread, a slab of butter (salted), some tasteless local cheddar cheese and some coffee cream capsules. They left the orange juice, the milk, and the block of cadbury's mint chocolate (which would have been a real loss). For Brits, the old steam engine (imported from Scotland) displayed in Skukuza station (now the restaurant) is worth seeing, if only for all the copper and brass plumbing. Restaurant was better than at Satara. Think Satara is better, also for seeing animals (other than baboons)

Room Tip: Don't really have one. The camp is quite large and lots of people are camping
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was the biggest and busiest camp that we stayed at in Kruger. However it didn’t lack charm. We had a couple of warthogs out in our lawn all afternoon, and the train station-themed restaurant was a unique dining experience. The setting of the camp and our unit was right on the riverfront – we could see and hear hippos frolicking in the water below. We had a nice big yard with an outdoor braai and eating area.

We had a very large hut of very strange design. The 2 bedrooms were interconnected via a long hallway that housed the toilet, bath, and shower. The eating area was in a separate room only accessed from outside, as was the kitchen. There was no living area. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything that you’d need for a short stay and the onsite shop is extensive and well-stocked. The bedrooms were huge and nicely decorated to an African theme, however they lacked good lighting at night – very dark. They were clean, well-maintained, and we had a very relaxing stay and restful sleep.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in the luxury bungalow with views to the river. Kitchenette was adequate will all basic utensils needed to enjoy any meal cooked. The bungalow was clean had a tv remote control missing, either way, few channels were available.Bungalow was cleaned everyday, fresh towels provided everyday...Bungalows could be updated but it didn't make that much of a difference you're never there...They were fine and comfortable...
This rest camp has several restaurants, pricing was average, I didn't think it was expensive..
There's a post office, a Dr on site and a big souvenir shop...The sunset and sunrise walk staff was great! Funny! Guide's name was pilot and Carol was his partner. Wonderful funny guys that were highly informative...
I was weary because of reviews I read before I left but I was pleasantly surprised.... My time at Kruger Park was unforgettable! If you follow the park rules you will be fine! Never felt unsafe about anything the entire 4 days in Kruger..

Room Tip: Bungalow near river are the best
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leyda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I concur with all that reviewer Tal27 has to say. We have been visiting the KNP frequently since 1969 when we lived in Jo'burg and less frequently after moving back to the UK in 1977. This trip my wife and I were accompanied by my daughter (born in RSA), her husband, 14 year granddaughter who had visited as 2 year old and my grandson who was a "KNP Virgin". We stayed for 4 nights in the Nyathi Guesthouse, which is a substantial complex of 4 bedrooms/bathrooms in a separate building to the lounge kitchen that overlooks the Sabie River and has its own private garden and braai area. Excellent location.

Like Tal27 we bought our supplies in PickandPay in Hazyview although the wine and beer in the Park is a comparable price but the meat for the braai is much cheaper in P&P (4 x ½-inch T-bones for ZAR74 in P &P v ZAR62 for 2 similar T-bones in Skukuza.

One night we ate in the Selati restaurant, a poor choice!. The food was indifferently served and of mediocre quality which is a pity given the historical setting in the station. The menu did not reflect any of the natural wild produce that could come from the parks unlike it was several years ago when water buffalo, impala and ostrich were on the restaurant menus.

The overall impression is that the quality of the maintenance of the accommodation is gradually deteriorating. My son-in-law, who is a builder, sent 2 hours showing 2 local maintenance men how to hang a door correctly that was not fitting correctly, installing locks and correct door bolts(he was even offered a job by the supervisor who came to see what his men were doing)

The swimming pool on the camp was not good, green algae and leaves were in the water. Looked poorly maintained

The game viewing as usual was first class.

If you want the riverside accommodation you must book early as the tour companies snap them up when the are released.

Room Tip: Book early as soon as the room are released
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
464 reviews
20.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing