We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best bushcamps in Kruger”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biyamiti Bushveld Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“one of the best bushcamps in Kruger”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Third visit to this bushcamp, which we find a must (if available, because most times it's fully booked). For the bird-lovers this is a real paradise, sit down on a chair next to your chalet with your camera nearby and enjoy !

We saw that our chalet had been redone, some new furniture came in, in all a very good improvement compared to our last visit.. Don't expect a real 'view', there is a river bed just outside the fence, but you'll have to stand right next to it to see what's walking over there..

The private entrance road is indeed a plus and gives great sightings (because of less used), we saw several rhino's and elephants ..

We for sure, when visiting this part of Kruger, will stay here again !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I used this camp for 4 nights while being looked after by Neil Heron (Bearded Heron Safaris) and Alistair. We were one of 3 couples. Our unit was clean, well maintained and fairly warm (was freezing outside at night). Gerry the manager is good and knowledgable. We had a great time there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MHuddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We visited Biyamiti in one of the hottest months of the year and despite that we loved it. At first I was a little apprehensive since we have young children and we were told that Biyamiti is primarily a birdwatchers paradise, not the ideal match, but that simply was not true. Yes, it's the perfect birding spot, but we also saw the Big 5 and plenty of them. We even saw lions mating in the riverbed right in front of our cottage. Amazing! We visit the Kruger Park at least twice a year and when compared to the other camps we've stayed at I'm sure we'll go back to Biyamiti time and again. It's out of the way, on a private road with barely any traffic. The game viewing is simply beyond compare. The cottages are spacious, well-equipped and beautifully located. It's completely worth it having the small inconvenience of there being no shop on the premises. Be mindful that Reception is only open at certain times of the day. Just phone ahead and double-check on these times so you can plan your arrival accordingly. Fantastic camp all around.

Room Tip: Try and book a unit with a perimeter view. You can sit on your own verandah and watch the show in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAnders76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our first time actually staying in the Kruger Park after many visits - conclusion, best to stay in the park for easy access to game and nature. Biyamita Bush Camp was really lovely away from the madness of the busy main camps, quiet the way nature intended. The staff were friendly and informative and Elliot our ranger was excellent and ensured we had a good game drive. Self catering facilities were basic but everything needed was there. Hint - maybe take your own linen, the sheets were musty.

Room Tip: All rooms on the perimeter are good - 5,6, 7 and 8 closest to the fence
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Biyamiti Bushveld Camp is off the beaten track and has a private stretch of road that ensures incredible sightings. Set in the heart of Southern Kruger we were privileged to see Black Rhino, White Rhino, Wild Dog, Cheetah, Lion, Leopard, Elephant and Buffalo. Most of our sightings were on the private road en route to camp.

For those birders out there we had some memorable sightings which included Painted Snipe and Verreaux's Eagle Owl.

The accommodation is perfectly adequate and clean. Simple comfortable beds ensure a good nights rest and the kitchen has been sufficiently equipped to meet all ones self catering needs.

Nothing beats preparing the evening fire after a day of superior game viewing and then having a good old South African Braai under the stars!

The accommodation is serviced daily by friendly staff who are happy to do extra things for the lazy traveler (laundry, preparing the fire and even cooking).

The Camp is old school Africa which is exactly why I go back. I adore Biyamiti and will definitely do an annual pilgrimage here. This is the best place to stay when self exploring Kruger!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlondozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
472 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Wonderful remote location down a private 21km road which has permits access only for the residents of the 16 chalets housed within the camp.
We had our best game viewing experience of the entire 4 day Kruger stay down this road, seeing four of the big five (excluding Lion) over a two hour period. Reception is only manned from 5.30pm – your chalet number is on a board if you arrive before this. Each chalet is very private with splendid views into the bush.
We took a two bedroom property (five beds in total) which was the only property available at the time of booking. Very spacious property in good order. There is a large kitchen with full size gas oven/hob. Brand new microwave also supplied but these don’t actually work as the power supply from the camp generator is too low to power them!!.
There are two bathrooms in the property, the enuite bathroom to the main bedroom has a bath, with the second bathroom having a glass enclosed shower. The best feature (only available in two bed properties) was a huge covered patio area to the rear of the property with a sofa area and dining table. There is also a braai available and we spent long into the evening, sitting outdoors, listening to the sounds of the African bush.
There are no other facilities here apart from ice and wood so it is necessary to bring your food with you.
Overall a terrific experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
12.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
17.4 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#89 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
60.5 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biyamiti Bushveld Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyamiti Bushveld Camp

Property: Biyamiti Bushveld Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Mbiyamiti river, hidden by Delagoa thickets, nestles one of the most beautiful bushveld camps in the Kruger National Park. The camp is ideally situated between huge Wild Fig and Jackalberry trees with vast numbers of other fauna and flora species in abundance. The area is a game spotter's dream come true. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing