We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Experience!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Imbali! A very nice and cozy hotel with great staff, charming rooms and good food. A highlight was the early morning safaris with our knowledgeable rangers. We saw all the Big 5 and spotted many, many more animals. Ending a busy day with dinner and drinks on the patio overlooking the river bed and the watering hole, just amazing! We felt very well taken care of and left with many wonderful memories!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    77
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
76
224
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were disappointed by the lodge but loved being in the Kruger, the amazing animal density in the Satara - Orpen area as well as its diversity. We disliked the lack of attention to detail at the lodge, it needed a good springclean, it was scruffy and also needed a good maintenance inspection. The staff openly touted for personal tips which was also most annoying. Most well managed lodges have a pooling system or box for gratuities for the general staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Me and 18 more friends stayed two nights at Imbali. We were very gladly surprised and amazed since the very first moment. The care of the staff with us was such a high point, African people.
The rooms were fantastic, but my jacuzzi was not working. For me there was no problem because I could bath at someone else´s room. The pond in front of the lounge is just an amazing thing. We were welcomed by 4 or 5 big elephants and all the time there were some animals stopping there: giraffes, warthogs, hienas, impalas, baboons, jackals.
The ranger Oscar was the best! He really tried with us finding the Big 5 but unfortunatelly there was no leopard.
But the highest moment was during a dinner when all the staff entered into the restaurant singing African popular songs. We danced, sang and cryed! Very unique! Shosholoza...
The manager Gerald very polite and attentive.
The food was good but not exceptional!
I would return there always.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdsf1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is one of the best resprts that we have stayed at. We never expected this kind of luxury and care in the middle of hte Kruger. The staff, the location of the lodge, the ambience, the

decor of the rooms and the lodge over all was near perfect. The rooms were really awesome. the service very meticulous, the shower, the bath tub and esp. the jacuzzi are the best thing abt

the rooms - all of them open out to the river bed and the park. The safari rangers were the best one can get - really knowledgeable and they out every effort to ensure u get to see most of

the Big 5 on the morning / evening safaris so that one doesnt leave disappointed. they could do with putting together more vegeterian dishes more suitable for the indian palatte. i wud

rate it 10 on 10.

Would suggest that one day before arriving / departing - u re confirm pick up / drop off arrangements from the airport to the lodge directly or with ur agent because one cannot get taxis on

HDS airport and the lodge is a good 2.5 hrs away frm the airport.

Room Tip: choose a cottage facing the river bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhishekG_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at imbali for 3 nights when we were at Kruger national park. The minute we entered the place, we knew we had chosen right. The lounge area, the swimming pool, dining with their mahogany wood furniture and animal artifacts were simply fabulous. Our cottage was cozy, all done up in wood with a private deck i overlooking a dried up river bed. there was a jzcuzzi too on the deck which was warm and oh so much fun - to bathe right in the open in the middle of the jungle!! Luckily for us we spotted all the Big 5 on our drives. The rangers were knowledgeable and just wouldnt give up! So we spotted so many animals all thanks to Andrew and his team.
Back to the hotel, staff was extremely polite and courteous. But food was a bit if a disappointment esp since we are vegetarians. But to be honest we didnt have high expectations of great food in SA. Other than the food, I absouletely loved every minute spent at Imbali!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Imbali was the second place we flew into for our visit to Kruger National Park. The decor was very different, and I think it needs a little more care than it has had over the years.

Our room was very nice but not as clean as I would have liked. The animals on the roof at night made for a very messy deck and an unusable hot tub. Employees made some attempt at cleaning the outdoor area, but in comparison with our previous lodge, they were not very successful. And yes, we had many animals at the first place, too!

Food was adequate, but the service was erratic. Settling the bar bill at the end of our stay proved very difficult.

Our guide was very proficient at finding animals to show us, and our outdoor experiences were good. I only wish he had spent more "social" time with us as at the other lodges as we visitors always have questions about what we have seen. Eating dinner with us would have been nice.

I would return if I had a future opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice hotel. Good food, very friendly staff, lovely rooms. Five elephants just a stone's throw away while having dinner on the patio! Unforgettable!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#56 of 174 in Kruger National Park
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#46 of 174 in Kruger National Park
313 reviews
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#87 of 174 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing