We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lot's of Herbivores” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park

Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lot's of Herbivores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying in Letaba Guest house and entred through Phalaborwa Gate. On entry we saw a big tusker and then a herd of may be 30 elephants. Overall plenty of animanls to be seen across but Satara provides better probability of sighting Lions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuru_Arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kewaunee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Photo Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time; plus we saw lots of elephants, giraffes, and impala deer, and some lions plus numerous other animals. Most were fairly close. The guides did a nice job of making sure that we saw a variety. Overall, a great day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tdammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Going on Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Going on safari is an incredible experience. You are not really prepared for what your about to experience. The first thing we saw entering the park was an elephant, then zebras and warhogs, we were told by are guide the wild dogs were a rare occurence. We saw 3 of the big 5.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

You cannot rate this experience. Anything you see in Kruger, is based on pure luck and good timing. I have been to Kruger twice in the rainy season, and you cannot decide, what you want to see. The animals do not have tracking devices, as some do in the private reserves. You cannot go to Kruger and order a lion or a pack of wild hunting dogs.

I went to Kruger for the first time, it was in the early morning, meaning we had all day to look for animals. The first thing that happened was we entered Kruger in the bus, and out of nowhere came a big pack of wild dogs, surrounding the car, relaxing on the road, sniffing each other. It was truly magical. They started running slowly, as we drove beside them, while getting eye contact with several individuals. We saw lots of zebras and giraffe, and quite a few bull elephants too. Baboons, hyenas, vultures, buffalo, duiker, eagles, exotic birds and hippos in the dam.

Kruger is an example of true wilderness. Depending on where you go (Kruger is a transfrontier park, crossing several borders), you will see different nature including different wildlife. If you join a good guide, who has contact to others on drive, they will sometimes call each other, if they found something everyone wants to see, e.g. lions or cheetahs. If you go to Africa, and you're dying to see a cheetah, you should go to a private reserve.

Would go to Kruger anytime, but next time I will bring better binoculars, more time and my own car maybe! :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,378 reviews
474 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 956 helpful votes
“Game Drives Vary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

While in the park for several days we went on several game drives all of which were at night and with the park's employees. We did not go on any private game drives. The driver of the vehicle is the key to a good or poor night game drive. We don't think there are any really poor drives, however the interest of the driver will determine whether you have a fantastic drive or not. If the drive is watching the clock and only wants to get in his two hours or drive time, you more than likely will not see a lot of game and will have to wait until morning to go out on your own. We had one driver that went off the dirt roads to track down game and the entire group was excited when we heard the growls of that first lion and headed in that direction where we found two lions. These are great experiences that can't be duplicated.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park also viewed

Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing