We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marc Tree's House experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I went for a Safari with my son Lorenzo. We slept in Johannesburg just close to the Airport and in the morning VIVA Safari came to pick us up: they arrrived a little late so initially we were not so sure they were good organizers... after a long travel (but passing through beautiful african landscapes) we arrived at Tremisana Lodge. And from that moment we discivered that the organization was indeed perfect for us! We had at once one game drive very exciting....and a second in the night ... looking for two lions who were just walking around us in the Park...
The day after we went on a walk game and it was very interesting: lerning and smelling the Nature! when we went back we got a rest... and while we were just resting and looking aroiund in the garden... we got some guests visiting us... a group of marvellous and majestic elephants.... Then we met a nice blond Lady... she took us at Marc tree''s House Camp... We enered a natural park and we joined this beatiiful wild place...after visiting almost all the houses we got a large house for us... just looking at the boma place. The Lady was really very nice and warm: She is giving you a sensation of calm and relaxation: I felt really at home. The place is quite wild, just in the Nature with monkey who would like our breakfast... the evening eating around the boma... it was nice with the american friends... Blake his sister and his mother! I wish I were there again! the morning before leaving we had another walk in the Nature and we met a Giraffe. she was just walking before us...she was looking at us: it has been all beautiful ...I hope I will be able to go back again!

Room Tip: You can find more wild houses (those on the trees) or more confortable ones. I suggest to ask for em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 379 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

It was one of the better place I went. The girls who work there is really nice and the rooms are beautiful; the tree's house are really original but have all the confort you need. A really really nice holiday in South Africa! In the morning you can have breakfast in the middle of many sweet monkeys. You can see many animals, even when you are in the camp - I saw a group of eight elephants 2 metres from the gate of the camp. The games drive are really exciting. We had beautiful dinners in front of the fire, with a amazing sensation!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We had a 2-nite stay at the lodge in November 2011, residing at the unit with 5 beds, i.e. one of those located deeper into the wilderness. So for travellers with heavy luggage, please discuss with your host for some common storage room than drag your luggage through all the mud, especially if your units are located too far away from the reception. The day and evening feels of the place are entirely different.

Our hostess at the lodge was Alice. She and her team were rather good, making efforts to eat and socialise with the guest at meal times. On the whole, interesting place to stay and friendly hosts. For those game, do challenge them to a race carrying luggages.

On the rangers side, we enjoyed our bushwalk led by Wimpy most, one of the more keen and observant ones. On the whole, compared to Tanzania's Serengeti (the most authetic) and Kenya's Masai Marai (too commercialised), Kruger Park has less species and quantities for its visitors. For those safaris lovers, do head off to Serengeti for a richer encounter. Note, campsites over there are probably not fenced up and the guides arent always armed with rifles/guns. Nevertheless, there's no sense of danger unless you're in a bush walkabout. What's rich in Kruger is the everchanging scenery rather than the animals. Out of the big 5, we saw 3 only (elephants, lions, leopards) within our 3-nite safaris.

Our major disappointment with this second leg of the tour was that our guide/driver glossed through Blyde River Canyon on our way back to Jo'burg from Kruger, without giving us adequate time to linger at all. All in all, we had a good time at MoAfrika Lodge in Jo'burg and enjoyed our stay at Tremisana Lodge as well with Pretty as the hostess. All 3 lodges are better adminstered than that at Ashanti Lodge in Cape Town (the everchanging reception staff can be a frustration but otherwise the place isnt too bad - regular part-timers). Food in all these 3 lodges were good.

If you're decently fit, do make sure that you include Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe) in your itinerary. You may fly in via Zambia (airfare cheaper) and stay in Zimbabwe (accommodation cheaper and Victoria Views more varied and beautiful). White water rafting is a must for all (but not for the too old who would have problem climing up the gorge after the 19-rapid expedition).

Our entire 15-day itinerary for all 3 legs (Victoria Falls, Kruger Park, Cape Town) was done with the help of Terry from African Budget Safaris. Excellent prompt service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yulishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the treehouse for 2 nights and we were allotted with a room that can house 5 persons. It is a very rustic living and great experience for all of us. We enjoyed the stay very much. The food served for both dinner and breakfast are very local African and we especially enjoyed the braai. They made a camp fire to keep us warm and cozy. I would highly recommend family or individual looking for some unique experience rather than those normal game lodge. Generally, the host and the staff are very warm and hospitable.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, go for the highest treetop room but please note that it will not have a built i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our group opted for the Viva Safari's 5 Day Marc's Treehouse option and we were busy dawn to dusk. It was an amazing experience. The accommodations were unique (tree houses) and comfortable, the staff friendly, our guide (Bongani) incredibly knowledgeable and with a great sense of humor, and the food wholesome and plentiful. We loved soaking in the pool after full days of exploring Kruger and the game reserves. There was also something very special about walking from our lovely decorated tree house to the outdoor dining area, hearing the breathing of the water buffalo and rustling of monkeys in the trees, and knowing that we weren't seperated from them by a fence. The living quarters and dining facilities are located inside a game reserve and there are no fences that keep the animals from wandering through We were sharing their turf!

Room Tip: Not squeemish about heights or movement? Go for one of the full fledged tree houses (however they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

It was a great experience and we enjoyed the stay at Marc's Tree House. My kids didn't wanted to leave that please. Great hospitality, and experienced guides will make the stay and safari more confortable and enjoyable. Quality of food was remarkable - Tree house manager was very kind to us and we were very happy that she even arranged special dishes for us as according to our preference - our special thanks to her. Value for money guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajeevkumar r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed with our two friends from Canada for two nights which was absolutely awesome. It is an amazing place. The Treehouses are fantastic, beautifully decorated and very neat. We felt so close to nature, being in the bush, but in total luxury. Our hostess Elsabe (B) went out of her way to make us feel homely and welcome. This had been an experience of a lifetime and we will definitely make use of this golden oppertuinity again. Our overseas visitors were very impressed. Thank you once again and God bless. Rina & Danny Holtzhausen, Brenda and Steven Blau (Canada).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.0 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 104 in Hoedspruit
328 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
673 reviews
17.2 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
215 reviews
16.5 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
477 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ezulwini Game Lodges
Ezulwini Game Lodges
#8 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing