We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming staff at Hoyo Hoyo Tsonga lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Hoyo Hoyo Tsonga lodge. When you stay at places like Hoyo Hoyo, you basically spend 7-8 hours a day on two safari rides -- a morning ride starting around 6 am, and a late afternoon ride starting around 4 pm. The rest of the day revolves around those two rides, and includes breakfast back at the lodge around 10 am, lunch at 1 pm, high tea at 3 pm, and dinner at 7 pm. Between the fantastic meals and being carted around everywhere, you can easily get very comfortable and very fat, very quickly.

Hoyo Hoyo was a terrific experience overall, with several pluses worth writing about. First of all, the staff -- Julius, Nicholas, Given, Wonder and the others -- are all fun personalities and they really pamper you while you're there. The food was terrific; we are both vegetarians and I was a little concerned about the food, but the first night's dinner included the most delicious vegetable patties and pasta that I've ever had! The location is great too... inside the park with a watering hole a few yards from the main deck. When we weren't on safari, we spent most of our time on the deck watching animals -- including elephants, buffalo and warthogs -- and birds at the watering hole. The rooms themselves are very comfortable and cosy; the outdoor shower (apparently a South Africa "thing") is fun and very liberating! Finally, our safari guide Oscar was brilliant. He was able to spot even a chameleon on a leaf, after sunset, while simultaneously driving at 30 km/hour, talking to us, and shining a spot beam back and forth looking for animals. That's the sort of guide you want as you engage in an animal-sighting safari!

A couple of things to keep in mind. Because of the location deep inside Kruger, there is no internet access and very sporadic cellphone access (and that is literally when you stand next to a light pole on the main deck). This is not a problem as long as you're aware of it -- but if you plan to communicate with the outside world while you're at the lodge, you should let Julius and the staff know so they can help you access email from Imbali Lodge, a nearby property owned by the same group. Also note that on any such safari, you can't really walk around or get much physical activity -- you're either lounging around at the lodge, or you're in a safari vehicle.

Overall, we highly recommend Hoyo Hoyo for the staff, the location and the service. They will really make your stay enjoyable and worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SRvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 306 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

The stay in Hoyo Hoyo was a pleasure, but the highlight were the game spotting drives. Dennis, the guide, was amazing by what he showed us. He did his very best to show us the wildlife, and spotted animals that we would never be able to spot ourselves. He would be a reason to return to Hoyo Hoyo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My mother and I stayed here on one of the last legs our our trip around South Africa. The staff as AMAZING from the security to the waiters to our game driver. When I booked this place I had no idea it would be as nice as it was. I had read a few reviews and saw pics from their website but, we definitely pleasantly surprised. And the food was delicious. The only draw back is because we traveled in April, using an outdoor shower was a little tough as it was cold outside. But the water was hot and they have comfy big towel bath robes to soften the blow of showering outside. Side note: One night, from the lodge deck we saw a female lion drinking water from the watering hole. That was really cool!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank comet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at Hoyo Hoyo in May 2012. From the welcoming smiles, the efforts of the staff ( Rodgers, Given, Ralph) the delicious and plentiful food ( best pannacotta ever) and a very knowledgeable guide in Salani, I cannot recommend Hoyo Hoyo enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The staff at Hoyo Hoyo are fabulous, so friendly and knowledgeable and made my stay in Kruger NP the highlight of my 3 week stay in Southern Africa. Salani our guide/tracker found all the of the Big 5 for us in the first hour of our dawn trek, and then we saw so much more. The rooms are lovely, clean and quiet, and the main rooms are beautifully decorated with African crafts and furniture. The food was amazing for a place in the bush, eaten on a deck overlooking the waterhole where the animals visit. The manager Rodger does a wonderful job, and the staff are all happy which makes for a great time for guests. Fabulous five billion stars rating under the African night sky.

Room Tip: Room 6 was away from the carpark and main road, so I guess except for the wild animals passing by it...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AussiesX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The staff is very obliging and helpful. On the last day we wanted to leave early and they prepared us a very nice breakfast takeaway.
The guides are very good and knowledgable, and the resident waterhall is very nice, we actually saw elifants during brakfast and dinner! and we had an impala at our porch several times!
Two things that bothered me a little:
- The swimming pool is a little run down - needs repainting and the deck needs to be cleaned and repainted.
- The drinks are charged at the end os the stay. I would think that for this price they can serve the drinks for free...

Room Tip: I would do one night and continue to other places in Kruger to see more variety of animals
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dagant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great time the two nights we stayed at Hoyo Hoyo. Dennis (game guide) spotted things that I would've never seen. And he was so good at positioning the vehicle so everyone got the shots they wanted (the only guide that was able to do this in our trip to Africa). The staff are so friendly and the food was delicious. Loved all of the wildlife, especially the warthog that stayed outside of our hut.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank targirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#42 of 175 in Kruger National Park
325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#59 of 175 in Kruger National Park
405 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
372 reviews
15.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
451 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $604 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing