We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best part of our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best part of our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Imbali safari Lodge and the team that runs it are both outstanding, when we were planning our honeymoon on 2007 we thought that our Mauritius week would be the fairy tale part of our trip which also covered South Africa. We were so wrong, our enjoyment was more important to the team at Imbali than it was to us, The accommodation, service, food and indeed the views were breathtaking. We saw a Lion kill whilst out one morning and one day hope to return to this spectacular part of the world.

We spent 5 days here which was probably a little to long as there are only so many Safaris you can go out on once you have seen the big 5.

Our terrace had it's own hot tub and both Sarah & I could not have a had a better time.

Amazing Memories.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steventhomasholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at Imbali Safari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Honeymoon and that we “stole” some of the limelight away from the Tropical Islands. We would love to have you back any time.

Yours in Hospitality
The Imbali Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    70
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
207
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at Imbali Lodge in september 2013. Family of 4 adults + 1 child.

The location of the resort is amazing. Its about 1.5 hrs from kruger gate, but believe me you won't mind the drive. We saw all the major animals on the way.

The rooms are large, with well equipped bathrooms. The best part is the view from the dining place. Imbali has made a watering hole in front of it. We enjoyed our meals in the company of Giraffes, elephants, rhinos. The deers can walk right inside the resort, upto your rooms. Amazing. As for the Ranger ask for Oscar. He is the best.

We have 2 complaints.
1. This resort is not made for kids. So families best to avoid this. Other than game drives there is not much to do. With kids avoid, else perfect.

2. The food left much to be desired. They advertise on their website that they customise food as per guest requirements, but we did'nt find that. Specially the vegetarian options were bad. In our entire South African experience, Food here was most lacking.

Room Tip: Take rooms with the heated jacuzzi. Many rooms have only plunge pools with very cold water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtitRuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Traveller,

As we strive for service excellence, we thank you for taking the time to
write a review on your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge as it is only through
honest feedback like yours that we can constantly improve our service.

We are delighted that your safari expectations were met and that you had
a memorable experience. Your praise for your guide, Oscar, has been
conveyed to him and the Executive Chef has been made aware of your
comments regarding the vegetarian meals.

A Kiddies Programme, aimed at keeping the little ones entertained while
educating them about the environment and the wildlife, is available and
we apologise if this option was not offered to you upon arrival.

The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place is something straight out of a story book! From the pick up from the airport to the early morning wake up calls for the safari drive!! I could not fault the fantastic staff! In particular James, Winston, Baldwin & Henry were brilliant! Our rooms were cleaned twice a day & the food was sensational! We felt so removed from the rest of the world for the 4 days we were there. In a word.......magic! The safari drives were spectacular having seen everything from the big 5 to a foraging honey badger! We even were joined by 4 lions at our sundowner drinks. They enjoyed it so much they took off with our cooler box. Thank you all for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyswobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. I am delighted to see that we could match your expectations and provide you with a truly memorable Safari. I will convey your positive comments to all the staff as well as your guide James.

Management
Imbali Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeydew, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay and fantastic rooms! The staff were very friendly and well trained! Our game drives were interesting and we had good viewing. Our rooms was well appointed and private with lots of special touches! The hot jacuzzi on the private patio over looking the river is unique. Nothing better than lazing in the Jacuzzi watching the animals coming to drink at the river. Well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R0nelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Traveller,

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the room you were staying in was just what was needed for your Safari getaway.
The Management and Staff at Imbali Safari Lodge strive to give each and every guest the best holiday experience we possibly can. We are therefore extremely happy that your visit went well, and that the animal sightings around the Lodge and during Safari Drives were good during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Imbali Safari Lodge in the future.

Yours in Hospitality
IMBALI MANAGEMENT TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The lodge and rooms were great. Service was great. However, what you don't know is that there are two types of rooms. One with a jacuzzi outside and one with a whirlpool. The jacuzzi is heated, the whirlpool is not. The rooms are great, spacious and a great view of the river.

The guide was good but definitely not exceptional. I have been on a lot of professional level safari's where the guide knows exactly what to do when. If you see some Rhino's let the guests get a few photographs before trying to get too close and scaring them away.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a jacuzzi or whirlpool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We value constructive criticism as we are committed to implementing changes and improvements where necessary to ensure that the guest experience is enhanced.

Regards,
The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent a relaxing 7 nights at the beautiful Imbali Lodge for the first part of our honeymoon. I cannot recommend a better place to spend if you are looking for a place to get away from the mad city! Even though you are in the heart of the wilderness, you are surrounded by luxury! There is nothing quite like slipping into a warm jacuzzi with a cocktail, looking out at the glistening riverbed and watching the game passing through it. The food in decadent and you are sure to get a real taste of Africa . The game drives are spectacular and the field guides are all so knowledgable, I highly recommend Stefan! He went out of his way to share his incredible knowledge about the bush with us and his captivating stories will stay forever in our minds... "Ooooo Vrek".

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrahrymer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Traveller,

We, at Imbali Lodge, strive for excellence in everything we do and are extremely pleased to learn that your stay was memorable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliment regarding the food and staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Imbali Lodge in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
IMBALI MANAGEMENT TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just left the imbali safari lodge after 4 nights and had a wonderful stay at this beautiful lodge. Rooms are stunning with amazing views of the bush. We saw elephant, baboons, giraffe and even a leopard just drinking from the waterhole at the lodge dining area. Our guide Nicholas was brilliant with a great sense of humor and made sure we got to see the big five on our game drives as well as cheetah twice! food was really good and service good. We hope to return to imbali again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our lodge as well as your guide Nicholas. I will make sure to convey your review to him as well. We hope to welcome you back to Imbali in future.

The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#89 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#50 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing