We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view from your bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Outpost
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great view from your bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

we had a very nice stay in this lodge. the bungalows are situated "up the hill" and the views are fantastic. more than the half of the bungalow is open !!
people are friendly, service is very good. wildlife no to much, but the landscape is beautiful.
as we do not like to drive always we joined a foot-safari several times with a very good guid.
so our recommendation is high rated

Room Tip: something different in kruger, not overcrowded like the southern part
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
132
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Outpost for three nights in October 2012. It was hands down the most unique bush lodge we have ever stayed at. The experience was truly 5 star from start to finish.

Our room was just gorgeous. As you'll see on the lodge website, the rooms are described as "spaces" and are essentially covered platforms nestled on the hillside above the Luvuvhu river valley with no walls. The view was incredible and the sunrise in the morning was magical. Everything about the room was very luxurious, especially the "bath with a view" and the outside shower. We slept with the shutters open every night to hear the sounds of the bush as we fell asleep..... stunning. Other fellow guests from outside South Africa did mention to us they were too nervous to sleep with the blinds open so the openness might not suit everyone. It is perfectly safe though, no animals can reach the room as it's elevated on a platform.

The food was delicious. We had breakfast and lunch with other fellow guests and a private dinner every night. Everything was beautifully prepared with very fresh ingredients.... quite amazing really at such a remote location. I still have dreams about the homemade peanut butter ice cream!

The highlight of our stay though was the bush experience. We have spent alot of time in the bush in various parts of southern Africa. This was our first time to Northern Kruger though and we were blown away by the landscape and topography. The fever tree forest was just beautiful, baobab trees are around every corner and Lanner gorge was fabulous. You won't find alot of big game in this part of the park as you do down south. But if you're a real bush lover, you'll probably enjoy this more. It's remote and the wildlife is breathtaking. If you're looking for the big five, this part of the park might not be for you. Having said that, we did have some amazing Buffalo and Elephant sightings.

The staff at the lodge couldn't have been nicer. Our guide, Danniella, was so knowledgeable on the area and was really passionate about the wildlife. This really added to our experience. The staff at the bar and restaurant were all lovely.

All in all, we would highly recommend The Outpost to anyone who is looking for a luxurious but unique experience in the bush. We can't wait to go back sometime.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest away from the main lodge on the right hand side have the most spectacular views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LailLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our second stay at The Outpost, and nicely timed for the January 2013 floods. The management and staff were fantastic. They did so much for not only their own guests, but for everyone else in the area which was cut off due to all roads out being closed. We cannot thank them enough.

It's true that there are less big animals in this region. But if you enjoy nature, you will love it here. It is so friendly and laid back, and this part of the park is so quiet. The Outpost is stunning, but it's a quirky kind of luxury, a bit raw at the same time. Anyone wanting fluffy luxury might find it a bit challenging, especially at night when you most notice that there aren't any real walls. But it's an experience like no other, and we absolutely love it.

We have had excellent guides both times we have stayed here.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but different views, privacy and walking distance. We have always been very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSnJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear SSnJS

Thank you so much for your comprehensive feedback and for visiting us again. I believe it was a little wet when you visited to say the least. It's great to hear how well the staff handled the situation. Fortunately things have dried up now to a large extent. Being where we are on the hill damage was fortunately minimal.

The good news is that the pans have all filled up now and the birdlife is just incredible. I last visited The Outpost in November and the area was as dry as a bone so the extensive rain was definitely a blessing.

I hope it's not too long before we welcome you back at The Outpost.


Best regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

First class from start to finish - this is how I would tell you how I felt about our 3 nights at The Outpost. On arrival we were greeted with great smiles and a big welcome - arrived just in time for a quick lunch and then out on our first evening drive. This is a beautiful part of the Kruger, and we sucked it all in. The fever tree forest, the boabab trees, Lanner Gorge and the incredible viewing of wildlife - it has been a long time since we have been in the bush and seen the 'Big 5' on one visit - every day was superb.....Our room was the BEST - with the whole of the front open made us feel like we were a part of nature. The view from the room breathtaking, and the large bath fabulous! The food was excellent and served beautifully in a lovely setting. Our guide Sarah was so hands on and made sure that our every whim was catered for - she was informative and interesting to listen to, and it was like being with a family member. The Outpost was most definately our "Eden" for the year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent three days at the Outpost and did 5 walking safaris. We walked into elephants, buffalo, warthogs, nyala, kudu. impala, hippos, crocs and jackals on foot... we tracked lions and leopards. IT was such a trilling experience to walk for hours without the rover and hear and feel nature. While yes, there is less big game up North, the topography is stunning, the fever trees, the baobab trees, the gorge. We also spent three days in Idube and while we saw big game all over the place, it is not nearly the same experience as walking. Both compliment each other.

The rooms are stunning. Staff amazng and our food was excellent. We were catered to hand and food. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is magical.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberta_K_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Marketing Manager at The Outpost, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Alberta_K_42

Thank you for your very positive review of The Outpost. It is always a pleasure haring how much our guests have enjoyed themselves. I must agree that walking in the concession is very special and a very enlightening experience.

Thank you once again and I sincerely hope we can welcome you back toThe Outpost in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there in January 2012 for two nights in space 12. This was the most impressive "hotel" room I had in my life. Don't expect to see the big five everyday (in 4 rides we saw a leopard on a baobab, elephants and buffalos) but expect a real safari as you won't meet many cars and it is not organised as a zoo park like in many parts of Kruger. Rooms were very clean, Food was ok, and the ranger not extremely experimented but we had a fantastic time at the outpost.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

we spent three glorious nights here. this was our second visit and it did not disappoint. the food is fantastic, staff are attentive and very well trained. the game drives are exciting (not a lot of game in the area at this time of the year though - but the bush is lush and dense and the bird life is great). sundowners overlooking gorges and breakfast in the fever tree forest made this a fantastic break. the rooms are like giant caves set back in the rock with the whole front open to the trees. with a huge bath under the stars and a day bed and king size bed and outside lounger. it is magnificent

Room Tip: the top room, room 12 has the best view but is far to walk. rooms 8, 9 are not so far and also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
9.3 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
143.8 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#30 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
153.4 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#55 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#16 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
153.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#54 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
152.9 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#49 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost

Property: The Outpost
Address: Makuleke Region, Kruger National Park 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Outpost 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost lies in the Makuleke Contractual Park, a vast and remote wilderness area bordered to the north by the Limpopo River and Zimbabwe and to the east by Crooks Corner and Mozambique.The Big 5 Makuleke Contractual Park measures some 26 500 hectares and is well known for its abundant wildlife including less common species not evident in the southern and central regions of the park. Apart from large herds of elephant and buffalo, guests will be able to see Nyala, an antelope which is not easily found in the more southern regions of the park, and over 350 recorded bird species. The diverse terrain of the region includes Mopane Woodlands, Fever Tree forests, Acacia thickets as well as some of the largest and oldest Baobab specimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your The Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing