We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$691
$672
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$1,887
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$885
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$2,120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
264
53
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
53
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holeoutdoor showergame drivesrooms are beautifully decoratedgame drivertake photoswater holesong and dancesouthern africawooden deckwatching the animalsexceeded all expectationsan unforgettable experiencemain deckskukuza airportweek tripone of a kind
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 344 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here in July with my husband for 3 nights and we both had an amazing time. First of all i have to mention our Safari guide Dennis. He was brilliant at finding animals and we managed to see the big 5 plus we witnessed a cheetah kill. He really does seem to be the most experienced and best guide and also seems to really enjoy what he does. He made the safari experience unforgettable!

Our room was lovely , very traditional but with all the modern comforts and the outside shower was actually lovely and warm.

All of the food was very tasty and far above what i expected to be eating on safari and the kitchen staff were very accomodating to my fussy food habits. The staff are very helpful without being 'in your face' and i would highly recommend the lodge to anyone.

Tip: be aware that 'all inclusive' only refers to you drinks on safari.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UKELLEN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Hoyo Hoyo Tsonga lodge. When you stay at places like Hoyo Hoyo, you basically spend 7-8 hours a day on two safari rides -- a morning ride starting around 6 am, and a late afternoon ride starting around 4 pm. The rest of the day revolves around those two rides, and includes breakfast back at the lodge around 10 am, lunch at 1 pm, high tea at 3 pm, and dinner at 7 pm. Between the fantastic meals and being carted around everywhere, you can easily get very comfortable and very fat, very quickly.

Hoyo Hoyo was a terrific experience overall, with several pluses worth writing about. First of all, the staff -- Julius, Nicholas, Given, Wonder and the others -- are all fun personalities and they really pamper you while you're there. The food was terrific; we are both vegetarians and I was a little concerned about the food, but the first night's dinner included the most delicious vegetable patties and pasta that I've ever had! The location is great too... inside the park with a watering hole a few yards from the main deck. When we weren't on safari, we spent most of our time on the deck watching animals -- including elephants, buffalo and warthogs -- and birds at the watering hole. The rooms themselves are very comfortable and cosy; the outdoor shower (apparently a South Africa "thing") is fun and very liberating! Finally, our safari guide Oscar was brilliant. He was able to spot even a chameleon on a leaf, after sunset, while simultaneously driving at 30 km/hour, talking to us, and shining a spot beam back and forth looking for animals. That's the sort of guide you want as you engage in an animal-sighting safari!

A couple of things to keep in mind. Because of the location deep inside Kruger, there is no internet access and very sporadic cellphone access (and that is literally when you stand next to a light pole on the main deck). This is not a problem as long as you're aware of it -- but if you plan to communicate with the outside world while you're at the lodge, you should let Julius and the staff know so they can help you access email from Imbali Lodge, a nearby property owned by the same group. Also note that on any such safari, you can't really walk around or get much physical activity -- you're either lounging around at the lodge, or you're in a safari vehicle.

Overall, we highly recommend Hoyo Hoyo for the staff, the location and the service. They will really make your stay enjoyable and worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SRvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The stay in Hoyo Hoyo was a pleasure, but the highlight were the game spotting drives. Dennis, the guide, was amazing by what he showed us. He did his very best to show us the wildlife, and spotted animals that we would never be able to spot ourselves. He would be a reason to return to Hoyo Hoyo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My mother and I stayed here on one of the last legs our our trip around South Africa. The staff as AMAZING from the security to the waiters to our game driver. When I booked this place I had no idea it would be as nice as it was. I had read a few reviews and saw pics from their website but, we definitely pleasantly surprised. And the food was delicious. The only draw back is because we traveled in April, using an outdoor shower was a little tough as it was cold outside. But the water was hot and they have comfy big towel bath robes to soften the blow of showering outside. Side note: One night, from the lodge deck we saw a female lion drinking water from the watering hole. That was really cool!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank comet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at Hoyo Hoyo in May 2012. From the welcoming smiles, the efforts of the staff ( Rodgers, Given, Ralph) the delicious and plentiful food ( best pannacotta ever) and a very knowledgeable guide in Salani, I cannot recommend Hoyo Hoyo enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews