We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip. A little long and sometimes don't always see something.”
Review of Nhongo Safaris

Nhongo Safaris
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$316.80*
and up
Open Vehicle Guided Day Drive from Kruger National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join one of our South African Open Vehicle Safaris into the World renowned Kruger National Park on either an overnight safari experience or even a Kruger Park day safari, which will enable you if staying on the perimeter of the Kruger Park the opportunity of seeing the Big 5 and experiencing the natural wonders of this magnificent game reserve.All our overnight Open Vehicle Game Viewing Safaris, from a Two Day to a Nine Day are conducted in our own safari vehicles and include all transfers, accommodation, dinner and breakfast, entrance fees and daily game drives. These safaris are not open to children under the age of ten years old. Please be advised that our safaris depart daily with a minimum of two guests traveling together. Many Have Copied,..... But none have mastered.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great trip. A little long and sometimes don't always see something.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went both early in the morning and one trip at sunset. These were really cool in seeing 4 of the great big 5. The animals seemed to not care that we were near. Monkeys were awesome and elephants were one of a kind to see in real life and at night too. If your in South Africa you should go to this world famous park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfgangsMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    12
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valuable and experienced service delivered”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Unless you are an experienced globetrotter a safari in Krüger National Parc in South Africa must be a unique event. We let ourselves into the guidance of Mark as part of Nhongo Safari. The style - in which you discover the animals and get serviced by a qualified team - was for us a very pleasant experience. We only discovered good things left to chance which leaves for you not to worry about much - except to enjoy the park and the safari at heart.
Young as well as old are treated excellent to what suits you best

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emsholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
“Can't say enough good things...”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just returned from South Africa and had to post while the memories were still fresh. We had Karen as our guide for a 3 day, 2 night excursion. Not being at all experienced with this kind of trip I was not expecting the best when I got off the plane in Joburg. However, Verity met us immediately at the exit and we were on our way within 2 minutes of clearing customs.

Karen picked us up at the transfer point and took us right to the park, where we decided to start the game drive immediately rather than check in...lucky us since we saw 2 of the big 5 before even getting through the park gate (elephant/rhino). The rest of the trip was much like that, just amazing luck and sightings. (Wild dogs, cheetahs, etc.) Karen was a fantastic guide, knowledgeable and friendly with an amazing spotting ability. Not once did we ever feel pressured to move at anything other than our own pace, and she took the time to explain everything we saw without it feeling like a class.

Outside of the tour itself, the camp and it's accommodations were a very pleasant surprise, very comfortable and with great food (another part of the trip I had trepidation about)

I would recommend Nhongo without hesitation, and hope to come back for a longer experience next time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSM81680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip. ”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Had mark as our guide, great guy and told us a lot about Kruger NP and the animals in the park. I only went on a overnight tour. Definitely recommend a longer trip, but I was really lucky and saw the big 5 (except lion) plus cheetah, giraffe and hippo.
Definitely would recommend this company.

Helpful?
Thank caty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“9 Day Safari - November 2013”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Returned in November 2013 for a 9 day safari with Nhongo. We again had the pleasure of having Mark Cherry as our professional Ranger Guide.

This was an outstanding trip which started with a leopard on the way to our first camp and just got better as the days went by.

In addition to the big five, Mark was able to guide us to viewings of some hard to find creatures including the Sharpe's Grysbok, the Saddle - billed Stork (juveniles and adults) and the Tsessebe Antelope.

We also were serenaded by a Spotted Hyena and saw a newborn Zebra taking its first wobbly steps.

Nhongo is a family operated company which provides professional safari services and that 'personal touch' that few companies offer.

Highly recommend this company and its personnel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockiesGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nhongo Safaris also viewed

Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Nhongo Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing