We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at Marc's Treehouse Lodge (MTL) after spending a night in Tremisana Game Lodge. The people working there were kind, helpful, social and service-minded. Especially the guide Patrick, deserves a special mention! He was our driver for the tour in Kruger Park.
It was incredible to stay in treehouses, surrounded by monkeys and impalas.
The food was good, but it was really the atmosphere and the people that made this stay so good. In the evenings, after safari, all the guest ate dinner around the big bonfire, sharing beers, stories and experiences. The people working there also joined! For us Norwegians, this was a really good and exotic experience!
Needless to say, our tour to the Kruger Park was absolutely brilliant! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SondreLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi Sondre

Thank you for a fantastic review !

We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much and that it " couldn't have been better ". We are especially thrilled that you describe our staff as " kind, helpful, social and service-minded" - they are so happy to read this !

It is great that you appreciate the atmosphere at Marc's Treehouse Lodge. Enjoying dinner around the fire and sharing beers, stories and experiences adds the magical ingredient to make your safari with Viva truly unforgettable. It was great that you appreciated the staff joining in - they need to have fun at work !

Kind regards

Piero

General Manager, Viva Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    98
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
103
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durban
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

i stayed in one of the tree houses which had a nice view of the river, the food was delicious most especially the impala stew, the bar lady Margret and the hostess talita was so excellent, i was so impressed about how talita knows the schedule for everyone, i had a chance of seeing all of the BIG FIVE in Kruger park, thanks to Raymond,i was so sad on my last day because i didn't wanted to leave the place, but i'm planning to come back with my girlfriend, i really recommend marcs tree house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What an unbelieveable experience! Fantastic Guesthouse in the middle of the nature. We heard the leopard and other animals in the night.

NO insects and monkeys in the room! We had a great time with our lovely group. The food was also very good, real African atmosphere.

Thank you all!

Room Tip: Close your rooms, then there are no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaartendeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although the tents are a little far, the road is well lit and there is no problem. As for the bad reviews on cleaning, you have to know that if you are in the countryside and on top of a tree, chances are you have some insect. We have had no problems in that. The tents are clean and the showers are good. The staff is very nice and the food is also good. Overall, the stay was very good and is a comfortable choice for visiting the Kruger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a stunning destination for those eager to see the rural aspect of South Africa. The camp is teeming with wildlife - impala and kurdu are literally outside the treehouse rooms. The rooms are cosy and the generous blankets supplied keep the winter chill away while sleeping. Even the drive to the location is a lovely experience with gorgeous landscapes on offer. Overall, a very nice stay for those wanting to experience the African bush in South Africa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doratheexplorer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice place; food is ok; ambiance is great, breakfast experience at the terrace with african morning chill is unforgetable; the rooms have nice experience but the bed we slept in was horrible. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Marc's treehouse. Greeting to the buffalos that are said to live around but we never ran into :))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaseminEskiyapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice room, until we saw a rat which wasn't too nice. But I can see how it's difficult to keep animals way. There were lots of animals around the houses which was nice. You get a real sense of nature. Showers didn't work, so had to use one of the public onces, but at least those worked fine. Not really treehouses, as only one of them is really up in a tree. But none the less nice rooms. Food was a little boring, got impala and chicken with same side dish two days in a row (and the day before the same at Tremisana).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
24.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#27 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#6 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#19 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Property: Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing