We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing holiday experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June. We saw the big 5 up close and personal all thanks to our wonderful guide Oscar. We wish we had stayed longer as we went onto another lodge in a private reserve and the experience was not the same, even though it was more expensive. The Imbali lodge and accommodation, ambience, the location, the food and wine were all fantastic and our 9 year old also loved it, thanks to Oscar and the rest of the Imbali staff. We have travelled all over the world and the guided safaris led by Oscar were one of our best experiences to date. The hotels service and facilities were also outstanding and we are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_kylie_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for the glowing review. We appreciate the feedback and will pass your comments onto Oscar. We look forward to welcoming you back to Imbali. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    74
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
72
219
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a rocking experience. From the luxurious cottage to the wild experience - everything was wonderful. Great staff attitude. They even had birthday performances ready and those were awesome, at least for us.

The safari experience was good, although we didn't see any lions - but we made it to BIG 4 in two days. The guides were dot on as well.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalmanKasbati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for taking the time to put your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in future and to show you the Lions you missed on your safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Only spent one night here - but overall the experience was great - Henry at front desk was exceptional - great to see such a strong service ethic. Food was excellent. View from main entertainment desk stunning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmg57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear jmg57_10

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us although it was for only one night. I will convey your message to Hendry and the kitchen staff as well. Take care and next time, stay longer. Hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

May 2013 Imbali Safari Lodge was our first stop on our Holiday, we flew in and greeted by a driver from the lodge took about just over 2 hours to get to the Lodge and it was an amazing ride we saw so many animals, our driver was very helpful telling us about the area and wild life.
We had 4 nights, the safaris were breath taking, we were lucking to see the big five, our driver Andrew was extremely knowledgeable, we stopped for hot drinks in the morning and a sunset drink in the evening (great way to have a G & T) we were greeted with hot towels in the evening a baileys or drink of some sort waiting for us on our return, breakfast was very good, as for dinner (3 course) I can only but compliment the chef on a fantastic selection and great taste and excellent service. (lunch was 3 course and very good also). Our room was perfect and well serviced after a long trip from New Zealand, it was a great way to rest during the day for us, the mornings and nights got very cold the days were lovely. (take some warm clothes for the safari that you can layer they have big coats you can put on as well) The Jacuzzi was lovely to relax in and the animals walked past us, you are escorted at night to and from your room just encase there was any animals around. We saw some amazing sites we can not thank all the staff at the Imbali Safari Lodge enough for there incredible service and wonderful host you made our holiday a perfect start

Room Tip: ask for one by the river bed (although it is dry the animals still walk through) and a warm jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear chrismuz

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback received about your stay with us at Imbali. I’m so glad that we could get your South African holiday started with a successful safari. I hope that you had a great stay in South Africa and I will convey your feedback to Andrew. We hope to see you soon again!

Yours in Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Imbali lodge in Kruger National Park. We arrived in the park through the Malelane Gate early and spent several hours driving around the south west seeing many animals. Be sure to watch the clock because it takes several hours to reach the Imbali and you must be off the roads by curfew. We were greeted and checked in to our rooms in a timely fashion. Each cottage is a stand-alone space with a large netted bed, seating area and large well-appointed bath. Plenty of towels, coffee maker, hairdryer and bottled water.The large deck looks out over the river with a covered chaise lounge space and the hot tub is large. There is an electric fence around the property to keep most of the animals out- elephants probably not....
The lodge has access to a private concession of the park. Morning and evening drives are available for guests. Be sure to get up- the animals are out very early. mid-day is quiet in the park. Our ranger was great! Be sure to ask for Steffan. He obviously loves his job. He can't promise what you will find but he certainly searched for the animals and is knowledgable about the animals, birds, reptiles and the park itself. We asked lots of questions. Part way throught the drive we stopped for coffee or cocktails, depending on the time.
Breakfast is ready and waiting for you when you return at 9am and dinner is served when you return at 7 pm.
The lodge serves plenty of food and most of the food was very well prepared. Staff is friendly and truly want you to enjoy your stay.
I would say that the price is reasonable since it includes all your food, 2 drives a day and a large lovely cottage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We honestly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Imbali Safari lodge in April. It is a beautiful lodge. Good food, friendly staff, comfy cottage where Impalas & giraffes came visiting us. We really enjoyed the lodge.

However safari drives were a bit disappointing. We spotted only 2 of the Big five (elephant & rhino). The guide mentioned that they need to really work hard to spot animals unlike other places. We did not spot any of the big cats or predators, even the elephant & wilder beast spotted were just singles & no herds could be found. We traveled across continents to South Africa specifically for wild life & to see the big cats in its natural environment. So it was a huge disappointment for us. We spotted many birds though which compensated to some extent..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jxsures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was a favourable one. We take note of your disappointment however, due to the above average rainfall and floods experienced in January, the majority of animals are scattered in the Park, as water is very easily accessible. Game is not concentrated around waterholes as is usually the case. Since the animals are scattered, the predators are also scattered, this being, we operate in one of Africa’s last true wildernesses with animals being able to traverse huge areas and not boxed in by fences. Unfortunately, the spotting of animals is not guaranteed, although our trained guides do their best to give our guests a good sighting of the Big 5 and the predators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Imbali Safari Lodge in February 2013. From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with the lodge, the staff, the ambiance, and the elegant and comfortable decor. The game drives were fantastic and the guides were very knowledgeable. On one afternoon game drive, we stopped and the guides actually served us ice cream cones! We met wonderful people and made friends with a couple from England and a couple from Australia. We enjoyed excellent full-spread buffet breakfasts with eggs-to-order and delicious cappuccinos, delicious full lunches, english tea complete with different treats every day (Scones, mini-quiches, pastries, shortbread), and over-the-top served dinners. We enjoyed sharing wine with others at our table and toasting to the big-five animals we'd seen on the day's game drives. This was a honeymoon trip for us, and I pre-arranged red roses and a bottle of wine to surprise my husband. In addition, every night, the staff arranged a romantic surprise in our room for us. They arranged rose-petals on the bed in a heart shape one night. We came back from dinner another night to find a hot bubble-bath with rose petals and a candle-lit bathroom. It was truly the trip of a lifetime and one of the most idealistic settings we could have imagined! Imbali is a "must do", and we cannot wait to bring our kids back with us some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon_Mel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 172 in Kruger National Park
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#52 of 172 in Kruger National Park
301 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#91 of 172 in Kruger National Park
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#12 of 172 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
8.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing