We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outpost
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Punda Maria Restcamp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
247
42
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
42
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfever treeluvuvhu riverbird guidegame drivestake your breath awayspectacular lodgenorthern parthoneymoon suitepels fishing owlcrooks cornerbaobab treean exceptional experiencehill overlookingincredible viewsfar northbird lifeout of this world
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 296 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Others have described the 'spaces', we were in #11 and the view is just mindblowing, miles of empty African scenery. The staff are really good, the food great but the best bit is the fact that the north of Kruger is empty of people, so when you're out on a game drive, you're on your own, and that is makes for a great feeling. There is only one public road through the area and The Outpost is able to go off road, so you really are in areas that others can't go.

The game is not as prevalent as elsewhere, but we saw plenty, and with really good birding, raptors plentiful.

All in all a fantastic place, just one word of advice - if you're in space 11 don't forget your bins, it's a long walk back! But the view is worth the walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnykemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms are completely amazing. They are open on three sides, with a view over the bush and the valley. We slept with the stars. On cold nights they provide you with hot water bottles.
The whole lodge is done in a minimalistic and modern style.
All meals are usually served at communal tables. The Wine selection could be improved.

The landscape is very diversified. River gorges, Forest, plains and lakes are found very near together. The wildlife matches the landscape. We saw many different species. More than at any other place we visited. Ali, our very experienced ranger, showed us many birds and rare species. We got to see hippos out of the water, Aardvark, bushbabys and much more. Meeting with the animals is different to the experience with had in other lodges in SA. The Outpost is almost the only lodge in these parts of the Kruger Park. On many safari drives we saw no other car. The animals are more shy. It's a big five area, but the sightings of the cats are limited (e.g. Leopards only at night time). Due to the recent floods at the beginning of the year several roads are still closed. Due to detours the safaris tend to be longer.
I believe that all the rooms are about the same. But the location of the rooms is quite different. As a rule of thumb, rooms the furthest away from the main lodge have the more dramatic view.
Be aware, mobile phones don't work and WLAN (or Internet) is not or only very limited available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_Asherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

All I can say is this is one of the most fantastic places we have stayed, and we have travelled quite a bit, especially in Southern Africa. The rooms, or "spaces" as they are called, are spectacular in that they are really just decks on stilts overlooking the valley with screens all around that you can open and close depending on the weather. Having a shower overlooking the river and the valley was an awesome experience. We had an elephant right underneath our room one night, making a lot of noise. Buck and other plains game were regular visitors to the river and it was good to have the different perspective of seeing them from above. I read some reviews about the portions being small, but to me it seemed that they never stopped feeding us! In fact on the second day we requested just a salad for lunch as we just couldn't put it all away! And trust me we tried as the food was delicious. The staff and service were faultless and nothing was too much trouble, not that we are demanding but it seemed that there was always someone around if you needed them. Our ranger, Andy, a young American chap who has fallen in love with Africa (snap!) was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the fauna and flora it was a pleasure to be out there with him and feel his enthusiasm. We saw plenty of game, perhaps we were just lucky. There are no huge herds here, but lots of pockets of zebra, giraffe, elephant, leopard. The bird life is phenomenal and I would love to go back in the summer when the migrants are around.

I cannot praise this lodge highly enough and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view - I think 10 and 11 are probably the best but it really doesn't matter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review on The Outpost. It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves to the extent you have. It is a very special place and there is so much to see and experience.

Andy has been with us a couple of months now and his passion for the area and wildlife in general is conveyed to the guests on both game drives walking trails.

Birding in the summer months is incredible and the area is very well known for it. Some species only occur in the Pafuri area in South Africa.

We hope it is not too long before you visit us again.

Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a fantastic breakaway spot! if it's peace and tranquillity you are after, this is it! A spectacular lodge in special settings with endless views across the mountains. the living spaces are well appointed, comfortable and immersed in the bush allowing you to totally become one with your surroundings. the lodge staff are efficient; yet friendly at the same time. The food is very good and scores full marks for presentation and taste.

With very few other vehicles almost a certainty, you have this special concession to yourself. for those who are interested in plants this area is a botanical wonderland, with rare plants around every corner.

If you are a 1st timer to Africa, be aware that this is big 5 territory; but sightings in this area are not as commonplace as elsewhere in commercial lodges; however the exclusivity and scenery more than make up for this. I would not let this deter from visiting this area.Walking in the area is also great with one being able to visit areas not accessible to all Kruger visitors.

This is a trip that was on the "bucket list" for some time and we were not disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but rooms 7-12 have the best views of the river and mountains. if you do not want to walk to far or be close to the lodge choose 1-6.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The lodge can exclusively use the Makuleke concession area so you can be sure that you will not see other vehicles on your game drive. And the best of all is that you can actually do bush walks among the big five with your guide.
The rooms, called spaces, are stunning with spectacular views. The staff is friendly and considerate and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Spaces 11 and12 have the best views but are quite far from the main area
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcaciaNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews