We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“out of Africa”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is as close as you will get to an Out of Africa experience. The staff were so helpful and the rooms lovely, they have outside showers which is a bit different, but the water is piping hot.
The food was good, we ate Kudu,Impala and Ostrich none of which I had tasted before. In fact they never stop feeding you, tea and biscuits at 5am, coffee and biscuits on the game drive, breakfast when you get back then lunch, tea , drinks and biltong on afternoon drive followed by a 3 course dinner. The rangers are all lovely and know their stuff. Could not have wished for a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekerCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear sunseekerCoDurham,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled that you had a great time with us, and hope that you come again soon.

Regards,
The Hamiltons Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    20
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
180
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at Hamiltons for three nights in April, 2013. EVERYTHING about the stay was perfect - especially the staff!

The luxury safari tents were beautiful, the food was great, the guides were knowledgeable, but most of all the staff truly cared and took the time to ensure every need was met!

I would highly recommend staying at Hamiltons - it is an experience I will never forget and I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYERAM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Upon arrival Hamiltons exceeded my expectations. The friendliness of the staff, decor, and food was nothing but awesome and I didn't want to leave. It is the perfect getaway to forget about the city and work, purely because it's in the bush and no interference from the outside world and very secluded. I would recommend it to anyone who loves the bush and want to run away from the city life stress. Pure bliss.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-Anne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about Hamiltons Tented Camp on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and their experiences whilst staying with us. I will convey your positive comments to the entire team. I’m pleased we made your Safari experience one to remember.

The Hamiltons Tented Camp Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had high expectations and the Hamiltons experience exceeded them.. It gives you the real feel of the African bush with the understated luxury of staying in a tent where everything had been thought of. The riverbed in front of each tent was a constantly changing theatre of wildlife at all times of the day and night. We had elephants playing, baboons fighting, hyenas prowling and four young male lions brought down an adult buffalo just beyond the last tent. Our ranger, Tuhan was an amazing wealth of information which he shared with great enthusiasm. The Hamiltons staff could not have done more for you. Their smiles were everywhere from 5:30 AM when we took off for the morning drive, until they had served the last of our wonderful outdoor dinners. This was our second trip to South Africa. we hope to go back soon and would, absolutely return to Hamiltons

Room Tip: Tent #1 overlooked the point where there was the most water in the river, #6 would be the quietest b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you have every intention of returning in future. I will pass your kind words on to the all the staff members at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Management & Staff
Hamiltons Tented Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staff were fun and our guide, tuhan, was very knowledgeable. However the product was not perfect, staff did not always understand what was asked of them. On one of the game drives, our pro promised sun owner drinks never happened resulting in extra expense t the be. I would definitely go back to the stunning location but the overall experience is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp as it is only with valuable input such as this that we are able to constantly strive to improve the service and facilities offered at Hamiltons Tented Camp. I was made aware that, after being consulted, the general consensus of guests on the vehicle was to forego the sundowner stop on the first evening in order to view a spectacular sighting of a Leopard in a tree with its kill. We sincerely hope that this safari highlight compensated for any inconvenience caused.

The Management Team
Hamiltons Tented Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxtehude, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The title says it all - we felt that driving around the whole day searching for animals either in your own car or while being on a guided tour makes you really tired, so we were looking for a place where to find comfort during the rest of the time. We found it in Hamiltons. The staff is very helpful, the rangers are nice and know just where to drive to get the best game views (we saw lions hunting and the other day lions mating while being on tour with their ranger), the food is delicious and the beds are nice and comfortable. We stayed in room 1 which is closest to the dam , where we could see a Hippo, a crocodile, elephants and giraffes right in front of our balcony. Of course this accommodation has its price, but we would be willing to pay it again when coming back to Krueger (esp. since we have also been to government owned rest camps which we cannot recommend at all).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a pleasant review on Trip Advisor. I’m delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will convey your kind words to the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons in future.

The Management Team
Hamiltons Tented Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Difficult to get a better location than the camp, just by the river offering a beautiful sight point. The 6 tents are well spread, enough space between them to avoid any nuisance.
Decoration of the tents are "Out of Africa", you will not be disappointed. We have noticed some small issues with maintenance such as bulb issues, outside shower not working but the overall set up is rather exceptionnal & we can live with these small issues.
When it comes to the restaurant, that's not 3 * Michelin but this is very decent & nothing to complain ! I wish all the bush lodges can offer the same quality. Far from being the case.
The game drives were done by knowledgable Ranger giving a lot of explanation on the Bush (plants, trees, insects, mammals).
Last but not least, we got a special "good bye" sang by all the staff & Harold the manager of the camp. Very nice & well done. These guy's know what singing means.
A special detail, look at the calligraphy done by Harold in writing all the welcome letter by hand.

We will be back in the camp without doubt & we advise it for the good value for money. Don't forget we are not in a private reserve, we are in the middle of the National Park....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vuestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy C, Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Vuestra,
We are delighted to hear that Harold, your guide and the team took such great care of you and your family and that the attention to detail on the welcome notes and the singing are some of the things that made the difference during your stay with us at Hamilton’s.
We appreciate your feedback on what you call “small issues” and guarantee that the maintenance department has seen to the light bulbs and the outside showers of all tents to ensure guests are not disappointed.
We look forward to hosting you on your return to Hamilton’s.

Management
Hamilton's Tented Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#44 of 174 in Kruger National Park
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#63 of 174 in Kruger National Park
388 reviews
8.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
146 reviews
153.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#34 of 174 in Kruger National Park
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Property: Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing