We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Royal Malewane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Malewane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Royal Malewane has everything a safari based resort should have! We stayed in the Africa House and it was amazing. No matter how many 5 star hotels you've stayed in, none of them will be anything like your experience at the Royal Malewane. The details of the Royal Malewane can not be topped - service is impeccable, guides are amazing, location is outrageous, this is not an experience that can be topped! Simply amazing.

Room Tip: If you go with a group stay at the Africa House; it's awesome!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfsupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Royal Malewane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently returned back to New York after spending 2 weeks in South Africa on our honeymoon. I googled "African Safaris" and after doing much research, landed on
Shannon Bishop and African Safari Home as my booking agent. We had most incredible couple of days on safari at Royal Malewane. The service, staff and housekeeping were terrific. We certiny did not leave hungry and the food was outstanding. Our guides, Nik and Solly were absolutely amazing and really went above and beyond to make our safari experience was even more special. We loved having them as our guides. In fact, all of the staff at the Royal Malewane do an incredible job in making sure your stay is nothing less than exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Royal Malewane, what else can be added to everything which has been published here...?
Many lodges are truly luxurious in SA, but here it's about the details which make this place unique. It's not only about the fabulous cuisine that the chef prepares for you, it's about the quality of the products involved in preparing the amazing culinary experience. It's about the perfection of the services, it's about the professionalism of the so kind people who will take care of every part of your experience. The Spa is one of the highlights of RM, outstanding! and surely they deserve to be rated as the best safari spa
And of course, it's a game experience that meets all expectations. Big Five amongst others.
I can only recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first safari and totally planned by our travel agent, GiltEdge, with no input from us except our arrival date in Johannesburg and when we needed to be in George, SA. So our first stop was three nights at the RM. From the moment we were picked up at the airport, we knew we were in for a marvelous experience. Not 5 minutes out of the airport, our driver stops the Land Rover; backs up and points to a herd of Cape Buffaloes cooling themselves in a pond next to the road. When we arrived at the lodge, we were met by Kalyn, the food and beverage director who gave us a brief over view of the lodge and our schedule for the next few days. He showed us to our bungalow. Our accommodations were "over the top". The resort is an all inclusive property and everything was 5 star or better; food, drink, service, etc Later in the afternoon, we went on our very first game track with our ranger, Nik, and tracker, Solly. We saw 4 of the big 5 on our first outing. The next day we saw the fifth and then some. Dinner was excellent every evening as was every meal during our stay. If we do this again, RM is certainly on the list. Oh and by the way, the spa is outstanding.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

From arrival to departure, the staff at Royal Malewane are on hand to ensure a fantastic stay. Introducing themseves upon arrival, and orienting you to the lodge, everyone we met was spectacularly hospitable. The lodging itself is beautiful, plush bedding and plunge pools, and daily laundry an added touch. Food was wonderful, our ranger and tracker, extremely warm and knowledgable, and the game drives fun and surprisingly interesting. honestly, the staff cant do enough to make you feel pampered and special. I would highly recommend Royal Malewane to anyone. Thank you for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traxnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are rather cynical Brits who think we have seen it all when it comes to hotels and holidays. But Royal Malewane takes some beating. The lodge, service, food and attentiveness were all first class. My husband celebrated his birthday while we were there. The day before I asked the staff if they could arrange for a birthday candle in his breakfast omelette. Well what a day! Champagne and happy birthday sung at breakfast, a gift and a special dinner in the bush were only part. The wonderful and amusing tracker - Riaan and Shadrack - even arranged for black rhino and a leopard on the game drive! To cap it all when we returned to the room there were candles all over the bathroom and a hot bath poured. A fabulous day. We are going back next year. NB The only downside is getting up at 5am for game drives!! Helen Mahy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Royal Malewane for a weekend of utter indulgence. Every minute detail is taken care of by exceptional staff. Nothing is too much trouble, and the service is superb. I travel a lot and can honestly say that it's the little things that make a difference. At Royal Malewane the thoughtfulness that goes into each aspect shows clearly. Andrew the wine steward's knowledge and recommendation of wines for each meal was impressive. The chefs are attentive and their food is not only beautiful but also delicious. Our ranger Nicola was equally fantastic - her enthusiasm for her work is catching and we were treated to the best game viewing ever. Bennet the tracker was really funny too - we really enjoyed their company. Our suite was fabulous, with a warm scented bath with lit candles and scattered flowers awaiting us on return from a particularly wet game drive. The staff are equally great - everything gets done without you seeing anyone doing it! Royal Malewane is by far one of the best lodges out there, well worth the visit!

Room Tip: They're all fantastic, you really cant go wrong with whichever room you choose.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
5.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
10.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
18.5 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Malewane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Malewane

Address: Avoca Road, Thornybush Reserve, Limpopo | Limpopo Province, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $2,153 - $3,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Malewane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Malewane is an exclusive private safari lodge in the Greater Kruger National Park. The guiding team is one of the most qualified in Africa which means that your Big 5 safari experience will be unsurpassed. Royal Malewane has 6 luxury suites, 2 Royal Suites and Africa House. The Royal Suites each have 2 bedrooms while Africa House is an exclusive use, 6 bedroom bush villa. As part of The Royal Portfolio, Royal Malewane offers guests the highest levels of luxury, exceptional cuisine and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, South African Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Royal Malewane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Malewane Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing