We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perimeter Family Cottage - Elephant, Rhino right outside.”
Review of Berg-en-Dal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berg-en-Dal
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Perimeter Family Cottage - Elephant, Rhino right outside.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in Satara and Skukuza during my 6D5N trip to Kruger and Berg En Dal was my last stop. To splurge, we booked a Family Cottage for just the 2 of us, and we thankfully got allocated bungalow 26, which was near to the fence.

The cottage was fantastic, with separate rooms, air conditioning, a completely equipped kitchen, and a living area.

More fantastic was the game viewing! The bungalow was next to the fence and the rhino trail, so on the day of arrival we saw elephants, bush buck, rhinos, buffalos, warthog and many animals by the other side of the dam, which was close to a dam. The views were also fantastic at the start of the trail, where benches are placed outside the restaurants.

We also went for the morning walk and night drive which produced great viewing. We even encountered 6 rhinos on our morning walk. Needless to say that was the highlight of our trip!

I dont know what people mean by atmosphere since I never stayed at Lower Sabie, but the combination of proximity to the fence and the nighttime sounds made it pretty darned atmospheric to me.

Berg en Dal also has an internet corner which charges 30 Rand for 30 minutes. One of my favourite camps as you have the possibility of seeing Big 5 in the area. I saw 4 out of the Big 5 in one day around Berg En Dal. only one missing was the elusive leopard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    204
    104
    32
    16
See reviews for
143
187
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
484 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Like a previous poster, this was our first stop in a week-long Kruger self-drive family safari. The camp is newer (more sterile?) than most, which some people like and some don't. My family was pretty neutral about it, but I do think it makes a good first stop both for geographical reasons and "acclimation." There's a bit more infrastructure here like laundry (if the machines are working) and internet, even entertainment like evening movies, before you head "into the wild." The family units are relatively modern with decent beds and cooking amenities.

Location is good for wildlife (especially rino), but you'll probably want to "move on" after a day or two. Take the short road to the nearby waterhole at twilight for good spotting.

Although you can buy food in the camp store, I highly recommend stopping at the large Spur supermarket in Malelane (right outside the park) and "stocking up" on cooking supplies. Prices are much lower, quality is higher, and selection is much better. You can buy meat to braai and freeze it in your cabin's freezer for travel to an onward camp if necessary. You can also eat quite inexpensively in the camp restaurant, but the food isn't fantastic -- doing your own braai will likely be more satisfying.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in Berg-en-Dal for the second part of our holiday in the Kruger. After staying in Lower Sabie for six nights, Berg-en-Dal did feel a bit clinical.

The chalets were very comfortable, clean, with a large patio area and brick BBQ, decent sized kitchen area (with fridge) and a large sleeping area, oh, and not to forget air conditioning!

The camp had a swimming pool (it didn't look good) and everything else expected from a camp in the Kruger - basic restaurant and shop etc. There's a view of the dam and a rhino walk around the perimeter - I didn't see a rhino on that walk... just a deer and electric fencing!

Everyone working at the camp seemed very pleasant and were polite but a bit 'stiff'.

The food in the restaurant was basic - nothing special. The restaurant had very little atmosphere... so we didn't spend a lot of time eating in the evening and ventured back to the chalet for a beer under the stars.

Berg-en-Dal is a bit more challenging for animal spotting because it's very 'hilly' but we managed to see 'the big five' on our visit.

Berg-en-Dal always seems to rate highly, but compared with staying in Lower Sabie, inside the camp, we could have been in Butlins anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleferrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed only 1 night at Berg en dal camp - it was great! More modern than the other camps! Wished we stayed more nights. Loved our spot and the whole camp - we could hear the elephants close by. We did a night walk around the camp which was awesome. Kitchen was great with everything working and all the necessary utensils.. Spacious bedroom. It is a pity that they didn't have double beds as my boyfriend and I had to sleep on twin beds... Most camps seem to cater for 3 people and not a couple though. Lovely braai outside - very private and great to hear the outdoor wild life at night. We saw lions, elephants, giraffe's, hippo's and buffalo's and plenty of impala amongst other animals and birds. Great camp - would definetly recommend and go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCampsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great camp. It is further in the south so location is less ideal than some, but very quiet and bungalows are far more private than those of bigger camps. All clean, tidy and well equipped..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Berg-En-Dal was our first stop on our week trip in the Kruger National Park.
We had a family room which was comfortable with a well equiped kitchen and a clean terrace area where you can do a barbeque or 'braai'.
The shop was great and well stocked and we did all our shopping in there for supplies.
The Tree Restaurant was ok, but the food is microwaved and lacks flavor. There also wasnt much options for vegetarians unless you want breakfast for dinner.
There was little lighting to the rooms as others have mentioned, so bring a torch!
The grounds are great, with a nice perimeter walk next to a damn and bush.
The pool was nice and clean but COLD!
I recommend you start with this camp and move Northward when planning your Kruger Safari.
Overall, we enjoyed :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the perimeter fence (more peaceful)and you'd see more game!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaLenferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived in Berg-en-Dal at night and the first thing to know is : DO NOT arrive at night, there are no lights to indicates the path to your house.
The housing is really nice with a great shower, bathroom and toilets in three differents room. The terrace is also really nice with a great barbecue to cook you own food (it is best to cook for yourself in the Kruger's camp as the food in the restaurant is expensive and very bad). When we arrived in the bed room it was differents the white sheets were yellow uncleaned. It was really hard to sleep in that bed...

Appart the room (which is a big deal for me), our stay was ingredible as our room was next to the fence on the edge of the camp, and while we were having dinner two elephants came eating right next to other (just on the other side of the fence), they were only few meters away. in the morning same thing but with a Rhino which was quite incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms at the edge of the camp next to the fence can be really interesting when you have animals pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
146 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Berg-en-Dal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg-en-Dal

Property: Berg-en-Dal
Address: Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berg-en-Dal 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Berg-en-Dal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg-En-Dal Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing