We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,302)
Filter reviews
1,302 results
Traveler rating
266
595
350
61
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
595
350
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riverpost officeoutlook safarislower sabiegas stationself cateringmain restaurantgreat restgame drivesguest houseoutdoor kitchenpaul kruger gateself drivesouthern part
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,302 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Yes, it is a big camp and the map they gave us was wrong so it took us a while (in the dark) to get to our own Bungalow. The amenities is the bungalow is much better than I thought actually. Plus we stayed in a tent lodge the day before so I was happy with it.

The highlight of the stay though was the steak (who knew!), we ordered a steak dish with mushroom and it was tasty! Dessert was so so but the steak is way better than most steak I had in the States.

Bring a torch/headlight, it gets really dark at night!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank AnnaJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Although a lot of visitors to Skukuza report this camp as too busy and noisy, this was our first stay here and we were quite surprised that it wasn’t the case during our visit in mid April. Of course we didn’t spend a lot of time in the camp as we were out the gate at 6.00am and on most days didn’t return until closing at 6.00pm. We found Skukuza to be vibrant, well organised and laid out, clean with wonderful grounds and amenities for both guests and day visitors.

We stayed in a Semi Luxury Riverside Bungalow (LR2E), No.91, which had wonderful views up and down the Sabie river. We could see a pod of hippo’s and herd of ellies from our verandah.

Skukuza is a great central location and allows for safaris in so many different directions for either day trips or just 3-4 hours. The abundance of wildlife in the area is outstanding with a pack of 8 hyenas not far from the camp on our first morning out, to multiple Rhino sightings on each and every day. Elephants were found everywhere in mating herds or solitary bulls. We could not believe the number of baby eles on this trip. On most days returning to camp, we encountered eles blocking the road and on one occasion 20-30 cars had formed 2 lanes all in reverse….lol, what a sight.

Other fantastic sightings were found on the Skukuza / Pretoriuskop road with 2 separate sightings of wild dogs, the first with more than 20 in the pack near the turn off to Malelane and the second sighting was at the turn off to the Shithave dam with another pack of 10-12 dogs which we followed down to the dam where they ended up stalking a nervous water buck. This road was very productive with 2 separate Rhino sightings, hyenas and 2 Cheetah walking down the road……absolutely fantastic.

Another special sighting (location unknown), which we had all to ourselves was an extremely small Rhino calf with its mum and dad lying down next to it. It was the calf we spotted first as it was standing up with its front legs up on its mum, gazing at the world around him.

The accommodation was more than adequate with rooms cleaned daily, comfortable beds, air-conditioning with an outstanding outlook directly over the Sabie river and a quiet location with only sounds of the bush at night. The only negative would be a few minor maintenance issues but that did not impact our stay in any way.

For meals, we self catered 50% of the time with breakfast and lunch often consumed at picnic spots or other main camps. On this occasion we didn’t eat in any camp restaurants as we were just too tired to sit down long enough for a restaurant meal…lol. We did however purchase take away food from the cafeteria which was tasty, enjoyable and not over priced.

The camp shop was great and we picked up some nice local hand made wares.

The service received at reception, the cafeteria, shops, petrol station, cleaning and ground staff were all courteous, friendly and helpful.

SanParks should be commended for the well organised and running of there camps.

For the price and purpose of stay, our personal rating of the overall experience of this camp is a 5 out 5 and a must stay when we return again.

Regards,
Vicki & Rob.

Room Tip: Try for a Semi Luxury Riverside Bungalow (LR2E), No.91, which had wonderful views up and down the Sabie river. We could see a pod of hippo’s and herd of ellies from our verandah.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The facilities at Kruger's restcamps was awesome. We would go back to camp in Kruger for a couple of weeks. The stores are great with a good variety of food and souvenirs for sale.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in a 6bed chalet. The accommodation was much better than we expected, only a little outdated but clean.

The only disappointing part was the lack of cutlery and pots in our chalet. We were able to manage for just one night, but if we were staying longer, we would bring our own pans and cooking utensils from home.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were 3 in Kruger over a long weekend and stayed in the park in a government run rest camp. This is run by SAN Parks a govt. of South Africa parks organization and provides an affordable alternative to the expensive private lodges. Skukuza is one of the larger rest camps in the Kruger National Park and we were happy with our accommodation. We were in #152 which comfortably slept 3 in 3 single beds. It was self catering. The kitchen/dining is part of the the little covered patio/balcony in front. There is an adjacent parking spot for 1 car. Each cottage also has a small outdoor grill. We had no one in front of us and a short 2 minute walk to the camp shop, restaurant and cafeteria. We spent $150 per night for the 3 of us and brought our own food.saving on eating out. There are monkeys around and you have to be careful to keep your food stuff away when you are not there. The fridge has no lock and will be raided if you do not turn it around and push it against the side wall so that the door cannot be opened.
We took some of the game drives and were not particularly impressed. They were okay and we expected to see a lot of animals, but I guess even having a trained ranger cannot not guarantee that. The early morning game walk was more fun and we were on foot protected by 2 armed rangers.
Next time we will try another rest camp in the park. The roads are tarred and wonderful but there is a 50 km per hour speed limit, and you cannot get out of your car. We saw lots of elephants, a few lions, wildebeest and kudu, plenty of impala (more than any other animal there), a few rhinos, many giraffe, baboons, zebras and birds. We wish we had an SUV instead of sedan as that affords a taller vehicle to view animals from.

Room Tip: Buy your beer at the shop. It is half the price of the cafeteria.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews