We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jock Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$1,054
$929
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naledi Game Lodges(Balule Nature Reserve)
$429
$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$450
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
$394
$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
$668
$507
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$733
$534
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 59% below average rates

The price you found is 59% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$565
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $738/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
$97
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pafuri Camp(Kruger National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveler rating
259
579
348
61
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
579
348
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riverpost officeoutlook safarislower sabieself cateringgas stationmain restaurantgreat restgame viewingguest houseoutdoor kitchenpaul kruger gateself drivesouthern part
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in nine camps so its a reasonable assertion to say Skukuza aws not up there but its not too bad either. Its a very large restcamp so it weels a bit like a small town which probably isn't what you're looking for on a safari. However it does have an ATM, bank, post office and very good shop so if your on an extended trip maybe woth stocking up.
We went to the Selati resteraunt which is situated in the former train station housing the trains and so very nice and the food was decent though the service very, very slow but probably still worth a go if you have good company. We had a six bed hut which clearly had mice in the roof but was comfortable otherwise and situted right on the perimiter. All in all maybe worth a one night stay if you are doing an extended tour of the Kruger

Room Tip: Get a hut on the perimeter fence and get up at 5 to see the animals
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

In short. We booked for 45. Were told check in was at 11H00. Arrived at 12H00. And then told nothing is ready we must come back at 14H00. Sat next to the road for two hours and went back. Then told there is not enough vehicles for the game drive we booked and paid for and that ten people would have to not go. But after battling for over two hours they say they will try and squash everyone on. Then arrive at the accommodation and no beds are ready. Electricity doesn't work and they still busy cleaning. The staff have a don't care attitude and I can honestly say that all of us will never! Ever! Recommend or set foot back anywhere close to this pathetic place. They are quick to take your money but deliver absolutely nothing in return. So sad to think this is what we expose our international visitors and schools to. No wonder they always complaining about lack of education. This is a prime example why we don't bring our children here. Instead of being a relaxing and educational experience it's purely aggravating and stressful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was my home away from home! Skukuza is a great rest camp in The Kruger Park. The accommodation here is simple and has a great african theme. There are places to sit and watch over the rivers, seeing all types of animals. Sit around a camp fire listening to the roar of Lions. There is no place I would rather be!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have just spent two nights at Waterkant 1 Guest House in Skukuza. 4 bedrooms all ensuite and great kitchen/lounge area onto a huge lawn and entertainment area overloking the Sabie river. As you face the river, it is the second last cottage to your right; a wonderful quiet loction.
The experience from beginning to end was fantastic. The efficiency of the SanParks website when doing the booking, showing availability/pricing etc. The entrance and great service at the gates; the cleanliness of the park, the excellent service at picnic spots and availability to hire scottles, get boiling water etc.
Waterkant 1 was clean and very well equiped; the housekeeping service was excellent too. Comfortable beds with nice bed linen and towels, nicely tiled bathrooms with bath and shower. Well equipped tidy kitchen and a very nice braai/entertainment area outside. We braaied each night under the stars to the sounds of hippo grunting a few meters away!
Wonderful game viewing including the big 5 and fabulous birding.
The museum in Skukuza was interesting. We ate all our meals at the house so didn't try the restaurant.
Great value for money; wonderful facitities.
Well done SanParks

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was not impressed by Skukuza this is the main camp in the park and should be its flagship. It is visited by many tourists from around the world and really gives a bad impression of our people. The service was curt, rude and unhelpful not only at the reception but also the shop and museum. The air conditioner in the unit was ancient and noisy and despite the draps and bedding being modernised the shower was appalling. This camp is big and busy and I would advise anyone to stop for a look at the river , grab a drink at the shop and move on to one of the smaller camps. You will not see me back at Skukuza in a hurry but this said I will be back in the park again in June. This rating should not be seen as a reflection on the whole park as the service at Pafuri gate, Nkulu rest stop and Lower Sabie were all excellent. The park roads are well maintained and has excellent facilities at most interest points.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews