We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cozy in the Jungle”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at imbali for 3 nights when we were at Kruger national park. The minute we entered the place, we knew we had chosen right. The lounge area, the swimming pool, dining with their mahogany wood furniture and animal artifacts were simply fabulous. Our cottage was cozy, all done up in wood with a private deck i overlooking a dried up river bed. there was a jzcuzzi too on the deck which was warm and oh so much fun - to bathe right in the open in the middle of the jungle!! Luckily for us we spotted all the Big 5 on our drives. The rangers were knowledgeable and just wouldnt give up! So we spotted so many animals all thanks to Andrew and his team.
Back to the hotel, staff was extremely polite and courteous. But food was a bit if a disappointment esp since we are vegetarians. But to be honest we didnt have high expectations of great food in SA. Other than the food, I absouletely loved every minute spent at Imbali!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    74
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
72
218
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Imbali was the second place we flew into for our visit to Kruger National Park. The decor was very different, and I think it needs a little more care than it has had over the years.

Our room was very nice but not as clean as I would have liked. The animals on the roof at night made for a very messy deck and an unusable hot tub. Employees made some attempt at cleaning the outdoor area, but in comparison with our previous lodge, they were not very successful. And yes, we had many animals at the first place, too!

Food was adequate, but the service was erratic. Settling the bar bill at the end of our stay proved very difficult.

Our guide was very proficient at finding animals to show us, and our outdoor experiences were good. I only wish he had spent more "social" time with us as at the other lodges as we visitors always have questions about what we have seen. Eating dinner with us would have been nice.

I would return if I had a future opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nice hotel. Good food, very friendly staff, lovely rooms. Five elephants just a stone's throw away while having dinner on the patio! Unforgettable!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciudad de mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Imbali Lodge is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed. Is kind of a boutique hotel located in a private reserve on Kruger National Park. On your arrival you are received by almost all the staff of the hotel including de manager an owner. You are attended with traditional drinks and lots of attention. In front of the hotel there is a like a pool of water for wild animals to drink so they come there and you can watch them right in front the hotel lobby! But don't worry they can't get into the hotel since there is a protecting fence...The lobby is great there is a swimming pool and everything is luxurious and very "african" style. The restaurant is magnific, is the best of all the ones i visited in south africa. The lodges are 5 star with a luxurious victorian african style, well i certainly recomend this lodge a lot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monejo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The lodge is placed right in the center of Kruger - and this is invaluable as we got to spend the best hours in the early mornings and late evenings watching the most spectacular animal encounters - instead of driving to/from the park where all have to be out in the evening unless they stay overnight. Our guide Werner was one of the best guides we have ever had on our many travels around the world. He really knows Kruger, the animals, the nature etc. He is engaged and we learned ever so much from him. Furthermore, this is an especially warm recommendation for families with children - if your kids can appreciate the experiences, then Werner is the person to make them feel both welcome and respectful. Our three children got the time of their lives. As did their grand parents and us. Imbali Lodge and the staff delivered a superb and impeccable experience - from the staff serving the meals, to those making the rooms ready with bedtime stories with African tales of how the elephant got its trunk and more...

Oh - and yeah, they drive real Land Rovers :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

A Fantastic honeymoon at a Fantastic Lodge...!! Me and my wife stayed 6 nights at Imbali safari lodge for our Honeymoon!! From the minute we arrived the service was excellent, I can really not fault anything! On arrival welcoming drinks were waitng for us as well as ice cold face cloths and plenty of friendly faces. A quick ckeck in and off we went to our amazing chalet. Every chalet is huge with kingsize bed, a private deck and jacuzzi overlooking a dry river bed. The shower and bathing area overlooks the river and the bush beyond. The food is great and more that enough. The game drives are exciting and the game rangers very sharp, they hardly miss a animal! All the staff are very friendly, helpfull and full of surprizes like a romantic private dinner on your deck.! We will definitely return in the near future!!

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCHarmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kohima
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

one of the most welcoming and homely places i have stayed at. lovely location with more than nice individual huts which look traditional from outside but are luxurious on the inside. Every room has a private deck and jacuzzi with the shower and bathing area overlooking the river and the bush beyond. The staff are a great lot-from the housekeeping to the rangers. The lady who manages the lodge - Natalie is is great lady and she walked the extra mile to make sure that our stay was comfortable and to our convenience. The rangers were also good trackers and they ensured that we saw more than our share of game on every safari. the food was good but we felt most at home as we were allowed to use the kitchen to prepare our own dishes. The icing on the cake was that the chef had closely observed our cooking (which is completely different from their style of cooking) and on subsequent meals we were served with our own dishes prepared by them. No TV, no mobile networks and no newspapers ensured a complete and satisfying break for us. It will also be a nice place to go to with wife or girlfriend/boyfriend as the setting is romantic and exotic. The health treatments by the masseurs/therapists were great too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbuMetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#42 of 171 in Kruger National Park
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 171 in Kruger National Park
301 reviews
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#93 of 171 in Kruger National Park
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#12 of 171 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
8.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing