We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big & busy a bit like an African version of Centre Parcs”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was the first camp that we stayed in on our recent half term trip to the Kruger. Although we have been to South Africa several times, and know what to expect service wise, this was our first trip to the park. Camp was easy to find from main gate , however service at the reception was normal South African .Staff chatting to each other rather than customers and you got the impression that everything was too much effort! Asked about the Wild Card which gives you discounted conservation fees for the whole trip, only to be told that it was not available to International visitors( not true and probably cost us an extra £200 for the trip) Camp is very large ( one of biggest on Kruger) and very busy, but accomodation was easy to find. We stayed in one of the rondables , and it was clean and had a good range of equipment. Towels had seen better days ( however not unexpected by how many people pass through camp everyday) but were clean and plenty of them. Remember you are staying in public rest camps, not 5 star lodges, hence the price difference!The chalets are a little close together, our children said it reminded them of an African Centre Parcs, so maybe not the place to go for authentic Africa. Had a meal in restaurant which was good basic fare, not much choice if you are a veggie tends to be meat , meat and more meat. Service was pretty bad , with a slow and sullen waiter. Also they have a tendency to just take your payment for a meal and not bring back change, they just assume that extra is a tip! We asked if we could have a little milk for a morning coffee which he begrudingly got and then said it would be 20 rhand , we suggested he took it out of his tip he had helped himself to! There is a choice of a cafe and restaurant , and a shop selling some food items and gifts. We did not see a single monkey on the camp and we were wandering around a lot at night , but our highlight was having a close encounter with some beautiful bush babies on way to restaurant using the lamps to catch the insects and bugs. Think some people need to realise this is Africa and you are there living there with wildlife, its not a safari park. There is a swimming pool there but we did not use so can't comment on that.The only downside to it was the number of people there, not only overnight guests but a lot of day trippers . When we went for breakfast it seemed like every safari bus in the Kruger had also stopped!
Wildlife around area was very good, we did most of our safari on the tarmac roads due to recent flood damage but saw a wide range of animals and birds. Recommend stopping off at the Lake Panic hide, wonderful bird and mammal life. One tip we learnt is when on safari don't drive through elephant dung as they eat the camel thorns and they can punture your tyres

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation by the perimetre fence & book a Wild Card at your first camp, this will giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TraceyS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Kruger national park is in dire straights of some serious help and a lot of training! Our drains were blocked on arrival and the toilet handle had to be pushed back up after flushing. The entire airconditioner cover fell onto my toiletries bag and made a huger mess. The vents have not been cleaned ever and the general dirt is pretty disgusting! Considering one pays almost R800 per rondawel per night and a conservation levy, this place is about to hit rock bottom! The new gitzy gold fabric covers that are on the bed are toitally out of place as are the shiny curtains. They are all stained and shabby after around 1 years use.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safarigirlsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in Kruger for over a week but I could only handle camping in skukuza for one night. The monkeys were very aggressive and there was too much light pollution to be in a tent. There are monkeys everywhere and you have to be careful no matter where you go but here they were breaking into the trash bags that were being placed on the ground by the staff and eating right next to the very expensive monkey proof trash bins. The main office staff tried to blame tourist for feeding the monkeys, which some do but I had proof of the monkeys getting into the trash. I also needed my husband to walk with me to the bathroom but they still came after both of us. Thankfully they did not bite us, but they have bitten people in the past. We have stayed in parks where it's someone's job to walk around and keep monkeys and baboons away. This is definitely a job that needs to be put into place here. I would not camp or stay here. Most of the staff is very indifferent.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel4life316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Skukuza is the biggest camp in Kruger and ideally situated in the more luch southern part of the park. It is also very close to the gate. We, as animal lovers, try to visit the park once a year.
The area is narmally very warm to excessively warm and humid over christmas. Unfortunately the park is animal orientated and not service orientated. The staff all over the park is unfriendly, slow, and dont care talking to one another in their own language even if it means that you must wait for them before they help you. It is actually sad to say, as an South african myself, that the service is very poor. The rooms are very basic and you should check that all cutlery and croccery is acounted for when you check in.

Even though i feel so sad about the service, the animal life is the best in the WHOLE world. impala roam the land and can be seen in large groups almost around every corner, big families of baboon and vervet monkeys can also be seen dayly. Elephants is scatterted over the whole park. In our last 12 visits, we had a big 5 day four times and a big 5 holiday 9 times.
Only the elusive leopard hampred us form getting it every time.

Although there was alot of poaching of rhino's , the can still be found in regular intervals.

If you are looking for a holiday where you can relax beside the swimming pool with a cocktail in your hand ................ This is not for you!!! But if you want the most exilirating safari in the world , Kruger, and Skukuza is the best there is.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PierreRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Except for the restaurant/cafeteria, the floor was very dirty, as the table and the chair.
The service was very slow too ...
The room was ok, next time, I might need to bring my own food.
Thx

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was my first visit to Kruger Park and was very impressed by the Skukuza Camp as i have never been to such a place coming from Cyprus in the Mediterranean. We booked a hut and was great for the three of us. A beautiful camp and well organised. The hut was clean and the outside kitchen well equipped. Very peaceful and a great experience. As being not such a fan of the outdoors, this place was lovely. Only tip, turn your fridges around blocking the door and do not store food in the cabinets as there are cheeky baboons jumping around. We saved the food from a neighbouring hut, as the baboons ran of with the cheese from the fridge and enjoyed their eggs too, definitely a funny site.Amazing place and will love to go back again. Kruger is such a special place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JorjaCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Skukuza rest camp for three days to avail of the early morning, evening and night tours conducted by SANP. We stayed in a room facing the river. The rooms are called rondavels and are lovely. It was winter and the blankets they had provided took care of the cold. I was tickled pink that the kitchen, cooking place, refrigerator, braai ( barbecue) facility, dining area was in the open in the verandah. Crockery is provided. We were advised to place chairs against the refrigerator to discourage monkeys investigating its contents. The only negative is that the formal sit in lunch/ dinner is very disappointing. We stuck to fast food after our first experience. The shops within the park sell meat, veggies ready for braai. Alternately, at noon travellers can visit the nearest shopping centre where they sell cooked food like rice, veggies, chicken, meat . Pack them and heat them at the room. The rooms have microwaves too. This camp has a petrol pump. For a small sum, you can get your vehicles cleaned at the adjoining cleaning station. It has a post office too to send postcards to your friends... We loved our stay at Skukuza..and we absolutely loved our trip to Kruger...

Room Tip: We paid a premium for the room facing the river thinking we would espy animals early morning or late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
441 reviews
7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#66 of 178 in Kruger National Park
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
525 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
467 reviews
19.7 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing