We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING PLACE WITH LACK OF FOOD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Outpost
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE WITH LACK OF FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

The place is amazing and the bedroom is also very good. The service and the game driving were ok. I'm only disapointed because I just discovered there that the north part of the kruger has less animals than south. But the biggest concern is about the food. The quality and taste were ok. But you can't serve small VERY portions in a place where you don't have other options to eat something. The first meal there was a small salad. Sorry, but only if you are doing a diet you wanna eat a small salad for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKARAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Marketing Manager at The Outpost, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
We have replied to HKaram regarding their comments on the food at The Outpost. It is unfortunate that HKaram did not feel that their was sufficint food however I'm sure that if they had approached one of the staff memebrs or managemnet they certainly would've sorted the issue out immediatly. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
133
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Amazing design and accommodations, very honey moonish. Breath taking view; having a shower looking at the animals down the river is priceless. Air cooling system is fantastic, as it gets really hot, even not in Summer.

Staff is very kind and polite and the house keeping is really good.

Food is ok (french style). However, as all meals are included, they should provide options for biggers portions, room service (even paid) or (real) snacks in betweens. Lunch is tiny sized and right after you head to a 2nd round of a 3h game driving. Not the kind of hotel you should carry a bag of snacks for when you're hungry.

Game drivings really nice and rangers are very well trained.

But dont expect to see loads of animals all the time. Apparently this North part of the Kruger has much less predators than other ones and sometimes you see nothing but impalas, buffalos and kudus. (a bit disappointing tho but not their fault).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

This lodge is a must see; a very special and modern design. Your room basically has just one wall to the back and a roof; the rest is open (curtains can be closed), which provides an amazing atmosphere. If you skip one game drive in the morning you can enjoy an unmatched sunrise right from your bed. If the wheather is windy, it can be quite noisy, which we didn't mind. Service quality is absolutely outstanding and all stuff are just lovable. With a limited number of rooms (15?), its very family like. Lodge is isolated, which gives it its special character and is hence very peaceful. Food quality is outstanding and served at a large table jointly with all guests and your ranger (unless you prefer your privacy). Spend 2-3 days that you will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oreinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I can only add my agreement to the later reviews of The Outpost: if there was an issue with management in the past, it is now gone.

When we arrived at midday on the first day, and the temperature in the car showed 40+, we were greeted with cold washcloths, an ice cold drink, and friendly smiles from both management and staff. This continued throughtout our stay, and nothing seemed to be an inconvenience, problem or issue.

We went there to experience the bush on foot, and pre-arranged all our walks with The Outpost (good idea if you are interested in walking). I must say that they have managed to get hold of a very experienced and good guide, Johna. In all we had four walks with Johna, all to different areas, all with different results in terms of game and birds seen, and all equally enjoyable. The morning walks start early, so be prepared to head off in the dark to start walking by first light. The afternoon walks start around 3, with the usual sundowners and snacks at the end. All walks were between two and three hours, wich gives you plenty of time to enjoy the pool over lunch.

The food is of the highest standard, and is of both a quality and quantity to keep you fuelled for your walks. Dinner is three courses served in a private setting, and there is always someone there to take away your emty plate or refill your glass, without you even noticing.

I also must mention the quietness of the place, and to me this is a huge plus. No disturbing muzac in the background, no cellphones beeping, no SMSs, no TV. Bliss!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingNZaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

I'm a bit surprised to read the recent negative reviews. My husband and I spent four nights there in June 2009 and had an amazing experience. Everything - from the food to the service to the game rides - was five star. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, The Outpost doesn't have its own guide, but contracts them from Ecotraining nearby, and their guides are really well trained - our guide was exceptionally knowledgable, and had no trouble finding game (and was also very young - I say this in response to the review below that criticized a guide for his youth). On our last day, when we were the only people at the lodge, the guide took us out for an extra-long drive. The service overall was impeccable, and we even received a complementary upgrade to their best unit. And the food was simply amazing. The setting is simply stunning, and one of the best aspects of this part of Kruger is the few number of people you'll encounter on game drives - it's as if you have the park to yourself. I thought The Outpost was really good value for money compared to other private lodges near Kruger.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessican1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Outpost is simply one of the most stunning places I’ve ever stayed.

The rooms are utterly unique – 3 walls have been removed and replaced with floor to ceiling electric blinds which when opened (and we hardly ever had them closed) allow 180 degree views of the incredibly beautiful Luvuvhu river valley and the wildlife below. Bring your binos and enjoy game viewing from the comfort of your daybed or bath!

The lodge has been very thoughtfully designed and sits very well in its environment nestled into the side of a steep hill – it reminded me quite a lot of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge in Namibia. Though super-stylish there is absolutely nothing pretentious about The Outpost and we found the atmosphere and staff really relaxed and friendly. Some of the other posts mention negative experiences because a change of ownership and management. We're glad to report that these issues appear to have been ironed out. We found the guide, staff and management very competent and professional without being pretentious.

We’ve been on safari quite a few times before, but never in the Northern Kruger and we absolutely loved the very different landscape and vegetation we experienced there. It’s a paradise for walkers and birders and though we aren’t the latter we couldn’t but help get enthused by our superb guide, Pierre - the birdlife is prolific, very unique to the area and his knowledge was seriously impressive! However, Northern Kruger is not packed with big 5 mammal - if this is your first and only safari, you may want to head further south or combine the Outpost with other safari options.

Experiencing the landscape, flora and fauna on foot is an absolute must – we’ve done walking safaris elsewhere, but they just didn’t compare with the beauty of the area surrounding The Outpost. Whilst they didn’t have a permanent walking guide on site when we visited (end Oct), they expect to do so very soon and in the meantime walks can be arranged if sufficient notice is given.

This place is a real find.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This is the perfect hideaway for a couple or single that feels to get away from the city life. No mobile connection (even though you can use their land line in the reception if you get desperate). The nicest view from a room/bathtub I've ever had. Loved laying in the bathtub and watching the buffalos/impala/baboons etc drinking water by the river.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were usually served at one table with everyone seated together including the safari guide and a staff member from the Makuleke community. A great opportunity to hear their stories and share experiences.

Game drives were made every morning at 6 a clock until 10-11 and then again in the afternoon.

The Outpost has a modern architecture, but the materials are rustic so it fits very well with its surrounding. We stayed there for 8 days and the days just flew away. I hope that I will have the opportunity to go back again one day...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biondelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
9.3 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#50 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
143.8 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#14 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
153.4 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#53 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#16 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
153.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
152.9 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost

Property: The Outpost
Address: Makuleke Region, Kruger National Park 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Outpost 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost lies in the Makuleke Contractual Park, a vast and remote wilderness area bordered to the north by the Limpopo River and Zimbabwe and to the east by Crooks Corner and Mozambique.The Big 5 Makuleke Contractual Park measures some 26 500 hectares and is well known for its abundant wildlife including less common species not evident in the southern and central regions of the park. Apart from large herds of elephant and buffalo, guests will be able to see Nyala, an antelope which is not easily found in the more southern regions of the park, and over 350 recorded bird species. The diverse terrain of the region includes Mopane Woodlands, Fever Tree forests, Acacia thickets as well as some of the largest and oldest Baobab specimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your The Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing