We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return and not let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

So often the memories of a good previous visit are tarnished when you choose to return. Not so for us at Hoyo Hoyo. We were there in Feb 09 and had a wonderful safari experience. Back we came in November and everything was as we wished, except the weather! Rain for four days and four nights but even that did not detract from the expectations we had brought with us from the UK. The lodge rooms are more spacious than they appear from outside, they offer every comfort, the food is first class and our Ranger Dennis was excellent. We had enjoyed the company of Ranger Elvis previously but our disappointment on hearing that he had moved on was soon dispelled, Dennis's company and humour was a joy despite him suffering the worst of the weather on the front of the safari truck. Hoyo Hoyo offers the best of all worlds, you have the pleasure of an excellent private luxury lodge operating as they do within their private concession but in addition they can traverse all of the Kruger Park. We saw all the big five and virtually every other species that lived in the area of the park we chose as our location.
One criticism we would make is that some of the furnishing are becoming tired. ie Curtains, floor matts and cushions in the room, all need replacing to ensure standards are upheld.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

We began our 2 week trip to Southern Africa with 4 nights at Hoyo-Hoyo and decided at the end of the trip that it was the best part of our trip!! The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The game drives were more than we expected and our guide, Nicholas was knowledgeable and had great sightings, even in the dark! I hope to someday be able to return to Kruger and I'll be sure to stay at Hoyo-Hoyo!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Overall Hoyo Hoyo was not worth the money we paid for it. The location and experience is really something, but the local staff (they're from a local tribe) do just not know what we want. Some examples: when you go on game drive, you get a free drink on the jeep. When you decide to stay in all of a sudden you pay for that drink?! When the rest returns to the lobby where we also happened to be after the game drive, the get a free welcome drink and we are standing there empty handed! Their room information promises you a free bottle of water every day and then they just never provide it and charge the water you order! The food is ok, but not great. It has the same sauce on every dish! If we were to go again, we would definately not come back here.
Good things? Waterhole at the location where you see many animals, great ranger (Oscar).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank liekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at Hoyo Hoyo for two nights...when we left, I told my husband that if someone said to me that we had to go home now (meaning 30 hours of flying), I would have have left totally fulfilled. It was that amazing.

We had a wonderful time - the lodge is gorgeous and had an African vibe. The food was great. The staff was attentive but not overbearing (we respectfully disagree with the previous poster). The game drives were tremendous. Elvis was our guide and mixed excellent sightings with great humor. It rained for one day while we were there but Elvis found us hyena tearing up a kudu, lions feasting on an impala, eagle owls, giraffe, buffalo, and monkeys - all when it was pouring. On the sunnier day we saw 2 cheetah, rhino, elephant, lots of birds, snakes, wild cats, etc.

We split our time between Hoyo Hoyo and a private game reserve. There is a different feel - Elvis drove us all over Kruger and for most of the the time we were on the dirt roads. We got a sense for the vastness and the diversity within the park. We didn't stalk the animals like the private reserve and there weren't as many people on radios but we still had great sightings. My husband was thrilled to see so much eating going on. When we talked to guests at the private game reserve who did self drive safaris and compared our pictures, we think we did much better under Elvis's care. We also felt wrapped in luxary the entire time.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
2  Thank buffaloali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at Hoyo Hoyo for 3 nights in December to do a safari before heading on to Cape Town as part of our honeymoon.

The rooms are very nice - spacious, well appointed, air conditioned and comfortable. The game drives are excellent and the guides, Elvis and Dennis, are very good. We spotted all of the Big 5 and more. The food served for all meals was excellent.

The downsides to this lodge are: 1) it is not surrounded at the perimiter by a fence or wall, so you cannot do much outside of eating at the main lodge or staying in your room when you are not on a game drive. Three days was enough for us as we were getting restless, but this was an ok time to recover from jet lag; 2) the pool is very small and in sort of a strange location at the main lodge; 3) our biggest complaint -- they go overboard on customer service here. You cannot eat a meal without being approached every 5 minutes by a different staff member to see if everything is ok, and a quick response generally does not suffice. You really can't sit in the main lodge and expect to be left alone with each other to just have a drink.

While we appreciate good, attentive service, there is such a thing as going overhoard. It's a strange complaint, but as a couple from NYC, we go on vacation to be with eachother -- not the hotel staff. We had been at the hotel for about 3 hours when staff began asking us if we would be coming back next year. All in all, it was a bit much for us. We tried to convey this to the manager in a constructive way when we left but to no avail.

We had a good game experience, which was the goal of our stay. But if we are able to go back, we won't stay at Hoyo Hoyo again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NYJen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We only can say perfect. Great rooms with view,comfy beds, outdoor shower with elephant view, excellent food, great staff, lots of game.You will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lateran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Just a short few lines to tell anyone thinking of staying in kruger park then thisis the palce to do it. everyone was fantastic and very friendly. the rooms were out of this world!! would recommend to all only if they want the hoilday of a life time!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#40 of 175 in Kruger National Park
329 reviews
2.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#56 of 175 in Kruger National Park
412 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
429 reviews
15.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $509 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing