We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berg-en-Dal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berg-en-Dal
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good basic rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The big well equipped rooms are made out of bare bricks which we felt gave them a fairly stark feel - but hey it served is purpose and we were only there one night.

We had breakfast, which is the only meal we tend to have in Kruger rest camps, they can't really mess that up! Food was ok but what miserable staff - someone needs to put a rocket up them.

We liked the 'Rhino museum' which was very informative.

Room Tip: We had a perimeter room - not much point as it was so overgrown we couldn't see anything anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    192
    97
    31
    15
See reviews for
130
177
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
timrat
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

we stayed in the self catering chalets. we bought groceries in melalene and even before the camp saw some animals - crocodiles and hippopotamus in the river and impalas and elephants too. the chalets are for 3 persons very spacious and well equipped. the camp is near a dam and there is a nice path just inside the fence where you can stroll and see the animals and birds and nice trees and shrubs on the way. we cooked our supper and breakfast, in the evening everyone had a braii fire...we had a night safari which we liked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michalbassat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Quite a modern camp, accommodation clean and very comfortable. Kitchen area quite small but nice braii /patio area. The Early morning walk with two armed rangers was WONDERFUL! As close as I ever want to be to a wild rhino! ONLY fault would be the kruger restaurant one! BRAII!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fimunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Berg n Dal for three nights over the last weekend - the accomodation is lovely and clean however very small with a tiny fridge that if you were staying longer then one night you would have a problem to store evertyhing in it as we did as we were away for 10 days. We were also very dissapointed that the kitchen unit was so tiny with only a two plate hot plate - as lovely as it is to braai it is not everyones choice to do it three nights in a row!

We unfortunately decided that we would go to the restaurants but this was sorely a huge mistake - the service we recieved was disgusting that is all i can say - the meal choices and standard of food available was a disgrace and an embarrasement to our country - I felt for the overseas tourists that were visiting with no option other then to eat at the restaurant to have to eat the meals - we were shocked and the prices were very high for the variety and the standard! We will not be visiting this resort anytime soon - unless the restaurants change hands!

Room Tip: If there are only two of us - I would recommend booking a bigger accomodation to provide you with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embarassedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's certainly not a luxurious camp, but compared to the others we saw we liked this one best.
- It's rather small compared to others
- The huts are ok and clean
- Feels like on a camping...

Unfortunately, the Restaurant is as bad as in any other camp :-(

The location is probably one of the best (the south part has more animals) and we even saw lions 50m in front of the camp entrance....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were only here for 2 nights but next time we would book 3 nights.
It is in the south of Kruger. Location is very good.
The rooms are a bit old but it was clean and big.
On the camp you can walk a trail and you sit nearby water and enjoy the birds animals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The accommodation at this rest camp is OK. It does the job with no frills and this is reflected in price. Main issue would be how gloomy the cabins are inside, more windows or more lights would be good! The camp itself is large and you certainly do not feel you are on top of other guests. The grounds looked well cared for and were teeming with birds. Game viewing is excellent. Make sure you check out the dam area. I was fortunate enough to see a leopard attempt to take a Bushbuck. There were also crocodiles and hippos in the river and many water birds. There is a well stocked shop and a good clean swimming pool. The restaurant is decidedly average. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this for a short stop (1 or 2 nights) in Kruger. The surrounding area has a lot of Rhino!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg-en-Dal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg-en-Dal

Property: Berg-en-Dal
Address: Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berg-en-Dal 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Berg-en-Dal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg-En-Dal Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing