We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skukuza - Nice game viewing in the area”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently completed a long, full day game-drive safari starting from Skukuza to Lower Sabie on H4-1 and back and saw loads of wildlife, including a leopard crossing a dry riverbed not far outside the Skukuza rest camp.

We didn't stay at the rest camp in Skukuza but we stopped here for a drink and some snacks and really enjoyed the view of the Sabie River from this location. The accommodations also seemed quite good for those interested in staying directly inside the KNP, an option we are very interested in trying having seen the Skukuza and the Lower Sabie rest camp accommodations. The rest camp store was also very good, lots of provision and souvenir shopping you can do here.

Without having stayed here we can recommend looking into the Shukuza rest camp if you want to stay within the park and can highly recommend the drive from Shukuza to Lower Sabie along the H4-1 for wildlife viewing. Just be careful for elephants that seem to be crossing the road everywhere in the early afternoon, making their way to the river. Lots of elephant traffic jams.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Skukuza Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very well provided for base camp in the Kruger park. Has a petrol station, bank, medical staff, cafeteria, restaurant, camping and a shop. Built to support a large tourist population, one cannot go wrong by choosing this property for first time safari experience. We were allocated this venue by Outlook Safaris. The rooms are separate huts which accommodate 2. They have about 3 price points and also provide on site camping facilities. The huts are small and come equipped with a fridge and some cooking utensils. My only complaint is that the hot water pressure in the shower was woeful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a giant camp that can hold several thousand people. It's conveniently located at the junction of major roads in the southern section of the Kruger park. There is a good map showing Skukuza and other camps here http://www.krugerpark.com/maps/kruger-park-far-south-section.htm

The bungalow I stayed in was complete with hot water, clean shower, comfortable beds, outdoor kitchen and refrigerator. At Pretoriuskop a few nights later I stayed in a similar style of bungalow but with a public shower/ bathroom which was not as nice.

There is a large convenience shop in the complex that sells pretty much anything you might need. It's hardly camping, more a comfortable rest-stop. We were well looked after by our guides from Echo Africa Safaris.

We heard hyaenas and bushbabys calling overnight. A perimeter fence keeps out big animals but there were plenty of vervet monkeys around in the morning. If you want to be closer to nature and the elements you might pitch a tent instead. I would do that next time if I were travelling under my own steam rather than as part of an organized group.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in a tent right by the perimeter fence. If you keep real quiet at night, you can hear all sorts of movement beyond the fence. Really makes you feel like you are the one in a zoo and being watched. Tent was small with 2 single beds, very basic and more than sufficient for what we needed. Just a warm shower and a place to sleep. For the fact that this is a public/govt provided facility, i think the standard is fantastic! Great experience, loved every minute of it. Would have loved to have spent more than 1 night here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevenage07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in one of the chalets overnight on my way to Sabi Sands. Basic, clean accommodations to rest your head. Nothing more, nothing less. Camp is huge, with stores, cafeteria, gas station, etc. OK place, but wouldn't want to stay more than one night though.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TheLastUnicorn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The camp location is optimal, has several restaurants and feels safe at night. The rooms/huts/chalets are clean, well-maintained, and excellent for the purposes of the trip. The camp's only downside is that it's huge, and you easily be lost inside, but otherwise great place to go game-watching from.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YZNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights here. Breakfast by the riverside cafeteria as hippos were calling each other and we also spotted a croc walking along the far bank. We had a brai cooked by our Cruiselite guide and it was a great night, We had two neighbouring huts. They were very basic but super comfy and the bathroom, as expected in these places was small but excellent. Make sure to lock up well and turn the external fridge to the wall so the monkeys cannot open it up. One of our neighbours forgot to do this and the monkeys ate all his food! We took several excursions from here, including a night drive where we spotted an injured hyena and african wild cats amongst others and an early morning drive where we went trekking on foot accompanied by two armed rangers. During the day drives with our guide we saw all the big five including a rare cheetah kill (an impala) and a leopard stalking a pair of Klipspringers. Make sure you wear the the right clothes and take a good camera with a good zoom and plently of batteries. It is freezing in the morning winter and then it gets hot. Do not take bright coloured clothes because of the widlife. If you love animals, forget the zoo. Head for Kruger. Skukuza has a bank, restaurant, first aid and a huge general shop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
20.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing