We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and highly recomended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have just came back from 6 days safari in Kruger park . we traveled with viva safari and stayed at Marcs tree house . the trip was amazing !!!. we went a family of 15 , with 7 kids in the ages of 3-16 for the head of family 70 birthday . the staff was very pleaset ( with the leadership of Florenace the camp manager ) the drivers were knowladbale and very flexibles to our needs ( when you are tarveling with so many kids you need the flexebility ) . we were picked up in Joanesburg and drove about 7 hours to the camp , drivers drove very well and we felt very safe . there is a stop in te way for lunch - I recomend to ask the driver for few suggestion and tha decide base on your needs . as for the camp it was very pleasent the cabins we stayed had shower and toilet in the room with hot water al the time , the cabin are spread acrros wide area and "planted" between the trees , you walk in the morning or evening and meet impalas and monkeys on your way , we also had a girafh visiting our window one time . breakfest was enogh to prepre for a full day bread , mufins and fruites with eggs every other day . Dinner was fine not too fancy but more than enough ( and testey) after a full day in the park . there is a fridge with cold drinks and beers to be bought on site but I recomend to buy galons of water outsdie as the prive of water was high in the camp . the trips to the safari were very good they have flexibel the schedule to meet our group needs and support small childerens needs . this is a perfect place of between nature to luxary with out spending too much money

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

A very rustic experience, but still a comfortable stay. The staff were very friendly, the guides were very knowledgeable and the daily activities were varied. The staff were very helpful and would be able to switch you to another activity if you so desired.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just returned from a 6 day stay at Marc's Treehouse Lodge. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who has a spirit of adventure. I was picked up from J'burg and transferred to Treehouse Lodge, the trip takes around 5 hours but you stop for lunch and a few comfort breaks. I stayed at Treehouse No.7 which was very spacious and is ensuite. There is access to a balcony which provides an excellent view of the river which is used by buffalo and monkeys. No need for alarm clocks..the monkeys wake you up in time for Breakfast in the morning. Would recommend that you live out your rucksack during your stay as the monkeys will come into your treehouse when you are out if any food items are left lying around. I had no trouble with insects although the odd frog would pay me a visit. Treehouse No. 7 is approximately a 4 minute walk to the main reception area. Although the pathway has lighting I would suggest taking a small torch. There is electricity in each Treehouse and the showers are hot. The food was exceptional especially the soup. A hearty breakfast of cereal, eggs, bacon and beans with toast and muffins sets you up for your itinaries. Breakfast is at 7am and dinner is at 8pm. Florence is the perfect host and will always go that extra mile to ensure you have a perfect stay. I found it very well organised and the guides are very informative and amusing, especially Christo and Issac. Although I travelled solo, I never once felt on my own. It is a great opportunity to meet other people from all over the world and we all bonded well. The whole setting is very peaceful and beautiful. Don't miss the bush walk or a trip to Moholoholo Rehab Centre. As your day starts early, most people retire just after dinner, we did however sit round the pit fire and drank a few beers before going to bed around 10pm or earlier. Game drives were excellent in the open vehicle and blankets are provided. Swimming pool is also great to cool down after your game drives. If you are looking for an adventure in Africa look no more Marc's Treehouse has it all. After the 6 day stay at the Treehouse I transferred to Tremisana Lodge which I would also thoroughly recommend. If anyone would like further information please drop me an email. Thank you Piero and all you staff for a wonderful experience of a lifetime. Unable to upload photos of treehouse, if anyone wants to see them please email me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I loved Marc's Treehouse Lodge. It was a lot of fun staying there. You really get to expereince the African bush. I do reccommend taking a flashlight with you, it can be fairly dark on the trails to the treehouses at night. We had no problems with bugs but we did have several frogs that hungout in our treehouse. The treehouses are spread out so you get the feeling of being alone out there. There is no phones in the treehouses so you can't just call the front desk if you need something. Not all treehouses arfe en-suite. If not there will be a bathroom just a few feet away, just outside the treehouse.

The animals are free to roam through the lodge grounds. During the day we saw impala, monkeys, buffalo. At night we had a leppard hunting warthog on the grounds. We didn't see it but we sure heard it. Also a group of hyena's came right up to our treehouse one night. Very exciting!

It was a great experience.
For more: http://travelbuginsider.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruecatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We went on a 6-day Kruger trip with Viva Safaris, and spent 4 nights at the gorgeous Marc's treehouse lodge. The treehouses were varied, some perched on stilts, others perched on trees overlooking a stream. Very rustic and endearing. We had an ensuite bathroom, which was fortunate, as it can get quite cold in the autumn nights. Hot water available. Bring your own toileteries. Towels provided. Bedding was warm enough for the season that we were there for, but not sure if its sufficient for winter, as the room has little shelter against wind. When it storms the electricity trips, so bring your own torches for emergency. Cute and harmless tree frogs live in the houses. Unfortunately, our room was infested with rats, with rat poo littering the bedding, and reeking of rat urine. The rats run around on the beams in the house at night, and are not afraid of humans. We requested for a room change, and got a room less infested with rats, but we still saw them running around the room at night. Whilst we understand that this is a rustic accomodation situated in the bush, having rats running around your room at night, living behind poo and urine that may contain many zoonotic pathogens, is quite unacceptable. When we spoke to the hostress at the lodge, she admitted that there was currently a rat problem and they were working on it. Well, this place is definitely not for the faint hearted! Occasionally animals roam around. At nights, we can hear animals chomping at the vegetations outside our treehouse. The bar at the lodge is only opened during dinner time, so better buy your ration of fluids in advance. Breakfast and dinner were provided. Food served had little variation, but one of the nights, we had a braai, which was a nice change. On days when we did not go to Kruger National Park, there was little to do, so do bring your own entertainment (cards, PSP etc) as there is no TV. No internet, nor payphones. Hostress at the lodge will safekeep your laptop etc for you. Guides who bring you on drives around the reserve or to Kruger National Park are excellent and definitely worth a mention. Like the hostress, the guides were always friendly and expertly helpful. They work very long hours, sometimes even 18-20 hr days!!
Overall unforgettable, highly recommended (if you can stand frogs and rats!).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Together with a friend I spent a couple of unforgettable days at Marc's treehouse lodge when on a Kruger park trip with Viva Safaris. This must be the most amazing accomodation around the Kruger. Tree houses are spread around a large property - a couple of minutes to walk in between them and the main house and no fences between the property and the neighboring parks (no fences between the camp and the Kruger either, in fact. This is the bush). No place for people who are very easily scared by wild life and darkness at night. But exactly the right location for lovers of an authentic wildlife experience. At night, you hear absolutely nothing except the river and animals. You eat delicious meals besides a water hole and at night next to a camp fire, watched by lots of small antilope and naughty monkeys. A buffalo is said to have fallen in the pool next to the main house a couple of times. Which did not keep me from dipping into the sparkling clean pool after returning from the safaris. What in the world could be a more pleasant thing to do after hours of sweating and looking for animals - nothing but wilderness around and the starry African sky above me...

We were in fact happy to skip one day of Kruger safari and spend it at (and in) the pool, on an enjoyable tour of the camp together with hostess Florence and on a spontaneosly organised sunset safari next to the camp. In fact, even better than the Kruger: we came extremely close to all the animals (9 rhinos, lots of giraffe and buffalo, zebras, antilopes within three hours). The most magical moment was watching the sunset over the Drakensberge with a black rhino couple just in front of us. You should definitely spend an extra day at the lodge (which no one gets too see otherwise, leaving at 8 am for the Kruger safaris and only getting back at 7 pm, a pity! What an extraordinary place, and so well kept, and adventurous, and the stylish interior of the tree houses...) and at the private game park "next door".

The staff was absolutely amazing! Florence and the guide Rhulani are the most professional and lovely people ever. We felt very welcome and taken care of, and learnt
lots and lots about the bush and (South/Southern) Africa in general. Florence treated us with all the comfort one could wish for, she is a treasure and the perfect person for the job. Rhulani and his friends took extra shifts to make our special game drive possible. We really believe his story to have SMS:ed the rhinos to be at the right spot at the right moment...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yoyi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,810 reviews
45.4 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Ezulwini Game Lodges
#8 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
280 reviews
24.9 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
750 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing