We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lukimbi Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$803
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pafuri Camp(Kruger National Park)
$508
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elandela Private Game Reserve(Kruger National Park)
$475
$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$717
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naledi Game Lodges(Balule Nature Reserve)
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tintswalo Safari Lodge(Manyeleti Game Reserve)
$1,243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$1,713
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$2,866
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
265
594
350
61
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
594
350
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riverpost officeoutlook safarislower sabiegas stationself cateringmain restaurantgreat restgame drivesguest houseoutdoor kitchenpaul kruger gateself drivesouthern part
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The reception staff are friendly and most helpful. The camp is clean but can get very busy. Predator sightings around the camp are good with leopards, lions and wild dogs being seen nearly every day.

Room Tip: The river-facing bungalows are nice as they are away from the noise generated by the restaurant and conference centre and you get to see animals by day and night. The February 2012 floods have deposited a lot of sand in front of the camp so animal sightings from the camp should improve!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in nine camps so its a reasonable assertion to say Skukuza aws not up there but its not too bad either. Its a very large restcamp so it weels a bit like a small town which probably isn't what you're looking for on a safari. However it does have an ATM, bank, post office and very good shop so if your on an extended trip maybe woth stocking up.
We went to the Selati resteraunt which is situated in the former train station housing the trains and so very nice and the food was decent though the service very, very slow but probably still worth a go if you have good company. We had a six bed hut which clearly had mice in the roof but was comfortable otherwise and situted right on the perimiter. All in all maybe worth a one night stay if you are doing an extended tour of the Kruger

Room Tip: Get a hut on the perimeter fence and get up at 5 to see the animals
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

In short. We booked for 45. Were told check in was at 11H00. Arrived at 12H00. And then told nothing is ready we must come back at 14H00. Sat next to the road for two hours and went back. Then told there is not enough vehicles for the game drive we booked and paid for and that ten people would have to not go. But after battling for over two hours they say they will try and squash everyone on. Then arrive at the accommodation and no beds are ready. Electricity doesn't work and they still busy cleaning. The staff have a don't care attitude and I can honestly say that all of us will never! Ever! Recommend or set foot back anywhere close to this pathetic place. They are quick to take your money but deliver absolutely nothing in return. So sad to think this is what we expose our international visitors and schools to. No wonder they always complaining about lack of education. This is a prime example why we don't bring our children here. Instead of being a relaxing and educational experience it's purely aggravating and stressful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was my home away from home! Skukuza is a great rest camp in The Kruger Park. The accommodation here is simple and has a great african theme. There are places to sit and watch over the rivers, seeing all types of animals. Sit around a camp fire listening to the roar of Lions. There is no place I would rather be!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have just spent two nights at Waterkant 1 Guest House in Skukuza. 4 bedrooms all ensuite and great kitchen/lounge area onto a huge lawn and entertainment area overloking the Sabie river. As you face the river, it is the second last cottage to your right; a wonderful quiet loction.
The experience from beginning to end was fantastic. The efficiency of the SanParks website when doing the booking, showing availability/pricing etc. The entrance and great service at the gates; the cleanliness of the park, the excellent service at picnic spots and availability to hire scottles, get boiling water etc.
Waterkant 1 was clean and very well equiped; the housekeeping service was excellent too. Comfortable beds with nice bed linen and towels, nicely tiled bathrooms with bath and shower. Well equipped tidy kitchen and a very nice braai/entertainment area outside. We braaied each night under the stars to the sounds of hippo grunting a few meters away!
Wonderful game viewing including the big 5 and fabulous birding.
The museum in Skukuza was interesting. We ate all our meals at the house so didn't try the restaurant.
Great value for money; wonderful facitities.
Well done SanParks

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews