We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect time of year to travel to Skukuza.”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We booked a luxury riverside bungalow and stayed at the Skukuza camp for a week in September 2007. This was the perfect time of year to spot animals-we saw all of the 'Big Five' within 2 days! The foliage is lacking and the temperature is slightly cooler than average so spotting animals is far easier at this time of year.

The bungalow itself was lovely, on the river as the name suggests. It was clean and was serviced daily. The outdoor kitchen was clean and functional. Crockery is provided. We watched monkeys stealing the bananas from our fridge! Be warned!

The camp has a number of restaurants and shops all of which are good value. Internet access is available at the cafeteria.

Listening to the sounds of the Kruger Park by night is an experience we'll never forget and the blanket of stars over head has to be seen to be believed.

We took part in sunrise and sunset game drives - these are organised at the camp reception. Both were good fun although we saw far more animals on the sunrise drives. Also participated in afternoon treks which were really informative and not at all strenuous. It makes sense to organise drives/treks in advance as these become fully booked VERY quickly and we saw many disappointed guests at reception!

All things considered, we really enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend a stay at Skukuza.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank KateandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Skukuza Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

If you wish to travel by yourself through the Krueger Parc, Skukuza is certainly a good choice to spend 1-3 nights. I recommend to do a tour through the Parc by yourself and then enter a private game lodge. It is a good combination to do a safari. Skukuza is one of the biggest public rest camps within the Krueger Parc. It has all facilites you need. The bungalows and huts are very basic but neat and tidy. Never leave food alone in front of your hut or on the terrasse as there are monkeys all over. Also some of them are so clever that they open your fridge which is in front of the hut/bungalow. So you better put a chair in front of the fridge door.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Claudia_CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

My partner and I stayed one night at the Skukuza Restcamp, after a long drive from Olifants Camp. The restcamp was very nice and offered the most amenities of the other camps - although it feels like the largest camp as well. The rondavel bungalow was very comfortable, the gift shop/store is excellent, and the casual cafe had delicious hot meals (versus going to the more expensive sit down restaurant). There is also an internet cafe and coffee bar on site. Our trip through Kruger began at the Numbi gate, a stop at Pretoriuskop for gasoline (also has a nice cafe and shop), a day's drive and overnight at Olifants Restcamp, and then back through Skukuza. The park was beautiful and we saw many animals. We stopped at the Satara Restcamp for lunch and this camp has a lovely restaurant and covered patio to enjoy a drink or meal. Well worth the stop.

Stayed: April 2007
5  Thank Blondesteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

This camp is great, with much more in the way of restaurants, shops, and viewing platforms than most of the other camps in Kruger. It's also a great place to stop while on a long day's drive through the center of the Park, as even families of fruit bats "hang out" in the thatched-roof picnic areas. The main part of the camp looks out over the confluence of two rivers, with lush vegetation and many animals.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LDSPd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: reservar con anticipacion
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ello2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolinasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timwitvoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
20.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing