We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go there for the wildlife, not the accommodation”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kruger never really dissapoints - mainly because you go there for the wildlife and not the comfort of the accommodation! Skukuza is not my favourite camp as it is very busy and I normally prefer more peace and quiet, but we booked our trip a little late and this was the only camp with space. We stayed in one of the luxury chalets which I can highly reccommend as they are on the quieter side of the camp and quite close to the river. The chalets in Skukuza are a little old and outdated, the beds are not too comfortable and the bathrooms are still tiled in those green 1980's style tiles. That said, our chalet was well equiped and the shop in the camp had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Book one of the luxury chalets as they are on the quieter side of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Skukuza for 2 nights in a 2 bed hut and expected a bit more coming from Berg en Dal. There was no plug for the sink, shower leaked badly and the water did not drain properly. Seriously needs some work and attention. On the plus side was that the hut is well insulated to allow you to leave the door and windows open with no mozzies coming in due to mesh on all doors and windows. We also did a sunrise and sunset game drive from the camp. The sunrise one was a bit dissapointing but the sunset drive was much better as we stopped more to take everything in and then saw a lot of wildlife.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The huts are very basic. They are clean enough but rather old. The refrigerators are not baboon proof and even if you wedge something against the door to keep it shut, the cleaning people may move it and then the baboons can get in. The store is very good and has a great selection of items at good prices though. Bring a washcloth (none are provided), electric plug converter, and remember all beds are small beds that barely fit one person.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Skukuza is one of the main camps in the Kruger.

We stayed in a river view 2 bedroom chalet, it was very clean and comfortable. There are monkeys on the tree on our doorstep that my son loved watching to play, we also spotted some Hippos in the river in the evening.

The cleaning lady gave us helpful tips on where to spot animals.

Room Tip: River view best chalet's as you might spot animals coming to drink in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineo_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here twice during our Kruger trip in November. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water It was perfectly adequate for our needs although the restaurant on site didnt serve great meals

Room Tip: Fab to wake up in the morning and see the animals in the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were staying in a luxury cottage and were initially fairly impressed having come from a more basic accommodation. The rooms were a good size and ensuite and there was a nice verandah at the front. However, we then found a mouse running about the cottage! The following morning we left a note for the cleaners and mentioned it to one of them. However, when we returned we found it again and this time were forced to catch it ourselves. We went to Kruger for the wildlife, but didn't expect to be sharing a cottage with some of it!

Room Tip: Luxury villas are spacious and have indoor kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Skukuza Restcamp in October 2012 as part of a tour through Kruger NP and was here for one day/night before moving on. I can say off the bat that I've stayed at many different national parks around the world, and while Skukuza wasn't the best, it was far from the worst, and pretty nice accommodations overall.

The Pros:

- Air Conditioning - and yeah, it worked well, I love it cold
- Ceiling fan - gives you the option of both aircon or the fan or both
- Clean, well-kept room
- I liked how the housing resembled traditional rondavels, a nice touch when visiting a new country
- The bathroom, while dated, was very clean and in good order, no mold, damaged tiling, staining, nothing
- An in-room safe - not what I expected in the middle of Kruger NP
- Nice outside area - a table, chairs, refrigerator, sink, and cooking dishware ready to use

The Cons:

- As mentioned, the rooms are a bit dated, but that stuff doesn't really bother me, figured I should mention it, though
- Beds were a bit stiff and the sheets/covers were a bit thin
- The interior lighting was a bit spotty, leading to a shadowy room at night, but not a real big deal

Again, overall, this was a stop for the night for me - if I was staying for a week, I might want a little more room or a little nicer accommodations, but as others have said, you can't beat the location. I'd definitely recommend it to others, particularly families, seems very well-suited for them.

Thanks for reading, just let me know if you have any questions, I'd be happy to help!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JB24003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
410 reviews
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
15.5 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#32 of 176 in Kruger National Park
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing